We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden treasure”

Volunteer Park Conservatory
Ranked #37 of 440 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Five houses on the conservatory represent five distinct environments, from jungle to desert. Theres also a Cactus House, a Fern House and a Bromeliad House.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“hidden treasure”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The old water tower is a must see and climb up the inside stairs to the fantastic view that is
at the top! You can see all of downtown Seattle, Space Needle, and Puget Sound. There is a
360 degree viewing that is breath taking. There are two sets of stairs, and I took one up and
the second one down. The park was built by volunteers and is dedicated to them. It has trails and paths for running/walking. Also in the park is the Oriental museum, housing art,
and sculptures of Oriental background. The museum is the only attraction at the park that
charges admission, but if you luck out like I did, you go on a free day and it does not cost.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    116
    22
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place for cheap”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We visited this area and stumbled across the Conservatory by accident. It's a nice place and they have a donation box. We were definitely on a low budget, riding the bus here and all, but put in a little bit. If you're in the area definitely a nice stop. Don't know that I'd come all the way up here just for this though. (We visited here 3/2010, actually.)

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank smartlabelprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wa.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great free attraction”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The conservatory was so very beautiful - we climbed the water tower for the view, good excercise and good view. The koi ponds were nice. Didn't go to the Asian art Museum ( no time) nice palce to spen the afternoon

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank beckyjo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great and Free!”
Reviewed November 24, 2010

There are absolutely beautiful flowers here and you can't beat the price. There is a donation box at the front and I think it's only fair to donate a little bit if you are going to enjoy the conservancy.

Helpful?
1 Thank divingprincesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“One of the BEST FREE things to do in Seattle”
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This place is great. If you enjoy exotic flowers and plants, you need to check this place out. It's located in Volunteer park which is a very pretty place in it's own right. The Seattle Asian Art museum is located nearby as well (but we didn't go there) . Nice photo opp with the space needle in the background (see my photos) Donations are accepted but not required to enter conservatory. A great place to check out on a rainy day too! See my photos!

Helpful?
1 Thank bartolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volunteer Park Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to Volunteer Park Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing