We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“low class establishment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Tortoise Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Green Tortoise Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“low class establishment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Quite a few homeless local people living there, giving it a rotten atmosphere.

I was yelled at by one of their toilet cleaners for not offering him a cigarette ( insaaaaaane!)

A friend of mine who worked there in the kitchen told me, a parcel for me having arrived by mail, was opened by the employees and the content distributed among them.

A lot of bums outside the door will be ready to molest you when ever you go outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    179
    41
    18
    27
See reviews for
22
61
237
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
483 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Green Tortoise is right in the middle of the action. Pike's Place is a block away. The beds are fairly cheap and the storage is secure enough. The cost of parking is pretty steep ($20), so it's pretty easy to run up your expenses to the cost of a cheap hotel. What you're paying for ultimately, though, is the location. It's definitely a better value if you are living the Bohemian lifestyle. It's the first place I'd consider on a single-person trip to Seattle.

Room Tip: You will have roommates is you have a group of under 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quintin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Love the smoking room because im in to that sort of thing. Common room for non smokers as well, great meals for free. The beds have a privacy curtain with your own little light for when or if you arent feeling so social. Right across the street from the market which is a very colorful area and tons of great food options! The staff is really awesome as well, letting me stay in a double bed solo after my boyfriend had to return home for work. Awesome hostel in an awesome location!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chardizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

have nothing but good to say about this hostel, i mean they have a smoking lounge and were not talking tabacco!!! I have only stayed twice but will be back each time i go south of the border!! Close to both stadiums and right at the Market and the nightlife

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great location, in front of Pike Place Market. The bunk beds have a lamp, a fan and two additional outlets to charge phone, cameras, ipads, etc.). The bunks also had privacy curtains which give little more privacy. On Tuesday night there was free dinner (a delicious pasta!). The wifi was good and the staff are very helpful. I really recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabianomori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I loved how friendly the people working the desk were. They were helpful and nice and didn't seem weird or overly alternative like many other hostels have. The bunks all have a lamp, a fan, and two additional outlets to charge phonea, ereaders etc. They also had privacy curtains which was outstanding! No getting bli ded by the hall light when someone comes in late, and lets face it, a little privacy is nice whem you're sleeping, changing or just trying to relax.
The location wa snext to a Target, across from Hard Rock, a starbucks, an amazing crumpet shop where I always have breakfast on my Seattle trips and across from the famous Pike Place Market. Easy walk to the waterfront as well and an easy bus ride to the Amtrak station.

The downside to this place is the pillow was super flat and basically useless. I got up in the middle of the night to find another one. Seriously, put two pillows on the bed whwn they're that worn out. The pther thing is it wa sa bit chilly and they only give you one blanket and I was unable to find another. The third and last downside was the wifi only works in the common are, so no layinv in bed and checking email or streaming a movie. :( Overall I think it's the best hostel I've stayed in based on the outlets, privacy curtains and location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberalm, Austria
Level Contributor
191 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have chosen the Green Tortoise already for 2 times when visiting Seattle. The very first time we have been in a double room, second time in a 4-people room. When we have been the first time it was nice and comfortable. In the 4 people room it was vey hot and noisy. But never mind - the price was cheap!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquarius82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
Mayflower Park
#23 of 102 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#6 of 102 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Thompson Seattle
#22 of 102 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#5 of 102 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Tortoise Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Tortoise Hostel

Property: The Green Tortoise Hostel
Address: 105 1/2 Pike St, Seattle, WA 98101-2009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Green Tortoise Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your The Green Tortoise Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Tortoise Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing