We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the Space Needle, Science Center, EMP” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Close to the Space Needle, Science Center, EMP”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My hubby and I stayed here a couple of nights before we were to leave on a cruise to Seattle. We had a very nice stay. We had driven by the hotel before our actual check in date so that we would know where it was. My hubby didn't seeem impressed. However, when we checked in and went up to our room, we were pleasantly surprised and needless to say, pleased. The room was nice. It was not overly spacious but it seemed ito serve its purpose. It had a pretty funky design. It reminded me of apartments back in New York City. The floors were hard wood. The soap, shampoo, and lotion were Tommy Bahama (quality brands). It was in a dispenser but I sure wish they had had some small bottles for me to take home. We booked the bed and breakfast package so a 25.00 dining certificate for their restaurant came with our room. Great food and service there. Cable was great. Best of all, we could walk to the Space Needle and attractions near there which saved us on cab fare. We were also within walking distance to the water front and to major malls and eateries in town such as Westlake Center. I highly recommend this hotel. They were doing renovations on the outside while we were there so it will probably look even better on the outside in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SchatzeAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    450
    117
    33
    21
See reviews for
232
523
76
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My son (13) and I are currently spending our last of 4 nights as guests of this fine hotel. We stayed in the largest room available, the Urban Suite, of which there are 4 in the hotel.
First, the positives - The staff were all excellent. Friendly, helpful and courteous. Zack went out of his way to try and find us a tv remote and brought extra ice when the freezer was out and linens for the pull-out couch. The decor of both the common areas of the hotel and the room was very fresh. The bold colours and artistic styling are nice for a change from most "beige" hotels out there. The bed was super comfortable and the linens, silk duvet, and towels were luxurious. The pull-out couch that my son slept on was the best we had ever been on, no bar across the back, just firm panels and comfortable memory foam. Room was very clean and kept to a high standard throughout our stay. Wi-Fi was excellent.
Next, the negatives - The walls ceiling are rather thin. Hallway noise was very noticeable as was shoe clicking on the hard floors in the room above us. The TV's, two large flat panels. Had poor reception and one was missing a remote which made it hard for us to watch different shows in the two rooms. The staff tried to find one for us, but came up empty. One of the TV's only got about 20 channels and 10 of them were snowy. Thin LCD screens are nice, but if the picture is crappy...what's the point?
Finally, some suggestions - There is a standard water conservation card in the room which says towels left on the floor will be changed, however, there is nowhere else to leave them since there are no hooks, rods, or bars in the entire suite. Putting some up in the bathroom would also provide the ability to hang up robes, PJ's etc. There are no ice machines, just freezer chests with small bags of ice in them (sometimes) on the 2nd and 4th floors. These were often empty. The need for ice would not have been so great if there were small fridges installed in the rooms. There was plenty of space for one. Cold beverages, milk, snacks are great while vacationing and without a restaurant on site after 1:30pm would be greatly appreciated. A previous reviewer commented on the lack of proper coffee cups in the room and I totally agree. Paper cups suck. This is also, the first hotel I have ever stayed in that did not have glasses of any kind in the room other than the paper coffee cups, not even in the bathroom...strange. This last item may be just particular to this suite (225) but the hot and cold taps on both sinks are reversed. They are not labeled and the hot is on the right and the cold on the left. Shocked myself a couple of times with hot water when I wanted cold.
Overall, it was a great stay and it's easy to tell the hotel is still making improvements. We will most likely come back.

Room Tip: There is one Urban Suite per floor and they are located near the elevators, soda machines and ice ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank escalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review. I'm please that you and your son enjoyed Hotel Five so much! We are continuing to make improvements to the guest rooms, a few of which you have mentioned, towel hooks in the bathroom and ceramic coffee mugs are on the way. We have recently started using the ice chests with pre-bagged ice instead of noisy ice machines in the hallway, we are still learning the correct number of bags to keep them stocked at all times. I happy you enjoyed the pull out sofa with the memory foam mattress and our bold decor.
We look forward to welcoming you both back to Seattle soon.
Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night prior to taking an Alaskan cruise. The decor was modern , our room was a little small but clean and all the necessary amenities, The free Wi Fi was a bonus. The restaurant had excellent food and the waitress who worked Saturday morning was friendly and attentive. There was a mix up with my reservation ( It was probably my fault) and Jason Dooley fixed it on the spot. Jason was working at the front desk and was very helpful with directions and even suggested that we visit the EMP near Space Needle. The EMP was fun and educational. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: I did not see a pool or spa. I could not undo the rating on the pool or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nupe_zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you can get it on priceline etc then your probably getting an ok deal. I paid "full price" and I've stayed at better places for less money. You also get charged $15 a day to park your car in a dark cramped parking garage. it's about a 8-10 block walk to Pikes Market and close to monorail and space needle--walking distance. Area was decently safe-no problems. They are updating the outside so you have to dodge workers, equipment etc. no pool very small gym area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim333tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in room 432, a deluxe double queen room. The room is located at the back of the hotel, with a view of the space needle. It is spacious enough for our party, which consisted of 3 travelers. The decor is funky and vibrant, following the theme throughout the rest of the hotel.

You can't beat the location; within a ten minute walk you find yourself at Seattle Center, the Pike Place Market and waterfront, or Westlake Center. The hotel's neighborhood, Belltown, is home to many delectable restaurants.

The staff is friendly and helpful. We had to alter our itinerary due to a minor setback, and the staff was able to accomodate our changes seamlessly. We were afforded early check-in at arrival, and the front desk was knowledgeable in answering our questions. We did dine in the attached cafe; while it was busy, our server was attentive and quick. The fare hit the spot and is reasonably priced.

Because of the location of our room, we did not hear the various construction projects outside. We did hear our neighbor briefly, but that was a fluke as they raised their voices to an un-neighborly level. We overheard that the hotel was at capacity but the hotel was refreshingly quiet despite it.

I did comparison shop for hotels before our stay, and Hotel Five Seattle consistently beat comparable boutique hotels price wise. From my experience you'll be pleasantly surprised by the superb hospitality provided by the hotel. I will definitely return to Hotel Five during my next visit to Seattle.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rhett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We loved everything about this hotel. From the moment we attempted to check in (early) to the moment we left every single member of staff from front desk to housekeeping went out of their way to be friendly and accommodate our every need. I wish I knew the name of the man on the front desk so I could inform the manager that the service we had from him was truly exceptional. Also the town car driver who took us to the airport at the end of our stay was so wonderful.
The hotel has a perfect location - for our needs anyway. Yes there are a few imperfections that other reviewers have mentioned (being able to hear the conversation of an extremely loud girl in the adjoining room, for one) but other than that the hotel was quiet even though they were under renovation.
Overall the staff more than made up for anything that was less than ideal and I would not hesitate to stay here again because of this.
I shopped around (a lot) for a hotel in Seattle and this one came out best value for money and best location - we walked everywhere, to attractions, restaurants, etc. Having a breakfast cafe on site was also a huge plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank According2DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give your review of Hotel Five. I'm happy we could put the icing on the cake for your trip to Seattle. We have a great benefit in our location as you mentioned and I'm happy our staff may such a good impression as well.
We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Seattle,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed 3 nights before a cruise. Location is great, the hotel staff were wonderful, very helpful. It is in a great location, can walk to several things, and if need a taxi the staff was great with that , and not expensive for a ride to Pikes Market or Pioneer square. Had 2 meals in the restaurant and our second try was a negative, as we waited an extremely long time for our order to be taken and for the food to arrive. The bed was very comfortable, and had comfortable pillows. The decor was very modern and tasteful, Very reasonably priced in comparison to other downtown locations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaPortland_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#30 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#13 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayflower Park Hotel
#23 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#18 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 2200 5th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Seattle
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#32 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in. Then check out The Emerald City.The sights. The sounds. The scenery. Seattle is known for a lot of things and there's no better home base than Hotel Five. Located in the heart of downtown on the corner of 5th Avenue and Blanchard, you're mere steps from the city's most famous attractions. Just five blocks away you'll find the Seattle Center, home of the Space Needle, Experience Music Project and Pacific Science Center. And only six blocks from the hotel is the bustling Seattle Waterfront, World Famous Pike Place Market, and the city's best shopping areas-Pacific Place, Westlake Center and the Nordstrom flagship store. Even better, the hotel is conveniently located on the Free Transit Bus Line so it's just a quick ride to Qwest Field, home of the Seattle Seahawks and Seattle Sounders, as well as Safeco Field, the Seattle Mariners' home turf. And after a long day of exploration, come home to a world of creature comforts while you Staypineapple at Hotel Five. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 5
Ramada Inn Seattle
Ramada Downtown Seattle
Ramada Seattle
Ramada Inn Downtown Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing