We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago Concert”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shafer Baillie Mansion
Ranked #5 of 27 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We loved our stay. The owners were very gracious and the breakfast incredible.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mscristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 294 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2009

We chose the Shafer Baillie Mansion based on its great location, close to Volunteer Park, neighborhood restaurants and shopping. We ended up falling in love with the place because of the wonderfully restored rooms, parlors and dining room that made a magical place for us to stay. The house has recently been restored, and as a museum professional I can tell you that the work done throughout was first rate. The food and hospitality were great, more than we expected from a B and B, but never intrusive for our family. The Mansion is a great place for those who want to experience Seattle like a native, maybe less so for people who want hotel amenities like swimming pools and ice machines down the hall.
Our stay in Seattle was part of two week long drive up the West Coast from San Francisco to Seattle with our kids. They loved every minute, but after two weeks at home one of the things from the trip they talk the most about was staying in Seattle at the Shafer Baillie Mansion.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
Thank otsegony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

My wife and I spent weeks researching B&B's in Seattle and we decided on the Shafer Baillie Mansion after reading the reviews online and checking out their website. We have stayed in many different hotels and B&B's around the country, and I must say this is in the top two. The website does not do this place justice! The house itself is a sight to see. Exceptionally grand. It has been restored to perfect condition. The rooms are large and have top quality beds and sheets with big screen TV's and cable. The house is located in the best part of town which was originally called "Millionaire's Row". All of the surrounding streets are lined with beautiful grand homes. The house has huge rooms on the first floor for relaxing, reading or conversation. While they do not serve a "full" breakfast, the expanded continental is plentiful and delicious. More than enough to get you through until lunch. Parking is somewhat of a challenge in Seattle but if you're relying on public transportation (which I recommend), the bus stop is one block over and you can catch a bus to anywhere about every 15 minutes. The Shafer Baillie Mansion is an excellent value and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reelmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We stayed for two nights with our two year-old son and were very pleased with the Shafer Baillie Mansion. The mansion ha lots of historic charm with updated, new amenities. Our room was on the newly renovated third floor, and was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and the continental breakfast was fresh and tasty (all products were organic). Although traveling with a toddler can be a challenge, we felt very at home at the mansion, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMP823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I stayed here with my husband and adult daughter in the Elliott Bay Suite, the smaller of their two suites. This included a bedroom with queen bed, a sunroom with daybed (which could be made into a king bed), and an enormous bathroom. We also had use of the first floor which also had a charming sunroom, dining room, and several other comfortable seating areas. The breakfast was nicely done with bagels, meat and cheese, salmon, croissants, pastries, yogurt, cereals, juices, fruit, and plenty of coffee. There was also an outside seating area. The mansion is in a lovely neighborhood one block south of Volunteer Par, a great place to stroll, and within walking distance of the many good restaurants on 15th Ave South. We enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Podie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We were coming to Seattle for our daughter's graduation from medical school, so we looked for a special place to stay to celebrate the occasion. My wife and I have stayed at a number of B&Bs in the last 25 years, but the Shafer-Baillie Mansion was clearly the nicest. The mansion is beautiful, in a great neighborhood, and is very convenient to both downtown and the University of Washington. The rooms are furnished very nicely and have all the amenities you could possible think of. They were very accommodating of any requests we had, and they made us feel very much at home. Having stayed at a number of hotels in Seattle, I highly recommend the Shafer-Baillie Mansion as providing great value regarding the quality of the accommodations and hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

I stayed in Baillie Mansion for 4 nights for my friend's wedding.
We were a group of 30 people and really enjoyed our time in the Mansion.
Breda and her friend are excellent hosts, very friendly and full of tips and good adresses in Seattle.
The Mansion is very well located - walking distance to Seattle downtown and few blocks away from a lovely park. Each room is different from the other. The living room and breakfast room are very welcoming...You really feel at home !
And I am not even mentioning the breakfast....
I ll come back for sure !
Emilie

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emy123445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 103 in Seattle
1,558 reviews
Broadway / Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Greenlake Guest House
#1 of 27 in Seattle
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shafer Baillie Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shafer Baillie Mansion

Address: 907 14th Ave E, Seattle, WA 98112-3903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range: $149 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent 14,000 sq ft Tudor mansion, exquisitely restored and ideally situated on Capitol Hill, where you will find the gracious atmosphere of a bygone era with the comforts and amenities today's travelers need. One block south of Volunteer Park on Seattle's original "Millionaires' Row," minutes from all major area attractions including downtown, Pike Place Market, Seattle Center (Space Needle, Experience Music Project, Pacific Science Center, opera, ballet, Chihuly Garden and Glass Museum), waterfront, University of Washington and much more. Eight guestrooms and suites with private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shafer-Baillie Mansion Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing