We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great May Seattle activity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Park Arboretum

Washington Park Arboretum
Ranked #24 of 435 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Use a canoe, or your feet, to explore the 230 acres and 4,000 species of trees, vines, shrubs and plants at this arboretum.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
150 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great May Seattle activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

On a lovely May day we put on our walking shoes and leashed up our two doggie girls and had a delightful and colorful walk among the blooming azaleas and rhododendrons! It's Seattle outdoors at its best!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NanEdKirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    153
    27
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
282 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Nice area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We walked and saw the blooming azaleas and rhodi's. We also took the trail down to the waterfront, but it goes right near the highway and the traffic noise was distracting for such a beautiful place. It was a nice walk, but I wouldn't go out of my way to go here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go for the Azaleas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

gorgeous botanical gardens with great trails. I wish we'd been there in EARLY May -- the azaleas were just past their best but it was still fantastic. Lots of up and down walking - make sure you wear good shoes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank htwollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The azaleas and rhododendrons are in bloom, and the place is gorgeous! Nice water front views along the dock. Peaceful, and serene. So large you can't take it in just one visit, so plan a picnic lunch and take a bike or two. Rent a kayak, or canoe and spend the day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stroll through Rhododendron Glen in May for a phenomenal show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Despite Seattle's reputation for gloomy days, there's always a couple weeks in May of Mediterranean-like sunshine. That's the best time to view the sensational display of blooming azaleas and rhododendrons. You can park at the Graham Visitor's Center and meander along Azalea Way (0.75 miles, one way). There's also a parking lot just south of the Japanese Garden accessed from Arboretum Drive E. From the south end of the parking lot, cross the street to the asphalt-paved, wheel-chair friendly, pedestrian only road that leads through Rhododendron Glen and ultimately to the Visitor's Center. Directly across from the entrance to the Japanese Garden, there's also direct access to Azalea Way (gravel path).

Here's a URL to a map: http://depts.washington.edu/uwbg/gardens/wpa.shtml

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zipster16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Park Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Washington Park Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing