We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Marco Polo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marco Polo Motel
Ranked #84 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
“Awful.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

When I travel for business I'm easy to please. A clean room where I can shower, sleep and go to the bathroom is all I need. So it takes a lot for me to give a place a bad review.

The good: the guy who checked me in was very, very nice. The toilet, sheets and towels (paper thin) were clean. Free, good wi-fi signal.

The bad: The couch smelled so musty that I put a towel over it before sitting on it. I couldn't close the bathroom window because the latch was broken off. The shower was filthy and didn't drain; I stood ankle deep in water. If you're lucky enough to get the loosely-termed "suite" you can see the downtown skyline off in the distance, just over the adult video store. All of the other rooms look out on the boarded up motel across the street. The vinyl backing was falling off the curtains, which made for interesting light patterns on them in the morning. And a lampshade had these weird, old water stains. I'm only assured by the fact that the stains went all the way around that it wasn't something more ... bodily oriented. Overall the place was just ratty. I really liked the thick, one inch wide border of ancient dust that circumnavigated the entire room, right where the vacuum cleaner can't reach it. Also, the motel can't be blamed for this, but the traffic noise on Hwy. 99 is terribly loud. This is also the first time I've ever seen what can only be described as wilting plastic flowers.

I stayed here once before a couple of years ago in a non-smoking room that smelled like an ashtray. Buzzing refrigerator kept me up all night. Never wanted to stay again, but I didn't make the reservation this time and didn't recognize the name until I drove up to it. At which point my heart sank.

The room was cheap. $59 in Seattle awfully low, but you'll get what you pay for. I didn't give it one star because I've stayed in worse. (Nothing will ever beat that awful stay in the thankfully-now-closed Pacific Motor Inn in Springfield, Oregon!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arveljoffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    32
    35
    11
    12
See reviews for
23
35
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Avoid this place like the plague! We found about 100 small, black ants all over our room. When we brought this to the attention of the manager we were told that we brought the ants with us and they refused to help us. We were not comped and charged the whole $75. The staff is rude, unhelpful and the rooms are disgusting. There were ants carrying food around and we had not even eaten in the room!!! Worst experience EVER.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seattle hotels

Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

The room I was given was excellent. It was spacious, clean and comfortable with good amenities. The bathroom was very good. The reception service was helpful and friendly which was important as I was a newcomer. The WiFi service was good. The staff were super-nice, had a chat with you and helped you with anything that you needed. I had to cancel early and Jonathon (staff member) was wonderful in helping me with that. I wished I could have stayed longer as the room was so good and the service excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

The hotel was a little older, but still clean. They offer coffee and some pastries in the morning. Its about a 5 min walk to the bus which takes about 15 min to get into the city. I had a bicycle with me and made the bike ride from the hotel towards the city which took about 20 or so minutes. If you don't mind taking the bus into the city its a great hotel for the price, if you want to be right in the city I wouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

I had read some good things and some scary things about this place. Upon our arrival, we noted there was a vacant hotel across the street. Itwas covered in graffiti. We had some concerns whether our car would be safe.
The guy working the front desk was freindly and helpful. He was quick with our reservations and had good knowledge of the area. The room we had was clean but smelled a little funky. Lucky it was a nice day and we could open up the windows and let it air out. After that it was tolerable.
The location was close to bus stops and not far the the Fremont district. You could walk there but be advised, the walk back is uphill.
If I find myself in Seattle again and need a cheap place to stay, since no one tagged my car, this will do.

Room Tip: For the best rate, book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosReyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

This is a difficult one to review because the price and location were both right, but each night we stayed there were parties going on until 3 am and we barely slept. I thought the managers might say something, but nothing. I was a bit surprised they were put next to us since there didn't seem to be many people staying in the hotel. IFFFFF there weren't those parties and I was able to sleep at night, I would give it a much higher rating since the price was great, easy access to downtown, but more importantly easy access to Fremont and RoRo BBQ... ;)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thriftytravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Older motel, probably from 60s, but great place to stay if you're looking for a friendly and convenient place to stay in Seattle. Easy drive to downtown. Within walking distance of Fremont neighborhood. Easy to get to I-5. All in all a great place to stay if you want to be in the city and very good rates.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew_cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Fremont
Staybridge Suites Seattle - Fremont
University Motel Suites
#73 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
The College Inn
The College Inn
#93 of 100 in Seattle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Days Inn Seattle Aurora
#86 of 100 in Seattle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Motel

Property: Marco Polo Motel
Address: 4114 Aurora Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98103
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Fremont , Lake Union
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marco Polo Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marco Polo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing