We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Ranked #23 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Spent one quick night, two rooms, one 2Q and one 1K. Front desk accommodated our request for quite rooms. Room was clean and good Hampton Inn quality. I really like HI's policy of washing comforter covers for each guest.

Hotel charges $15 to park but it is in a secure and covered garage which was nice with the rain. Breakfast was typical HI quality, which I must say I'm not a huge fan if you want something warm but is just fine for the continental stuff like cereal, yogurt, juices, fruit, etc. But the room price is right. It seems like the waffle makers are often on the blink and the batter is a little sweet (confirmed by this location also, but not a big deal).

There is a lot of construction East of this hotel which made traveling from I-5 very difficult when we arrived about 6:00 p.m. on a Friday night. We had no problem getting to downtown on Saturday morning. Decent food options within a block or two (including a grocery store) and the neighborhood seemed o.k for such a walk although we just went across the street to a nice NY Pizza place which also has a good bar.

Room Tip: We got a room on the inside courtyard which reduced the room noise and with my Hilton Honors got a 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retired_early_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptondowntown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We were very happy to hear that we met your needs and you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to earn this again on your next visit to the Seattle area.

Hospitably Yours,

James O'Neal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,683 - 1,689 of 2,034 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times for business. The hotel has a lot going for it, starting with a wonderful staff. Everyone is friendly and professional, and they make you feel at home. Other positives are the location near the Space Needle, the size of the rooms, and the "easy upgrade" to a suite.

Where this hotel loses a star for me is the noise in the rooms. I like a humming hvac system, but in the summer the air conditioning is downright noisy. In addition, there is a lot of noise from other rooms or "in the walls" from plumbing and such. And (this could be easily remedied), there isn't a single towelbar in the bathroom (I've stayed in 5 different rooms and found this to be the case). Vanity size varies from tiny to normal...a tiny vanity with no place to hang a towel is very inconvenient.

Back to the positives....there is a nice selection of food for breakfast: cereal, fruit, muffins and bagels, yogurt, a waffle maker, and a rotating selection of meats, potatoes and eggs. Juice, milk, coffee, tea are all provided. There's plenty of room in the lobby to eat breakfast, or you can bring it back to your room.

There's a small exercise room, and no pool. As mentioned I've stayed here 5 times, so it has definitely worked for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a larger vanity in the bathroom if that matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tfox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptondowntown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We were very happy to hear that we met your needs and you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to earn this again on your next visit to the Seattle area.

Hospitably Yours,

James O'Neal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff bent over backwards for our family memorial. Booked 12 rooms and used their conference room too. The family felt very good about the hotel and staff. It is nice to get eye contact and a hello from all the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptondowntown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We were very happy to hear that we met your needs and you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to earn this again on your next visit to the Seattle area.

Hospitably Yours,

James O'Neal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the PERFECT hotel for celebrating New Years Eve at the Seattle Center. The staff is attentive and friendly, the rooms are great, and it is SO CLOSE to restaurants, QFC, and of course, the Space Needle! The only thing I wish they would improve on is their breakfast choices... but, it is a nice, hot, FREE breakfast. Three years in a row, now, and counting! See you next year, Hampton!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvstayinclose2home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptondowntown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We were very happy to hear that we met your needs and you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to earn this again on your next visit to the Seattle area.

Hospitably Yours,

James O'Neal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This Hampton Inn's hospitality far surpasses many hotels we have stayed at this year. The hotel had great rooms, and our suite was amazing for the price. The location is close to the Space Needle, which has the tram that will take you to City Center, which puts you in walking distance to Pikes or the waterfront. The fitness facility is really lacking, but they do partner with a neighboring hotel and will give you access to theirs. Breakfast is good, and once again staff very helpful.

Room Tip: If you have a family, consider the suites. They have full kitchens, separate bedrooms, and even two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptondowntown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We were very happy to hear that we met your needs and you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to earn this again on your next visit to the Seattle area.

Hospitably Yours,

James O'Neal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip to Seattle recently. The rooms are very nicely maintained, even for Hampton standards. I would stay here again for sure. Here are my pros and cons for the Hampton Downtown Seattle:

Pros
- the staff was extremely welcoming and friendly
- the rooms were super clean and they even added a personal touch by adding who had cleaned the room that day
- the hotel felt new and fresh, from the fixtures in the rooms to the decorations in the lobby
- very short walk to the Space Needle
- I asked to move rooms due to a strange noise and the helped my immediately

Cons
- the layout of the hotel is very strange and one could easily get lost going from one side to another
- the gym was very minimal with only 3 total machines and no weights (but lots of "waits" for the machines!...see what I did there?!)
- was hoping for complimentary upgrade due to status, but they didn't even mention anything

All in all a very pleasant experience at this Hampton.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Split2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptondowntown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We were very happy to hear that we met your needs and you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to earn this again on your next visit to the Seattle area.

Hospitably Yours,

James O'Neal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in a two-room suite. The service is outstanding, but The hotel layout is really odd (feels like it is converted from Motel 6), and you will hear street traffic all night. I could not figure out how to turn on the heater in either room (don't think the thermostat works).

Parking space is very tight, so you better not driving a big SUV.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main street if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptondowntown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We were very happy to hear that we met your needs and you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to earn this again on your next visit to the Seattle area.

Hospitably Yours,

James O'Neal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 104 in Seattle
1,578 reviews
Hilton Seattle
#58 of 104 in Seattle
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown

Address: 700 Fifth Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109-4209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#13 Family Hotel in Seattle
#14 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $126 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown Hotel Seattle
Hampton Inn And Suites Seattle Downtown
Hampton Inn Seattle
Seattle Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing