We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
35
20
18
15
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
35
20
18
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional marriott deep end hooks to hang the lobby bar area feed the meter free coffee in the morning soap and shampoo trendy hotel huge tv south lake union a great stay alaskan cruise location is great loved this hotel comfortable beds mini fridge would definitely stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 106 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2019

Spent two nights at the Moxy in downtown Seattle with my wife for Valentine's Day. Let me start off by saying that the hotel staff are really, really nice. The hotel can be considered "eclectic" with their decorations...and I liked that a lot. It's certainly well located near Lake Union too...plenty of places to eat within easy walking distance or even by the Seattle streetcar line. Large LED TV in the room was also nice as was the gas fireplace in the bright and modern lobby. At check-in we got a chip for two free drinks in the bar...a nice touch.

But that is about the most I can say that is really positive. The cons for the hotel:

a. There is no hotel parking, thus you either park on street and feed the meter every 2 to 4 hrs...or park in one of the local parking garages. $51 for less than two days...sigh.

b. The rooms are tiny...really tiny. There is no closet to hang your clothes - you hang your clothes on these hooks along the wall which is inconvenient. The bathroom is small too but manageable. No place to lay out your suitcase other than on the bed.

c. There were dust bunnies in our room under our bed, the floor was sticky (ewww) and the halls (at least the 3 rd floor hall) was never vacuumed. The outside of the toilet near the front looked like it had not really been cleaned well...you know the "drips" that happen on the front of the toilet. There was a french fry in the elevator door channel that was never removed over the two nights we were there, there were broken skittles on the hallway carpet, hair pins and paperclips were scattered all along the hallway. Would have been so easy to vacuum up but that never happened.

d. The soap dispenser in the shower did not work - kudos to housekeeping for bringing up a replacement very quickly though.

In general, I would shy away from staying here again. It could be nice if they would clean the rooms better but it does not seem to be a priority. I will admit that most hotels in Seattle are pretty pricey, but to stay in one that is not clean and pay that much is a large disappointment.

Room tip: Unless you upgrade to a better room, the rooms on the west side look right into the working offices of a lot of Amazon employees
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019 via mobile

First let me say that this is a very clean and nicely decorated hotel with plenty of artwork. It is also very well situated in Seattle near most of the city's attractions. If you plan to stay here and expect the same service as a traditional Marriott this is not the place for you. If you want housekeeping to clean or bring towels to your room daily, you have to request that( we found out after the second day). I had a question about using Marriott gift cards at the hotel, and after asking 3 times i finally had to go downstairs and summon a manager. My wife said it best ' Its like a hotel run by 17 year olds '.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

We decided to stay at this newer offering by the Marriott group. It had pink lighting, a warm fireplace and hipster vibe. The Check in desk was the bar so the bartender was also your reception desk. There was a lot of open space for gathering, large tables with plenty of plugs, and comfy chairs for socializing.

The rooms were a little unexpected. No dresser, no closet. There was a metal bar with large hooks for jackets and a couple of hangers. Since we were not here on business it was fine, but if we had been here with suits it would have been very inconvenient.

Customer service was great, beds were a little hard, and the rooms could use a little more light but all in all, considering the price, it was a reasonable stay. The rooms were not cleaned very well and there isn’t much space to work at in the room so you are forced to go to the lobby where the club/trap music is playing extremely loudly.

Parking is next door in a parking structure which was cheaper than the average hotel if you stay over a weekend.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank lisarosselot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabella_Bobby, General Manager at MOXY Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

Dear Traveler,

On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at the Moxy Seattle Downtown.

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests.

Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at the Moxy Seattle Downtown and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to Seattle.

Sincerely,
Isabel Bishop
General Manager
Moxy Seattle
isabel.bishop@moxyhotels.com
2067088200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

Loved loved this upbeat hotel!
Only one night but perfectly located hotel in Seattle with a staff that wrote the customer service guidebook. Definitely a staff that not only goes above and beyond, but truly likes where they work. Room was arranged to take advantage of small city size with wall hanging hooks to take the place of a closet; every inch was used to conserve space.
Not for someone who needs a lot of room or a young family with children.
Great bar and nice surroundings!
We’ll definitely return when in the area.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabella_Bobby, General Manager at MOXY Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

Dear Traveler,

On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your trip with us! We can tell you have a lot of Moxie too! We appreciate the mention of our staff, the team works so hard to provide a memorable experience and we are so happy it shows! We love breaking the mold and being our own brand.

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests.

Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at the Moxy Seattle Downtown and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to Seattle.

Sincerely,
Isabel Bishop
General Manager
Moxy Seattle
isabel.bishop@moxyhotels.com
2067088200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019

This hotel is pretty centrally located in the South Lake Union neighborhood. Not far from downtown, Space Needle, Amazon corporate offices. The rooms are on the smaller side, but nothing abnormal compared to NYC, London, etc hotel rooms. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Recommended for business travel.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MellanzaneMadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabella_Bobby, General Manager at MOXY Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

Dear Madman,

We're glad you caught on to our vibe! Thank you for the recommendation, we appreciate it!

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests.


Sincerely,
Isabel Bishop
General Manager
Moxy Seattle
isabel.bishop@moxyhotels.com
2067088200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews