We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Premier 3-Hour Seattle City Tour
1,371

Book in advance
from
$94.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Discovery Park
from $94.00
More Info
from $62.83
More Info
from $135.00
More Info
from $114.00
More Info
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
879 results
Traveler rating
565
247
42
19
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
565
247
42
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the loop light house visitor center puget sound great trails hiking trails mount rainier seattle area lighthouse forest hike downtown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 879 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2017 via mobile

Even though the weather forecast wasn’t great we decided to venture out to Discovery Park for the first time. What we discovered (see what I did there?) was unbelievable! What an amazing park - lots a great trails and stunning views, historical military fort buildings, and a small lighthouse. We hiked for miles enjoying varied terrain, open spaces, and plenty of restrooms. It was great seeing so many families exploring this somewhat-hidden-gem right in the heart of Seattle. We’ll be sure to visit often (and the weather was great!).

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank 611joed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 14, 2017

This park was a must do recommendation that we followed through on. Discovery Park is the largest city park in Seattle. It is part of the Magnolia neighborhood. We saw spectacular views of mountain ranges. If you love nature this is the place for you. Folks enjoy nature trails, hiking, biking, the beach and a playground. One can walk along the Puget Sound shoreline to the 1881 historic West Point Light also known as Discovery Park Lighthouse. There is a visitor center for the park. The Daybreak Star Cultural Center for Seattle’s Native American citizens is located in Discovery Park. I highly recommend making a trip to Discovery Park part of your Seattle adventure.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Elsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 10, 2017

This park is a treasure. At one time it was an army post. When the post was no longer used by the army the area was left to the city. Several building housing the officers quarters are still standing and they are now in private hands. The enlisted mens' quarters have been torn down and that area is no reverting to nature. There remain some of the other building from the post, but they are not open to the public. There is ample parking at several sites in the park. There is a trail around the park of about three miles in length with numerous side trails including a steep trail down to the beach where there is also an old lighthouse. The views across the bay toward the islands is spectacular. It is lucky for Seattle that this gem did not end up in the hands of developers.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank DonaldM1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 10, 2017

Nice walk with fantastic views, quick steep hike down to the water, stroll along the water to the light house and back,... half a day is plenty, and extra perk that you can enjoy the nice Magnolia neighborhood on the way there, and maybe stop by for a great coffee and French pastry in downtown Magnolia. Downside is you have to plan for traffic getting there and back, leave valuables at home or park in the streets, and avoid the honey bucket at the parking lot - not sure why this was never improved in all these years. And try to go when not everyone else in Seattle is.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 7, 2017

Not all visitors to Discovery Park in the wonderful western edge of Seattle, know that it once was a great place for little kids to ride their bikes, climb trees and roam about in freedom when it was a military base for the Army. Little kids don't necessarily appreciate the spectacular views of the Olympic Mountains, or the east facing views of the Cascades and the Seattle skyline. They do however enjoy the freedom of the open air, crisp falling leaves, picking wild blackberries, the smell of the saltwater of Elliot Bay.
Pack a lunch and enjoy the bluff from one of the several park benches. Climb a tree. Use your imagination in this glorious park. The City of Seattle is so lucky to have this park to call their own. Enjoy it!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank pattyl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews