We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Zoo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodland Park Zoo

Woodland Park Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Seattle CityPASS
Ranked #23 of 435 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nationally award-winning Woodland Park Zoo is a 92-acre zoological garden featuring more than 1,000 animals representing nearly 300 species from around the world. New exhibits include Zoomazium, an indoor, nature-themed play space for kids, and our award-winning Humboldt penguin exhibit, replicating the desert coasts of their native Peru.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
BC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Love this zoo! I have been going to this place since I was a kid, it just keeps getting better. Good variety of animals and their enclosures are large. The animals all look quite happy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shannonp252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer_larsen, Tourism Marketing at Woodland Park Zoo, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of Woodland Park Zoo; we're so glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    811
    503
    151
    45
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“What a Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went to the zoo based on a documentary we had seen regarding the zoo's efforts with gorilla's, but other than that had no real expectations of what we would find. We were amazed at how well put together the zoo is even though it isn't on the largest of sites. The focus is clearly on certain groups of endangered species and the layout is such that the animals are both accessible for viewing and well housed. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SARNanoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer_larsen, Tourism Marketing at Woodland Park Zoo, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Woodland Park Zoo, we're so glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
“Most precious Zoo I've been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a must see Zoo. I enjoyed my day, and another, and yet another day. It is an experience and a little adventure. Very educating and important. There is always something new. The animal are well taken care of.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SylviaB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Family Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I visited this Zoo with my boyfriend, his dad and his little 3 year old brother and we all had a ball seeing a great variety of happy and beautiful animals. It was a cold and rainy day when we went so there were a few animals inside / not visible but there was still so much to see. It has a very intimate feel, like walking through the woods. Hence the name I guess! There's a section where you enter a room with all the birds flying around and can purchase seed sticks for $1 or something which is exciting for all ages, a great photo opportunity and well worth it!

Definitely recommended.

I think you can buy a season pass for fairly cheap if you're planning on going a couple of times. It pays for itself in a couple of visits as well as allowing you two guest for free on one occasion.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Seattle
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Now a two-day zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Woodland Park has finally grown to the point that I recommend taking two days to see it all. There's just so much to experience! Pack some patience, as the exhibits encourage the animals to behave naturally--which means you may have to spend a few minutes to see them. But when you do, they won't just be bored and pacing! The docents are knowledgable and friendly, and the animals and plants are diverse and very healthy. See if you can feed a penguin, you'll never forget it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MizKitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodland Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Woodland Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing