We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How do you get a Parking Permit when the Visitor's Center is Closed on Mondays???”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Discovery Park

Discovery Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$136.00*
and up
Seattle in One Day: Sightseeing Tour including Space Needle and Pike Place...
Ranked #19 of 438 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: You can get lost happily among the thickets, nature trails, beaches and bluffs of this 534-acre park.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“How do you get a Parking Permit when the Visitor's Center is Closed on Mondays???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were so disappointed, having taken the ferry from Victoria and arrived on a Monday afternoon wanting to stretch our legs. We arrived at the Lighthouse parking area where there was a sign indicating we would be towed if we didn't have a parking permit. We drove back to the Visitors Center to find a sign announcing it was closed on Mondays. So we had no choice but to leave.

It seems that Discovery Park caters only to the locals who know the system.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Deb5377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    180
    31
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portland oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It was a bad day in Discovery Park”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We live near Portland, OR, so PacNorthwest mountains and trails are not new to us. This park has the advantage of nice views of the Puget Sound, but otherwise it's just walking trails. The lighthouse is not worth seeing. The military cemetery is mildly interesting. I just didn't see anything that made me glad I went. It was cold and raining, but we did get outside the car and walked around. Just a ho-hum place. Seattle has lots of places that are great for walking.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kentonerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We like walking, biking and eating fresh blackberries off the vine in the summer. Has a great area for kite flying also.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“wonderful in city green space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

542 acres of trees, ocean views, a light house, trails every where. Beach walking, what else is there to add ?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“You'll Never Know You're In The City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just as my title says, it's amazing! The place is 10 minutes from DT Seattle and you don't see any of that. It's a great place for trekking, great views. It has a chapel, lots and lots of trails, a bluff, the sea, a light house, meadows, forest. You can follow the signs or just go and explore the place. Some areas can be very wet and some moderate terrain trekking involved. Wear comfy shoes, layer your clothing, bring water and some snacks with you. Make sure you know where the washrooms are before you start your walk, you will not get lost but they are few and far in between. You would not regret going to this attraction though. Highly recommended! And did I mention it's free to go in ?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JTCGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Park also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing