We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful displays and a highlight of our trip!”
Review of Seattle Aquarium

Seattle Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Seattle CityPASS
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Downtown Seattle Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
More Info
$49.98*
and up
2-Hour Seattle City Tour
Ranked #35 of 448 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The heartbeat of hands-on marine experience and preservation education in the Pacific Northwest, the Seattle Aquarium offers fun, exciting ways to discover more about the amazing Puget Sound that surrounds you! Join us in our mission: Inspiring Conservation of Our Marine Environment.
Hilton Head Island
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful displays and a highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I've visited several major aquariums across the country, and this ranks among one of the better. It's not huge, and there aren't any over-the-top type displays like the whale sharks in Atlanta or the shark corridor in Baltimore. However, it really showcased local and exotic specimens in a tasteful and engaging manner.

We visited with our nieces who are ~2 and 3 years old, and it was the perfect size for them to walk through and have a great time without taking too much time. It's well thought out from a child's perspective, with easy viewing from their lower point of reference in most of the displays. There are also touch-tanks and other hands-on displays they were really drawn to.

We will definitely return and make this part of our next Seattle visit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank HiltonHeadIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,089
    1,199
    706
    163
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Galesville, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Intriguing”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We visited the Seattle Aquarium before going on a Locks Cruise. I was not excited about the prospect, but my husband wanted to see it. Our 32 year old daughter, who was with us, did warn us that many aspects were designed for children. I found myself delighted with the entire experience as well as with watching the young children present make their own discoveries. I loved seeing sea creatures, common to the area, up close. The educational presentation was very interesting. My only regret is that we didn't have more time there as we had to continue on to the cruise. Everything was beautifully designed and staffed. Somehow our daughter got coffee for us, also.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my trip to visit the fishes!”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

There were a lot of activities; the docents were plentiful and knowledgable. Great place for adults and children

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Corgipilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KS
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“surprising good”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My teenage daughter wanted to go the Seattle Aquarium. I was not very interested and expected young children running around and yelling. We went late in the afternoon on a Saturday and the crowd was just right. It is not huge so we easily maneuvered through and had plenty of time to look and read. Met a young volunteer who was very nice and knowledgeable. We used a coupon from a guidebook and got a few dollars off.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CFM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“explore local ocean life”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Located in historic building on waterfront downtown. Not the biggest we've seen, but well worth your time, and especially kid-friendly. Features fish and others life from the areas waters.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank wiffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seattle Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Seattle Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing