We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't put your bag in the wrong locker.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Green Tortoise Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Two beds, one on top, one on bottom. Each has a locker assigned to each bed. I accidentally put my bag in the wrong locker and the staff cut my lock...a little extreme in my opinion, they have my cell number, they could have called. Why couldn't they have the other guest put his bag in the other locker and then have us switch once I got back?

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clubandfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for The Green Tortoise Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 541 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at lots of hostels and this is one of the best hands down! Especially
for the US. I don't know what's up with the states, but typically they don't know how to do
hosteling. Mexico, Central America, Europe. They know how to hostel. But this spot was totally an eclectic little gem. They have a massive and well run operation going here. They have free internet terminals and Wi-Fi, free breakfast, and I'm not just talking coffee, bread and jam, like some places, they also serve free dinner three times a week! And again, it's not some thrown together slop, it's actually a full meal that you'll actually want to eat, and you won't be hungry afterwards.The free dinners rotate between "Taco" night or "Pasta" night; both meals are filling, with fresh vegetables, salad, meat and vegetarian sauces, AND it's all you can eat! They ask people to volunteer to help cook the meals as well as clean up afterwards. This didn't seem like a problem, and it's a very communal experience. They also have a full kitchen that guests can use.

The hostel is located across the street from the Pike Place Market and near several restaurants and bars, so if you don't have a car or are relying on public transport, this place is conveniently located. It's close to just about everything in Seattle. It's also a few blocks walk from the Greyhound bus station. The travelers staying here are a mix of folks from all over the globe, all races, ages, etc. Which was cool. I saw a mom and her young daughter staying here, teenagers, folks in their 30s like us, you name it, everyone is welcome and no one is made to feel "out of place," like some hostels. We stayed in a dorm and paid about $52.00 for a shared queen size bed, which isn't a bad price for the states, especially when you take into consideration everything that you get with the price. Single dorm beds go for about $33 a night. The actual dorm beds have some of the best layouts I've ever seen at a hostel! Each bed has privacy curtains, it's own reading light, and fan. You have no idea how handy these three "small" things come in handy. Under each dorm bed is also a huge locker for your things. Just make sure you bring your own lock. Did I mention the lockers are HUGE! There's enough space to fit two human bodies! My wife and I were able to fit both of our massive traveler's backpacks in one unit.

Now I can't wait to stay at its sister hostel in San Francisco. The workers are a wealth of information on the area and everyone is laid back and nice, but not so laid back to where they don't get anything done. The hostel is spotless, the bathrooms and showers are some of the cleanest I've ever seen at a hostel. The property is a huge hotel with nifty things like key cards for the rooms. You can tell it's a newer building. They also have cool activities just about every night; pub crawls, which we partook in. We went to a bar across the street from the hostel, "The Can Can" and where treated to some live music and cheap drinks. Vince Mira plays most Tuesday nights and will rock your world with his passionate renditions of classic Johnny Cash and Hank Williams songs, as well as his own originals. He did the best Johny cash covers I've ever seen. Had a blast. They do free walking tours, they do a a famous dead guy tour; Visiting the graves of Jimmy Hendrix, Bruce Lee and Brandon Lee. I highly recommend this place if you stay in Seattle.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatNicaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

From the ease of check-in to the incredible proximity to Pike's Place and other attractions, this place is always spot on. Free breakfast and several free dinners a week with friendly and knowledgeable staff is the norm and I've never been disappointed. I LOVE this place!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed 2 days in October 2012 in a Double Private Room (shared bathroom). Very convenient location, just across Pike Place Market; 3 Blocks from Westlake Station to take the Light Rail to SEATAC Airport (aprox 1 hour trip - $ 2,75) and 20 Minutes walking distance to King Station (Amtrak to Vancouver). Not one of the best Hostels I stay at: the property needs some renewals, including linen, carpets, etc.
DOUBLE PRIVATE ROOM -when not used like that- seems to be used also as shared room (our Double Private Room had 2 bunks: 1 with 2 Single Beds and 1 with 2 Double Beds).
I recommend it just for a short stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on 3 floor facing 1st Avenue (across Pike Place Market) and was quieter than expected...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EduardoCordobaARG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hostel was definitely a good bang for the buck. It has a "grungy" vibe, very Seattle. Spacious, solid wooden bunks (thus minimizing the shake when you have a bunkmate that cannot lie still or has to go to the bathroom 20 times a night). You get your own reading lamp, your own fan and a privacy curtain (all hostels should have this!) I also peeked at other rooms - they have double-size beds for couples, which is awesome! Bathrooms are nice and spacious, and I never had to wait much more than 5 minutes to have access to the shower. The people who work their are great, very helpful with recommendations or anything at all. Everything was clean, and cleaned every day.

They also offer free breakfast (which includes make your own eggs and pancake, toast, jam, fruits, coffee). Coffee, tea, hot chocolate available round the clock. They also offer free dinners twice a week, and it's a delicious, quality dinner: spaghetti bolognaise with abundant salad, and garlic bread.

One thing that was priceless was their stellar location - right across from Pike Place Market (which was AMAZING), in the heart of downtown and wonderfully close to the waterfront. Easy to get to from bus stations, train station and airport. I walked everywhere (perfectly feasible if you're not too daunted by the hills of Seattle).

The atmosphere is okay... they have a spacious common room filled with people. It can be a bit daunting since everyone's on their computers/laptops or whathaveyou (the downside of technology), but you end up meeting friendly people. The hostel does organize some activities. Take the Free Walking Tour!!!

The place is highly recommended if you don't need any frills and want to be at the heart of the action.

Room Tip: Try to not get a room right off Pike, it can be noisy at night.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dulcamara_014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed in this hostel for a few days while in Seattle and had a good experience. The place is very clean and the people who run it are great workers. What I liked most about this place was the privacy curtains on your bunks. Having your own little private 'space' in a hostel is great. The beds are comfortable and you get your own little fan and reading light. Under the bunks there are large lockers to store your stuff in during the day, but bring your own lock. The breakfasts are nice too. You can grab what you want from the breakfast table (fruit, toast, etc) and even make your own eggs if you want. Make sure you clean up after yourself though - common courtesy. This hostel is in a prime location. Literally right across the street from Pike Place Market. Easy access to buses and the light rail too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndersAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed at Green Tortoise Hostel for PAX Prime 2012.
Hostel is a 5-10 minute walk down the street from the Washington State Convention Center, so it is ideal for PAX.

The Hostel is just up the street from the famous Pike Street Marketplace, so you can explore that and visit the first Starbucks in that area. While at Pike Street be sure to visit the famous gum wall, yes, it is exactly how it sounds.

And while seeing the Gum Wall, check out the comedy club that's right there: the Market Theater, which houses the Unexpected Productions Comedy Troupe. They sell popcorn, snacks, water, sodas and alcoholic beverages at very reasonable prices before & during each show.

The Alibi Room, a bar/restaurant next to the Market theater has Extended happy hours, and a large selection of custom pizzas.

There is a Subway restaurant right across the street in front of the Hostel. they do not have discounted subs of the day though, so be prepared to pay regular/higher prices then what you may be used to depending on what Subways you frequent.

There are several homeless/pan handlers in the area, I was asked for money almost every time I left or entered the Hostel.

The Green Tortoise Hostel offers:
Free wifi! Wifi is strongest in the commons room.

Free breakfast! Breakfast included:
Eggs & pancakes that you make yourself in the kitchen.
Orange juice, guava/passion fruit juice, Coffee, powdered cream, sugar, white bread, wheat bread, toasters for the bread. Butter, Peanut butter, grape jelly, syrup(or might've been honey).
Be sure to grab a plate and cup from the kitchen along with utensils. After you finish your meal you bus your own plates, rinse, scrape clean, and put on the rack next to the sink for the dishwasher.

You can also buy your own food & drinks from the Target store right next to the Hostel. It's target, but in building form! You can store cold things in the community refrigerator at the Hostel kitchen, just be sure to label your stuff.

Gives you a locker beneath your bunk bed for your stuff, big enough to store probably 4 carry on bags or 1 checked bag. Bring your own lock or you can buy one there.

Bathrooms are great and plentiful, so you are never waiting too long to get into one in the morning. Remember to bring your shampoo, soap and shower slippers. You can buy a towel from the Hostel for $5, or rent one for $1.

Sleeping beds are usually twin sized bunk beds, unless you book a bigger bed. Each bed has a privacy curtain you close so the light from the room or other room mates will not bother you when you try to sleep. Each bed also has an electrical outlet next to it, great for charging your phone while you sleep.

Fantastic place for only about $35/night. I stayed there From Wednesday night to Monday morning, 5 nights, and I paid less then the price of one night at the Sheraton right next to PAX which offers no free wifi nor free breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
2,703 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#17 of 102 in Seattle
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 102 in Seattle
2,067 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 102 in Seattle
3,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Tortoise Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Tortoise Hostel

Address: 105 1/2 Pike St, Seattle, WA 98101-2009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Seattle
Price Range: $42 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Green Tortoise Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Green Tortoise Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Tortoise Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing