We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shafer Baillie Mansion - top spot in Capitol Hill”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shafer Baillie Mansion
Ranked #5 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shafer Baillie Mansion - top spot in Capitol Hill”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Welcome to the elegant Shafer Baillie Mansion. Close your eyes, reopen them and you are taken back in time to an Agatha Christie film set where Hercule Poirot is about to take tea and crumpets or Brenda's homemade fruit pudding for breakfast straight out of her grandma's rich "Southern" recipe book. Brenda is the innkeeper. So is Glen. They both know the area well and generously share their local knowledge with you. Both great people.
A wide wooden staircase leads up to rooms each with their own unique look and feel. And you are only one block away from 15th Avenue where there's a stack of gorgeous restaurants and bars (try the Hopvine for lovely beer and an amazing roast garlic soup). If you hate the hotel chains and want something just a little different, try the Shafer Baillie Mansion. You might never tear yourself away from their richly stocked library shelves or bowls of chocolates. Dieters, you are warned! Loved it.

Room Tip: Southwest ballroom is probably the most elegant one, but they are all gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    16
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
138
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The inn is beautiful. Traveled with friends and stayed for a week. Great area. Public transportation a block away and many good restaurants within a short walk. Publics areas were comfortable.
Stayed in Southeast ballroom. Very spacious, spotless and fine linens on the bed.
The hosts, Brenda and Glen, are the best! Breakfast was delicious..many healthy choices and a hot dish was available most days.
The only negative was the antique computer available for guest use and a sometimes weak wireless signal. The owner should consider updating the computer and the wireless service.

Room Tip: The Southeast ballroom was beautiful. Was able to view all the rooms and depending on your needs, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What makes this B & B outstanding are the personal touches. Innkeepers Glen and Brenda's warm and gracious Southern charm instantly put you at ease. I was pleasantly surprised they had a high chair set up in their Victorian era dining room for my toddler. He loved banging on the piano and sitting in the antique child size chairs in the salon. We stayed in the Southeast Ballroom and it was terrific. The bed linen was crisp and pressed. The bed mattress was comfortable. The bathroom was updated and clean. The B & B provided snacks and bottled water. I checked out the other vacant rooms and they all appeared to have the same high standards. The neighborhood is lovely with many runners headed toward Volunteer Park. We have stayed at 11th Avenue Inn B & B and Seattle Hill House B & B. Shafer Baillie is our hands down favourite B & B on Capitol Hill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happypassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is one of the nicest B&B's we have stayed in. All the rooms are very clean, quiet and beautifully appointed. The inn keepers were gracious and helpful and made us feel at home. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts in the dining room.
We loved the neighbourhood. It was great being able to park our car on the street for free. It was really convenient to take a short taxi ride into the downtown so that we didn't have to fight with traffic, figure out where to park or pay for parking.
We loved our stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here recently when I came to Seattle to help my son after he had surgery. I thought this hotel was perfect for me. First it is in a lovely area of Seattle called Capitol Hill, with large homes and lawns and just very pleasant to walk around--there is a park called Volunteer Park which is lovely and I enjoyed walking my son's dog there--lots of other dog walkers there. The proprietors of this establishment went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable and had plenty to eat for breakfast--a nice variety of pastries, smoked salmon,bagels, cereal, etc. The house is decorated in an early victorian style with lots of velvet chairs and Persian rugs, etc. It just couldn't be nicer, especially since my bathroom looked like it was recently remodeled. I really liked staying here and I would again, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in the Elliott room and the staff was very welcoming. Everyone was helpful to us and this was a great place to stay - central to most places you want to venture out to without being crowded into the city of Seattle. Very convenient to restaurants in Capitol hill area and with a little walking you have access to public transit to access further destinations in the city and connection to other areas beyond. The staff is knowledgeable about whatever you may have an interest in and they don't seem to mind sharing info. Check ahead with them for best transportation to get there from SEATAC airport - wished we had to save hassle of rental car and lack of parking issue in the downtown Seattle city area.

Room Tip: If you don't need/ want a tub, we found the Elliott room suitable in size for the 2 of us. Plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnv_sierravista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We walked into the home and was greeted with such a friendly greeting, as well as a wealth of info of where to go and what to see in Seattle.

We were informed that the other guests are friendly and will get along with them great in the morning.

After the wonderful greeting, our room!!! It was beautiful, bed so soft and room so warm. It was the best night sleep we ever had.

In the morning, the breakfast was soooo delish that we had to have seconds and thirds. The host was wonderful conversation starter and all of us guests were talking like old friends.

We finished our stay with saying good bye and a definite promise to return like every other guest we met there.

This is a gem and worth spending the time there!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 101 in Seattle
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
2,671 reviews
Broadway / Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Greenlake Guest House
#1 of 28 in Seattle
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shafer Baillie Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shafer Baillie Mansion

Property: Shafer Baillie Mansion
Address: 907 14th Ave E, Seattle, WA 98112-3903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent 14,000 sq ft Tudor mansion, exquisitely restored and ideally situated on Capitol Hill, where you will find the gracious atmosphere of a bygone era with the comforts and amenities today's travelers need. One block south of Volunteer Park on Seattle's original "Millionaires' Row," minutes from all major area attractions including downtown, Pike Place Market, Seattle Center (Space Needle, Experience Music Project, Pacific Science Center, opera, ballet, Chihuly Garden and Glass Museum), waterfront, University of Washington and much more. Eight guestrooms and suites with private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shafer-Baillie Mansion Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing