We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Green Tortoise Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed July 3, 2007

Stayed in the hostel for 3 nights in an all girls dorm. The room was clean, the bed comfortable. The washrooms were large, private and very clean.
Free breakfast every morning and free dinners three times a week-with good food. The internet is a little slow but it is also free.
Great location. I was able to walk to most parts of seattle from there. If you need the bus or ferry it is also close by.
The staff were really great, friendly and helpful. I felt safe and would definetly stay there again.
One suggestion is to make sure you book a room ahead of time. This is the only hostel and most nights they had to turn people away because they were completely booked.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KMJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    184
    45
    19
    28
See reviews for
22
63
248
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2007

This hostel has everything you could want in Seattle! It's on the doorstep of the pike place market and close to the greyhound station too.

The rooms are comfy and the beds are great!! Well heated, fantastic bathrooms. The free breakfast is unbeatable... but get there early!! It's not that stuff runs out... it just gets busy. The price was perfect and the staff were amazingly friendly. This is honestly the best hostel i have stayed in. They also have a baggage storage area where they tag your back on checkout if you need to leave it.

Just in case you don't realise there is a $20 refundable deposit upon check in...

Secure, Cheap, Comfortable and Convenient. A Gift to Travelers!!

  • Liked — Everything... the high standards!
  • Disliked — umm... it's not wheelchair accessible.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Insomnimum85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2007

We wanted somewhere central to stay for a few days and this hostel was perfect. The whole building seemed freshly decorated and clean; it had a very welcoming atmosphere. Staff were very friendly, always asking how we were, etc.
We booked a private room, so had a group room to ourselves - 2 bunks and a sink. We did face the cobbled street, and it was a little noisy, but didn't stop us sleeping.
The bathroom looked brand new; very clean, better than many hotel bathrooms.
A big plus was the free breakfasts and evening meals - these were delicious and vegetarians well catered for. Free internet access on several computers was really useful. There were also books and board games to borrow. There was also entertainment on some evenings.
Overall, I would recommend this hostel to any visitor to Seattle.

  • Liked — great atmosphere
  • Disliked — noisy street
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank cosmicgirl1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2007

the best hostel my sister and i have ever stayed in. my sister has traveled to many places in europe and new zealand and she said it was the best. it was very clean, the food was good, and the staff couldn't have been nicer. it is located in a GREAT location. i loved how the bathrooms were single bathrooms and not a bunch of stalls in a communal bathroom. the only bad side is that it is kinda noisy, but you're in a hostel so don't expect privacy. i will definitely come back to this beautiful city and stay at this hostel.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank littleoneLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2006

Yes, they have moved a few blocks over to a nice clean facility. Unfortunately, the management and staff haven't changed. We were able to get a private room this time. The free food was a nice touch and the room was basic and small and a fair deal for $50 in Seattle. The manager, Dan. remembered us from last year and gave us a lot of crap upon check in. His staff were mostly snotty youngsters, who could use a lesson in customer service from the other Seattle hostel. Maybe, I'm expecting too much. As an ex-hostel manager and current travel agent. I try to be fair in my reviews. Again, if you want to have a great time in Seattle. Stay at HI-Seattle. It's very hard to get a private room there, so make sure to book well in advance

  • Liked — Free Breakfast and Dinner
  • Disliked — Mean staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at the other hostel
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Tripnazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podunk, Backwater, MT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2006

Former location, 1525 2nd Ave, was a dump. Present location, 105 Pike St, is a definite improvement. They renovated an older hotel; new carpet, paint, newly tiled bathrooms. Rooms range from 4-8 person dorm rooms + private rooms. Each bunk bed in my ladies-only dorm room had its own reading lamp at the head and personal fan at the foot. My mattress (vinyl covered latex foam rubber) was in good condition. The mattresses rest on plywood over 1x4 slats for good support. The pillow was of standard dimensions but matted flat. My dorm room had a sink and wall mirror. One roommate already there when I checked in, another added after my arrival. They were both considerate; came and went without waking up this old goat. Every down-the-hall bathroom is sqeaky clean, and different from the other bathrooms. Clean and spacious common room with view of Pike Street Market; reading material, free internet access using their computers, no pay phone on premise but can use their extension phone with your calling card. Prices per person = $26-$29/night includes all linens, daily free hot breakfast, free dinner 3 x/week; $20 cash magnetic room key refundable deposit, $1. towel rental charge. BRING coat hangers as there are no hooks in dorm rooms or bathrooms for your clothes and bath towel. BRING small padlock for the huge locker under your bunk. BRING earplugs as the cobblestone street out front makes traffic noisier than usual. BRING appropriate style "luggage" as typical dorm rooms have no furniture other than the bunk beds. Hey, pretend you're camping in a bricks and mortar tent !

  • Liked — The new/clean carpet; solo traveler pp $; you cook free bacon/eggs for yourself w/plentiful breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — The traffic noise thru single pane? windows; lack of hang-up-your-stuff hooks
  • Tips/Secrets — see main text
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank myassesdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2006

This is a great hostel right in the Seattle centre. The rooms were comfortable and the bathroom facilities were good too - newly renovated and clean. There is a little road noise from the cobbled stones if you're on that side, which sometimes disturbs your sleep but isn't too big a deal; guests are usually quite quiet. It's close to Greyhound and good for public transport across Seattle. Great free meals too! 4 PC's for Internet access and Wifi access is useful and free!! Good party atmosphere and highly organised staff make for an excellent stay.

  • Liked — Clean, Good facilities, Well Organised
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bmtaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,623 reviews
Thompson Seattle
#20 of 100 in Seattle
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
2,003 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#21 of 100 in Seattle
2,129 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Tortoise Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Tortoise Hostel

Property: The Green Tortoise Hostel
Address: 105 1/2 Pike St, Seattle, WA 98101-2009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Green Tortoise Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your The Green Tortoise Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Tortoise Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing