We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the BEST hostel experiences ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Tortoise Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the BEST hostel experiences ever!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Bathrooms are clean and plenty of them. And private. Four mixed dorm was pleasant. Spacing was generous so that you don't bother your dorm mates.
Location location location! Easy access to a lot of attractions. And a very short walk to public transit.

Free food is always nice.
This is my go to budget travel for sure for Seattle.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crisaron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    189
    45
    19
    28
See reviews for
22
65
257
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to find something I didn't like: 4 bathrooms/showers per floor? didn't have a problem getting despite a full house. Wi-Fi, hit or miss in my room but could hitch a ride on the next door coffee shack. Everything else 4.5-5 star. Rooms, beds with reading light, personal fan, curtains on a stolid wood/non-noisy bed frame ... great. Free dinners 3 nights a week. Security, location, common room... Highly recommended despite the cost per night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The location is what this hostel is all about. Across the street from the market, with the first Starbucks very close, close to downtown and bus stops to the space needle area.

The rooms are pretty average a little tight but manageable. I like that the beds have curtains around them, sailor style which grants a little privacy. I was a little uncomfortable about the fact there are double beds in the mixed dorms. Sounds a little prudy I know but that is not what I want to hear whilst falling asleep, do what other hostels do and have them in private rooms!

The breakfast and kitchen facilities were average along with the comman room. The bathrooms however were nice, large and clean with no hot water issues and there are lots of them!

Overall Id definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingythethingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed for a few days just before Christmas before going to Vancouver to spend the holiday. The location of this hostel is amazing. It's pretty much across the road from Pike Place market, the original Starbucks, the waterfront and the Hard Rock hotel, as well as being only a block away from a huge Target. The staff were friendly and helpful (hooked me up with discounted tickets to the EMP and suggested places I check out during my stay). I was put in a mixed dorm instead of the all female dorm I requested when I booked but this was no big deal. The beds had curtains the entire way around so I still had my privacy, as well as electric sockets, a fan and a light per bed. Lockers were big enough for me to fit at least 2 suitcases but remember to take your own padlock. I didn't take advantage of the free breakfast but there are free dinners 2-3 times per week that were great. Overall this hostel was well worth the price, especially as the location was so fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Quite a few homeless local people living there, giving it a rotten atmosphere.

I was yelled at by one of their toilet cleaners for not offering him a cigarette ( insaaaaaane!)

A friend of mine who worked there in the kitchen told me, a parcel for me having arrived by mail, was opened by the employees and the content distributed among them.

A lot of bums outside the door will be ready to molest you when ever you go outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
686 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Green Tortoise is right in the middle of the action. Pike's Place is a block away. The beds are fairly cheap and the storage is secure enough. The cost of parking is pretty steep ($20), so it's pretty easy to run up your expenses to the cost of a cheap hotel. What you're paying for ultimately, though, is the location. It's definitely a better value if you are living the Bohemian lifestyle. It's the first place I'd consider on a single-person trip to Seattle.

Room Tip: You will have roommates is you have a group of under 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quintin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Love the smoking room because im in to that sort of thing. Common room for non smokers as well, great meals for free. The beds have a privacy curtain with your own little light for when or if you arent feeling so social. Right across the street from the market which is a very colorful area and tons of great food options! The staff is really awesome as well, letting me stay in a double bed solo after my boyfriend had to return home for work. Awesome hostel in an awesome location!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chardizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
2,648 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,024 reviews
Thompson Seattle
#19 of 101 in Seattle
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Tortoise Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Tortoise Hostel

Property: The Green Tortoise Hostel
Address: 105 1/2 Pike St, Seattle, WA 98101-2009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Green Tortoise Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Green Tortoise Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Tortoise Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing