We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shafer Baillie Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Seattle
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
MOXY Seattle Downtown(Seattle)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (300)
    Filter reviews
    300 results
    Traveler rating
    277
    16
    7
    0
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    277
    16
    7
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsvolunteer parkmaster suitecapitol hillb bbeautiful mansionbiscottithe asian art museumlovely neighborhoodfresh fruithill roomposter bedinteresting guestshistoric neighborhoodcommon spacegracious hostsother gueststurn of the century
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    269 - 274 of 300 reviews
    Reviewed May 4, 2009

    I greatly enjoyed my stay at the Shafer-Baillie Mansion. The house was grand without being oppressive, and run with an easy yet attentive style that made it a very restful place to stay. I felt a leisure to come and go as I pleased, without having to worry that I was disturbing the other guests or troubling the innkeeper. The room was elegant, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was appetising and extensive, and certainly sufficient to set me up for the day.

    The Washington State Convention Centre is within walking distance if you are so inclined, about 30 minutes at a moderate pace, and I felt safe walking to and from the city centre at all hours. The neighborhood is great, and worth seeing in its own right.

    • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank OSeTra
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 30, 2009

    We came to Seattle for a conference and chose to stay at this B&B because it had a very reasonable rate. The house is beautiful and luxuriously furnished. The guest rooms are spacious with modern amenities. Wifi available at no cost. The breakfast was plentiful. The hostess Brenda is warm, welcoming and very helpful. She made us feel right at home. It takes approx 30 mins to walk to the city centre, or $8 in a cab. I would have no hesitation in recommending it. In comparison to the high end hotels, this is much better quality and much more relaxing.

    • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank windouran
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 25, 2009

    This great Bed and Breakfast is located in a beautiful neighborhood just outside the city centre, it is only a 20 minutes’ walk to downtown Seattle. The area is very green, with the Volunteer Park and the Interlaken Park nearby. The Shafer Baillie Mansion is a very warm and brilliant house. The atmosphere is unique and the whole house is a combination of style, tradition, and comfort. The fact that we extended our stay 3 times says it all. We really felt at home and the owners are incredibly nice and helpful. On the one hand, they are always willing to help you, you can always have a talk with them, but on the other hand they give you your privacy. In sum, we have had a perfect time in the Shafer Baillie Mansion, we felt at home, and we will definitely come back. Moreover, we highly recommend it to our friends and relatives.

    All the best,

    Maurits van den Noort & Peggy Bosch

    • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    Thank MauritsvdNoort
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 21, 2008

    A great spot in Capitol Hill near to Volunteer Park. A very warm welcome on arrival following a long flight and was very accommodating to our dietry requirements (vegetarian). It is a beautiful building and the rooms very well decorated. The view over the car park wasn't the best, but we didn't choose this place for views in any event.

    The breakfast was great - a filling spread with lots of choice - fresh fruit, bagels, cereals, toast etc etc.

    We walked into the centre of Downtown from Capitol Hill, and it took maybe 30 minutes. We bussed back which took no time at all and equally bussed it to the Uni district.

    Highly recommended

    • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    2  Thank Oldsuit
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 17, 2008

    If you want a taste of old Seattle, the Shafer-Baillie Mansion is a great place to stay. Our experience was shared with other members of my extended family as we gathered for a wedding celebration. For any family gathering for 10 to 15 people, this B&B was perfect. The rooms were spacious enough to accommodate families large and small, or just couples. We were able to use the spacious living room downstairs as a gathering place for the whole family, where we shared memories late into the evening. The antique furnishings and beautiful original wood paneling provided a warm welcoming feeling for these times together . The breakfast was set in a large dining area with a long table, enabling our large gathering to spend time together in the morning as well. The owner/hostess was very helpful in providing information and directions. Most importantly, the beds were very comfortable and the rooms well maintained and very clean. This is a very nice place to stay if you want to get away into a quiet neighborhood away from hotels/motels and traffic.

    Stayed: April 2008
    2  Thank akboyd
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews