We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal AND a Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nexus Seattle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nexus Seattle
Ranked #68 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Deal AND a Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Conveniently located 200 yds from highway I-5 but not noisy. Was visiting friends downtown and this was half the price of hotels in their area and only a 10 minute hop away. Seems to be a renovated motel that is now a very hip and student friendly place. Great updated in-room facilities include big desk, refrigerator and Microwave; Nice bathroom. Free Wi-Fi and a very helpful desk staff. They have a van that will take you downtown etc. if you ask them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review for the Hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your visit and found the amenities and location a great fit and value. We look forward to having you return in the future should your travels bring you to the area again. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    198
    127
    62
    40
See reviews for
199
126
61
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband I stayed at Hotel Nexus in July 2012 for a total of eight nights. As we scheduled this trip just a few days prior to arrival, the options for available hotels in Seattle were very slim. Other options included SeaTac, Everett & Bellevue hotel/motels. As we knew we would be house hunting within the Seattle metro area, we went with Hotel Nexus. The hotel is more of a motel – no frills with simple rooms. Check in went smoothly & the staff is great. We were given an accessible room, which was a bit larger than their regular room, but it was located on the first floor right by the staircase on the front side of the hotel. As the hotel was very full we didn’t try to get another room location, but I wish we had – the location was horrible. As we were right by the stairway door, we had to listen to it being slammed throughout the night, constantly waking us up. The bed was also too soft for our taste in this room – our backs were really hurting. We originally were scheduled to leave Seattle after five nights, but on the fifth day, my husband’s back was hurting so much that he collapsed to the floor. Long story short, there is a great ER right around the corner from the hotel – Northwest Hospital. Turns out my husband had herniated a few discs in his back & he could not fly for a few more days. As we were scheduled to check out the next day (& it was still cruise season with limited room availability) the hotel scrambled & found us another room (there had been a cancellation). The next day we checked out of room one & moved to a room on the second floor, located on the front side of the hotel, to the right of the lobby. This location was SO MUCH BETTER! The room was smaller, but quiet & there were two double beds which were much more firm than the king bed in the other. We both finally got some much needed sleep & we ended up finding a house the very next day! While I’m not sure I would choose this hotel again, the staff members that we dealt with were all great! They really came thru with the second room for our extended stay. Not one person was every rude & they always smiled – even at 2am. The bathrooms were adequate – never ran out of hot water & the TVs worked. The wireless was sporadic – we received a much better signal in our second room than in our first. The breakfast was ok – eggs, breads, juices, cereal, coffee, etc. We always found something to hold us over for a while. If I ever needed to stay at this hotel again, I will make sure to request a room far away from the slamming stairway door.

Room Tip: Request a room far a way from the stairwells
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strictlybettyboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hotel Nexus. We value honest feedback from all of our guests. Summer in Seattle can get a bit crazy when looking for hotel accommodations and we are glad you found us.
I hope your husband’s back is making a recovery and that you are enjoying your new home in the Seattle area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

WHY YOU'D STAY HERE:

You're right off of I-5, it costs about half as much as a hotel downtown, it includes breakfast, there is a cool aquarium in the lobby, it has HBO, it has a mini-fridge and a microwave, wi-fi is included. There are restaurants and services within walking distance, a shuttle will take you downtown about every 2 hours, it's near the Northgate Mall. Free parking

WHY YOU'D STAY ELSEWHERE:

Thin walls, breakfast scene might be a little chaotic for some (particularly travelers not used to all that goes with small children "eating" breakfast) mini fridge seems like a good idea but it's really noisy, heater/blower easily overshoots comfort zone.

BOTTOM LINE:

Once again, you get what you pay for. The Hotel Nexus isn't luxurious by any stretch, but it has a lot of amenities, a pretty convenient location if you need to be in North Seattle or even downtown, and it is very reasonably priced. Seems like a no-brainer for a budget-minded traveller.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your honest and thorough review of Hotel Nexus. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and found value in the property and location. We try hard to provide travelers with a great place to stay in a convenient location... while still offering all the amenities you would get in a hotel downtown at a much higher rate. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Nexus four different nights and have not been disappointed! The staff was so helpful and always willing to go the extra mile when asked. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was spotless. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suewheatonosterberg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for being a repeat visitor to the Hotel Nexus and thank you for the kind review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I booked this hotel through Priceline and got a really good rate. The rooms was more than adequate and had a nice fridge and microwave. The hotel was very accommodating of our two dogs. The staff was friendly and helpful, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juicyloo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Hotel Nexus. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and were able to bring your furry family members. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Nexus because we were visiting in North Seattle. The location gives easy access to the freeway and to Carkeek park on the Sound. The person at the desk was very friendly and helpful, allowed us to check in early, and obliged our request for a quiet room on the end away from the freeway.
Our room was a business king with a built-in desk rather than a table and a fridge more than big enough to hold a couple of 2-liter soda bottles. We found the bed too soft, but its plushiness might be what some would like. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, which had a good selection and plenty of tables at the time we went.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side, away from the freeway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h2owitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to the hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location and that you found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to North Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My out of town wedding guests all stayed at this hotel, and they found the service very good. Every thing they happened to ask for at the front desk was met with courteous and helpful assistance. The shuttle service was excellent as well, very prompt and the driver knew alternate routes to avoid traffic jams and meet a deadline.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BW109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad read that your visitors enjoyed the hotel... Congratulation on the wedding and I hope the event was a huge success!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#36 of 101 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 stars 1,261 reviews
Georgetown Inn
#19 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nexus Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nexus Seattle

Property: Hotel Nexus Seattle
Address: 2140 N Northgate Way, Seattle, WA 98133-9007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nexus Seattle 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nexus is a non-smoking establishment located in north Seattle close to shopping and area medical centers, convenient to all of greater Seattle. The hotel offers complimentary hot breakfast buffet; complimentary area shuttle, high-speed Internet; free parking, business center, fitness center, outdoor pool, restaurant and room service. Guestrooms include granite countertops, hardwood furnishings, Serta Perfect Presidential Suite Diamond Plush beds, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, hair dryers, irons/ironing boards, and cable TV. Pets allowed in specific rooms (fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nexus Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing