We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shafer Baillie Mansion
Ranked #5 of 27 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Shafer Baillie and really enjoyed our stay. Ana has done a beautiful job restoring this lovely mansion and it's as comfortable as it is lovely. Ana, Glen and Brenda were very friendly and helpful. The B&B is in a great location and on a recommendation from Glen, found a great restaurant within walking distance. The neighborhood is very walkable and has many interesting businesses and beautiful old mansions. Volunteer Park is just a block away and if you climb the water tower there is a 360 degree view of Seattle. We will definitely return to the Shafer-Baillie.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPTRAVELER33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 296 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wonderful 4-night stay at the Shaffer Baillie! Brenda, Glen and Anna were all very helpful with advice for our first time in Seattle. Queen Anne room is on the small side, but beautiful and very clean. Breakfasts were European style and lovely. Great neighborhood, close to Volunteer Park and public transportation to downtown. Highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyGirlTeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I settled my Dad and his ladyfriend into the Mansion at the edge of Capitol Hill. It was his first B&B experience, and I told him he was starting out at the top. Shafer Baillie is the most beautiful B&B I've experienced. Grand stairway, old stained glass windows, large well-appointed rooms, beautiful antiques and a gracious porch and side terrace. It's situated in an absolutely lovely immediate neighborhood full of mansions from back-in-the-day. And just a few blocks walk away is the hip, young neighborhood with a handful of good restaurants on 15th Ave. Two blocks north is an old Seattle neighborhood park with water feature and viewing tower designed by the Olmsted folks related to those who did Central Park. When we walked there to peek out the tower windows after dinner we had the pleasure of listening to a mandolin player practicing.

The hosts are friendly, open and helpful, starting us out with a tour of the 3-story mansion. The long morning breakfast table is an enjoyable place to start the day. And they keep the coffee and a little light biscotti-type snack available always.

Room Tip: I like them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here two nights of my recent six night visit to Seattle. Wished I would have stayed here every night. The inn is gracious as are the hosts, friendly without being intrusive. The mansion is spectacular. The bedding is luxurious and the rooms marry old world elegance and charm with new world WIFI, digital cable and DVD players with large flat screen TVs and central air conditioning. The neighborhood is very convenient to downtown either by a scenic 30 minute walk or a by a convenient 10 minute bus ride that drops you within blocks of your mansion. I grew up in Seattle and had always imagined what it would be like to reside in one of the spectacular homes in this historic neighborhood now I know if only for a few nights. Typically I am not a big "B&B Person" but with a home of this size (14,000 square feet) you have all the privacy of a hotel--not to mention at a much lower price point. I was pricing hotels I am familiar with for the Labor Day weekend downtown that were going for north of $250 per night and I had a spectacular room at the mansion for much less. Don't miss this when staying in Seattle!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are largest, however, have a three floor walk up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomimalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was our first trip to Seattle and we spent 3 nights at the Shafer-Baillie Mansion in the Southeast Ballroom. Ana did a great job restoring the inn - it is beautiful. The inn is in a great neighborhood of old mansions. It was nice having Volunteer Park right down the street - we enjoyed our time in the park. It was very convenient to be able to walk whereever we wanted from the inn and then have the bus route stop right nearby.

The rooms at the inn are spacious and clean and the beds are very comfortable. Brenda, Glen, and Ana are so friendly and always came out to chat during breakfast (the breakfast was wonderful - we never left hungry!). They were also very helpful - always ready to answer questions that we had about the area. Our room was only meant for 3 people, but they accommodated our family of 4 with a rollaway bed.

Our stay at the Shafer Baillie Mansion was a great way to start and end our vacation on the west coast!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 512Kim21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great innkeepers/owners. Lovely rooms. Spacious public rooms. Healthy and varied breakfasts.
Close to restaurants, parks, and public transportation. Close, but not too close, to downtown Seattle.
Varied walking areas.. Overall impression was very positive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exhausted-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Shaver-Baillie Mansion is a restored turn of the centruy mansion on Millionaire's row in the Capital Hill section of Seattle. We loved the roominess and comfort of the place. Brenda's breakfasts were delicious. As a previous rater said, it is close to good restaurants The no. 10 bus stop is only one block away. The fare for seniors is only $.75 for about a 20 min. ride into downtown Seattle. Taxi fare for a 10 min. ride into town is abour $8.00. We will definately stay here when we return to Seattle.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so ask for a 2nd floor room. The rooms in the back (west side) are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,755 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Mayflower Park Hotel
#16 of 104 in Seattle
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenlake Guest House
#1 of 27 in Seattle
572 reviews
Broadway / Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Pike Place Market
Pensione Nichols B&B
Pensione Nichols B&B
#9 of 27 in Seattle
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shafer Baillie Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shafer Baillie Mansion

Address: 907 14th Ave E, Seattle, WA 98112-3903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range: $149 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent 14,000 sq ft Tudor mansion, exquisitely restored and ideally situated on Capitol Hill, where you will find the gracious atmosphere of a bygone era with the comforts and amenities today's travelers need. One block south of Volunteer Park on Seattle's original "Millionaires' Row," minutes from all major area attractions including downtown, Pike Place Market, Seattle Center (Space Needle, Experience Music Project, Pacific Science Center, opera, ballet, Chihuly Garden and Glass Museum), waterfront, University of Washington and much more. Eight guestrooms and suites with private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shafer-Baillie Mansion Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing