We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room but poor services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nexus Seattle
Ranked #72 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
CRW
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great room but poor services”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The issues started as soon as we arrived as we had called asking for the shuttle service to pick us up from the train station, but the van never showed. The hotel said that the driver could not make it due to a soccer game letting out. After we arrived to the hotel by taxi, we checked in and was given the wrong room (paid for the Japanese hydrotherapy spa) and had to convince the desk clerk that our original room didn't have the spa. The hydrotherapy spa rooms are very nice and everything else was very clean. No complaints about the room. Next day, we scheduled for the shuttle again to explore downtown and we were "bumped" to a later shuttle that didn't allow us to visit most attractions due to the late time that it left. A better shuttle service and more knowledgeable staff, and this would be a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVSpelunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, October 22, 2009
Thank you so much for taking a moment to write about your experience. First I would like to sincerely apologize for your reception. Games sometimes produce gridlock but usually our drivers are pretty crafty and while I’m not sure what our error was during check-in, I’m glad that you received the room you were looking for and very glad that you enjoyed it. I really appreciate your pointed comments and will definitely spend time in those areas to improve Hotel Nexus. Tim Cordodor, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    234
    153
    67
    51
See reviews for
243
152
70
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Good for a one night stay. Shuttle to the pier was the reason we stayed here. You have to make sure and book a spot on the shuttle as they fill up fast. You can only reserve the day ahead. This was a bit of a pain reserving on our way back from the cruise as ours was a sail all day and cell bill ended up costing around $10 for the call. Very nice continental breakfast. Staff were not on the friendly side. They weren't rude, but they didn't make you feel welcome either.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruise4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, October 22, 2009
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Hotel Nexus. We’re so glad that you were able to take advantage of our courtesy shuttle; I know how fanatic the taxis can be around the Seattle Piers. Also, thank you for your positive comments on our breakfast. Adding the rotating menu of hot items has really been a crowd pleaser. However, based on your comments, I know that the service levels that you experienced are not up to either of our expectations. Please know that our guests are priority one and that training and service improvement are underway to stop only at perfection; and until then we hope to serve you again on your way through or to our great city. Tim Cordodor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blaine, wa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

If you are staying at this property to use their free shuttle for sporting events - DON'T. Being the apparent idiot that I am, I gave them three tries in 3 years. 1st time, shuttle was full, had to take a $75 cab ride, second time they couldn't find a driver, 3rd time, they could get you there but you had to leave the game an hour after you got there to catch the early shuttle back because they couldn't find a driver to get you back AFTER the game....they can fill 3 shuttles to get you there, but then you're stuck.. The staff is uncaring, the management doesn't respond to complaints. It's a weird place. The restaurant/lounge is across the parking lot and is only open until 10pm. The rooms are sorta art-deco in an old fashioned sorta way. It's noisy and not very clean. If you need transportation to a game, take the bus, it's easier and not as frustrating as these folks.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twotravelBlaine_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, October 22, 2009
Thank you again for your patronage over the years and sharing your experience here at Hotel Nexus. We know that our shuttle service is our most sought after amenity and like you, many or our guests rely on it for much of their transportation needs and find it very helpful. During sporting events, the shuttle service is stretched to its limits filling all 14 passenger seats on each run. The complication comes when guests that have been arriving at the venue all day then want to come back all at the same time and late at night. While we continue to make trips until all guests are back safe, we know it can be frustrating to wait. Also, I understand your second comment and have talked to the restaurant and they are extending weekend hours to accommodate sports fans and the like. I do hope that you received my previous response weeks ago and that all is well. Tim Cordodor, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seattle hotels

Pullman
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I absolutely enjoyed every minute of this trip and Hotel Nexus Seattle was an absolute pleasure to work with. We called to notify them we would be delayed and coming into town late and our reservations were updated on the spot. The front desk personnel was extremely helpful and always courteous. We upgraded from our king bed room to the hot tub room and I recommend that to anyone. It was amazing to get to the room run the water and soak in the hot tub while sipping some cold ones. The location of the hotel was key we jumped on I-5 and were never more than a few minutes away from anything we wanted to do. The zoo was like right down the road literally. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to staying again. Oh and the restaurant in the parking lot is amazing and a must visit. Their Chi tea is absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PullmanDrJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, October 22, 2009
We’re so glad that you took the time to share your experience. I can honestly say, no matter what your reason of travel is, your visit can always be enhanced with a giant Japanese style soaking tub with bubble jets. They are a Hotel Nexus exclusive here in Seattle and we just love to share them with our guests. Your comments about the Saffron Grill are also much appreciated and I completely agree with you about the Chai, it’s almost addicting it’s so good. I’m so excited that you have chosen to make Hotel Nexus your future Seattle destination and look forward to your future comments. Tim Cordodor, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We loved our stay. I very seldom sleep well in hotels/motels, but we both got a great night's sleep all three nights we were there. The staff were courteous and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious with a wide variety. The hotel is in a great location and close to everything we could need...shopping, drug stores, public transportation, Target, loads of great restaurants.

The room itself was spacious and comfortable and when we called for assistance to use the wireless internet, the staff was wonderful in getting us what we need. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Made our visit a pleasure! And have already recommended to family planning a trip out West.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamiPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, October 22, 2009
Thank you for your encouraging comments and taking the time to share them. I am so glad that you found your accommodations comfortable and the staff courteous. To any hotel hearing those words is music to their ears. However hearing that we will have the opportunity to serve your family; now that is a full symphony. Thank you for your confidence in our ability to take care of them and I know that they will receive the same experience at Hotel Nexus that you have already enjoyed. Tim Cordodor, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notpleased123
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2009

I booked this hotel before I read reviews and then before we got here I was nervous because of all the negative reviews. The hotel itself was very nice but I couldn't believe how rude the front desk people were. I thought maybe people exaggerated about how rude they were, but there is no exaggeration! Useless front desk people seemed like I was inconveniencing them by making them do there job and pay them money to stay at there hotel. Probably wouldnt consider this hotel again because of it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notpleased123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, October 22, 2009
“To our valued guests: It is the one goal of Hotel Nexus to deliver an exceptional, memorable experience. We know that our guests are purchasing more than just a bed or a clean room but also the service and local expertise of every staff member of the hotel. We aim very high for standards in guest service and know what happens when we take our eyes off the ball. We apologize for our shortcomings in this area and appreciate the comments that help us improve every aspect of our accommodations for our many future guests. – Tim Cordodor, General Manager”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

This "hotel" was a disappointment simply because it is a motel! If you want to open the window you will see and hear people walking to their rooms down the cement walkway out side. The women at the front desk did not greet us and was not friendly. If she had been we would have not felt so badly about the other disappointments. Jetson retro decor and small rooms. Not a good value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alottosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
Thank you for sharing your comments. I apologize about your check in experience. Your comments will most certainly be used in our future training. Regarding your concerns on Hotel vs. Motel and the direction of the renovations; I would humbly submit that these definitions have become terribly blurred over the last 15 -20 years. Our extensive renovations have shaped our tag-line “Uniquely Retro, Refreshingly Modern” giving us a very unique almost “boutique” feel. With amenities such as an “on site” restaurant, complimentary shuttle service, meeting and banquet facilities and many other services, a “motel” definition may be understating our offerings. I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations but would invite you to contact me directly if there is ever anything I could assist with during future travels in Seattle. Thank you again for not only staying with us but for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. Tim Cordodor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nexus Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nexus Seattle

Property: Hotel Nexus Seattle
Address: 2140 N. Northgate Way, Seattle, WA 98133-9007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nexus Seattle 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nexus is a non-smoking establishment located in north Seattle close to shopping and area medical centers, convenient to all of greater Seattle. The hotel offers complimentary hot breakfast buffet; complimentary area shuttle, high-speed Internet; free parking, business center, fitness center, outdoor pool, restaurant and room service. Guestrooms include granite countertops, hardwood furnishings, Serta Perfect Presidential Suite Diamond Plush beds, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, hair dryers, irons/ironing boards, and cable TV. Pets allowed in specific rooms (fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Nexus Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing