We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home, but disappointed in the breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shafer Baillie Mansion
Ranked #5 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, but disappointed in the breakfast”
Reviewed July 20, 2007

We just returned from our two day stay at the Shafer Baillie Mansion and had a very different opinion from the other reviewers. We are seasoned B&B guests and while we agree that the home was beautiful and very clean, we did not find that the hosts were very friendly or that the breakfast was very good.

While I realize that breakfasts vary from establishment to establishment, this breakfast was very uninspiring. There were the ordinary cereals, cheeses, yogurts and fruit, with a plate of terrible bagels and small plate of baked goods. We happened to be one of the last down for breakfast and found that the platters were not refilled as the guests ate. Therefore, our fruit and baked good choice was very limited.

I am usually very complimentary about the places we have stayed in, but I found that the hosts did not go out of their way to accommodate their guests. There was no shampoo, the towels were very small, and the lamps were too tall for turning off from bed.

  • Liked — The beauty of the home
  • Disliked — The quality of the breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookishbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbmansion, Owner at Shafer Baillie Mansion, responded to this review, August 5, 2007
We are sorry to hear of this less than stellar experience at our home. We would like to think it is atypical, as we were actually out of town during this stay. It is a subject we will of course address with our innsitters, since a lack of friendliness is never a complaint we have heard from guests who stay when we are in town (which is almost always)!

Mark Mayhle & Ana Lena Melka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    16
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
137
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights because most of the downtown hotels seemed to be booked for that weekend and I found it online, it looked cool. The hotel is very nice. It seems to have recently undergone a lot of renovations and everything is immaculately clean. Usually I don't like to even sit on the top covers of beds or touch anything at hotels but in this one I felt like it was just very clean, more clean than a hotel but more like my house. The architecture of the building is very interesting and the rooms also have antique furniture. You feel like you are in another era. It is very interesting to stay there.

The room we stayed in was Elliot Bay Suite. It had a flat screen TV, which i've never encountered in a hotel before. The bed is very high up but it has some stair steps, since we were tall this is okay but maybe not good for disabled travelers. It was a comfortable bed.

The owners are very nice and gave us directions to a lot of the places we wanted to see. They also serve a very good breakfast with fresh fresh coffee, fancy cheeses and bagels etc. We actually didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel aside from sleeping because we were busy exploring Seattle.

The walk to downtown Seattle is about 20-30 minutes. But the area (Capitol Hill) is very nice. A lot of old mansions and a lot of nice trees. It is only 2 blocks from Volunteer Park which is a very nice park you should visit. Also, we could see the Space Needle and the mountain range from our window but the view was obscured by trees. But if you leave the hotel and walk 5 minutes you would get to Volunteer park which has an EXCELLENT view of the Space Needle.

  • Liked — Historic
  • Disliked — Somewhat expensive for being so far from downtown
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus,Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2007

Just returned from our 2nd trip to this fantastic beautifully restored Seattle mansion, and would heartily recommend Shafer Baillie to all Seattle visitors. Great price for convenient location close to downtown but tucked away from the maddening crowd on Capital Hill on a quiet street. All bedrooms have been lovingly restored and boast all of the modern conveniences you could ask for. Continental breakfasts are elegant and varied with ample food and beverages, and hostess Ana provides for every wish or need. The house even has wireless high speed internet for keeping in touch. We'll be happy to visit again!

  • Liked — Clean, great value, modern conveniences, beautiful restoration, excellent hosts
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lchakeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2006

My extended family of 16 stayed at the mansion for my parents' 50th anniversary. New owners Mark and Ana Mayle have completely restored the mansion and it is elegant and luxurious. They have been able to restore the classic ambiance while providing modern amenities like internet access. The service was outstanding and our entire party loved our time there. We will be back and are recommending it to our friends.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodinvilleFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 5, 2006

I'm surprised at how radically different our experience was to that of some earlier reviewers. As new owners, Mark and Anna Mayhle have certainly turned the place around. They were delightful hosts and the house was a pleasure to stay in. I loved the huge porcelain bath and big bed. My 7 year old grandson enjoyed exploring the huge house and climbing the nearby water tower. Nice to be able to walk down to restaurants and cafes rather than drive everywhere too. It was a very easy place to stay at and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne - Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2006

This beautiful old home has been rennovated with enormous attention to detail. Having stayed in glorious period accommodation frequently in Scotland I was pleasantly surprised with the skill and style in which this home has been restored and the ease with which the hosts made us feel so welcome. We truly felt like we were at home and the close proximity to Seattles finest attractions was a bonus. For cleanliness and style The Shafer-Baillie Mansion complete with new owners is just that -complete. A highlight for me was seeing squirrells and humming birds right outside our suite window.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 18, 2006

This elegant lady has been restored to her grandest heritage, with all her antique touches restored with patience and diligence. We spent a wonderful week at the mansion commencing at the end of April 2006, not only relishing the wonderful and freshly refurbished facilities, but enjoying the warm hospitality of Ana and Mark. We were made to feel at home - Mark and Ana going out of their way to ensure that our experience of Seattle was first class. The experience couldn't have been better.
The Shafer Baillie mansion is not only an outstanding accomodation venue, it is ideally located - situated on Capitol Hill with its close proximity to downtown and easy access to the I-5. Finding a better place to stay in Seattle will take some doing.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 100 in Seattle
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broadway / Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Mozart Guest House
#11 of 28 in Seattle
109 reviews
Chelsea Station
#2 of 28 in Seattle
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shafer Baillie Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shafer Baillie Mansion

Property: Shafer Baillie Mansion
Address: 907 14th Ave E, Seattle, WA 98112-3903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent 14,000 sq ft Tudor mansion, exquisitely restored and ideally situated on Capitol Hill, where you will find the gracious atmosphere of a bygone era with the comforts and amenities today's travelers need. One block south of Volunteer Park on Seattle's original "Millionaires' Row," minutes from all major area attractions including downtown, Pike Place Market, Seattle Center (Space Needle, Experience Music Project, Pacific Science Center, opera, ballet, Chihuly Garden and Glass Museum), waterfront, University of Washington and much more. Eight guestrooms and suites with private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shafer-Baillie Mansion Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing