We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shafer Baillie Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown(Seattle)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$289
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$449
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown(Seattle)(Great Value!)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$215
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belltown Inn(Seattle)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
277
16
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
16
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvolunteer parkmaster suitecapitol hillb bbeautiful mansionbiscottithe asian art museumlovely neighborhoodfresh fruithill roomposter bedinteresting guestshistoric neighborhoodcommon spacegracious hostsother gueststurn of the century
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 300 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here recently when I came to Seattle to help my son after he had surgery. I thought this hotel was perfect for me. First it is in a lovely area of Seattle called Capitol Hill, with large homes and lawns and just very pleasant to walk around--there is a park called Volunteer Park which is lovely and I enjoyed walking my son's dog there--lots of other dog walkers there. The proprietors of this establishment went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable and had plenty to eat for breakfast--a nice variety of pastries, smoked salmon,bagels, cereal, etc. The house is decorated in an early victorian style with lots of velvet chairs and Persian rugs, etc. It just couldn't be nicer, especially since my bathroom looked like it was recently remodeled. I really liked staying here and I would again, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in the Elliott room and the staff was very welcoming. Everyone was helpful to us and this was a great place to stay - central to most places you want to venture out to without being crowded into the city of Seattle. Very convenient to restaurants in Capitol hill area and with a little walking you have access to public transit to access further destinations in the city and connection to other areas beyond. The staff is knowledgeable about whatever you may have an interest in and they don't seem to mind sharing info. Check ahead with them for best transportation to get there from SEATAC airport - wished we had to save hassle of rental car and lack of parking issue in the downtown Seattle city area.

Room Tip: If you don't need/ want a tub, we found the Elliott room suitable in size for the 2 of us. Plenty of room for clothes both hanging closet and dresser of spacious size. Bench for sitting to put on shoes and desk for use of your computer/laptop and room to move around without being cramped like in some other B&Bs
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnv_sierravista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We walked into the home and was greeted with such a friendly greeting, as well as a wealth of info of where to go and what to see in Seattle.

We were informed that the other guests are friendly and will get along with them great in the morning.

After the wonderful greeting, our room!!! It was beautiful, bed so soft and room so warm. It was the best night sleep we ever had.

In the morning, the breakfast was soooo delish that we had to have seconds and thirds. The host was wonderful conversation starter and all of us guests were talking like old friends.

We finished our stay with saying good bye and a definite promise to return like every other guest we met there.

This is a gem and worth spending the time there!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The innkeepers, Brenda and Glenn, are incredible hosts!! They want each person to have a relaxing and awesome experience in their mansion. We love the relaxed two hour breakfast window and the wide number of choices to satisfy any culinary preference.

You will feel totally pampered after a stay at their mansion!

Don't miss the fabulous 100 year old Volunteer Park Conservatory at the far end of the park! Check out their gift shop for unique and reasonably priced jewelry and gift items.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have been totally remodeled to reflect the elegance of the early 1900's. Each room is themed to the Capitol Hill area and the lovely Volunteer Park is a five minute walk away. We recently stayed in the large and luxurious Master Suite. We stayed in the Volunteer Park Room previously and loved it, too!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We arrived on Amtrak late at night telephoning them to say we would not be there until approx. 22.30, but were met by Glen who showed us around the place. The mansion was one of the most beautiful places we have stayed at in our three months tour of America,the room was fantastic, great bed with the best shower in the 43 places we visited. Breakfast was amazing plenty of choices and with all the guests conversing about their trips this is what a bed and breakfast should be about.Ana and Brenda were charming giving us hints on whereto visit. The bus into town is one block away and volunteer park just yards away, great park to visit with a water tower, museum and botanic garden, and on the far side of the park is the cemetery where Bruce Lee is buried . We walked into town from the park with fantastic views of the bay and river. If ever in Seattle again this is the only place we would stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews