We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay before our cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent stay before our cruise”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews and weren't disappointed. The room was large, clean, modern and comfortable, with two flat screen TVs -- one in the sitting area and one in the bedroom. We had a lot of room to move around. The Aveda bath products were a nice touch.

The location is really nice, with a number of restaurants across the street. We found a chowder place that wasn't too expensive and were able to sit out on the patio (were there during the heat wave).

The breakfast buffet is very comprehensive, with just about everything you can think of. We had more than enough to choose from and enjoyed our start to the day. Everything was well stocked and kept hot when it should be, cold when it should be.

Only complaint was a busy slow elevator, although there were faster ones that take you down into the garage.

Otherwise, a really nice stay just before leaving for our cruise. (a convenient five-minute drive away)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAWriterMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    400
    76
    19
    9
See reviews for
489
434
35
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

This hotel does provide a good $ value for those who need (esp families with children), including free parking and breakfast included. The breakfast itself was decent with scrambled eggs, sausage, and bagels/toast. You can even make your own waffles.

Personally, I was disappointed. It was the hotel I liked the least during our trip to Vancouver-Victoria-Whistler-then Seattle. There is a view of the lake, but not a great one since it was not "picture quality". The location was not central enough for my taste – could not simply walk out the door and be in the central part of town within a block or two (close to shopping and great restaurants. A shuttle was needed into town, which the hotel does provide for free (every 30 mins).

Another inconvenience for us was the lack of an onsite restaurant; important for any hotel not within walking distance of good restaurants. The room also had "tired' decor. The toilet and shower were in a separate small room, but the sink and cabinets were in the hallway of the room right by the door.

NOTE: The hotel is NOT right on the water. There is a highway and docks inbetween your view.

All in all...if you are traveling without children (just you and spouse)...and if you enjoy staying in a central location where you can get out and walk for exercise, with shopping and good restaurants close by...this is not the place for you. I recommend spending a bit more money and staying closer in town - something I wish we had done.

On the other hand, this is a very good value for Seattle for those on a more limited budget or those with children/families.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SojournSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Seattle, Washington this past Fourth of July and stayed at the Silver Cloud Inn on Lake Union. We had a birdseye view of the celebration. With the boats and yachts on Lake Union as a backdrop, the scene was breathtaking.

The Silver Cloud Inn on Lake Union is conveniently located in an area where there are lots of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. So you can choose to go out for dinner and drinks before the start of the celebration. Safe and clean surroundings allow for a leisurely walk after the fireworks display.

As an added charm, the hotel served a full complimentary breakfast buffet the next morning!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDetailsbySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh nc
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Finding a hotel with a spectacular lake view, free parking, Wifi, and breakfast in a major city is a coup. This place has all of those in a nice central location. Easy to get to the sights downtown, out to Freemont or other cool neighborhoods, and onto the highway to explore beyond the city. The staff was most helpful and friendly with our requests to drop the bags before our check-in, and to hold them on our last day in town so they wouldn't be visible in the car as we had a late night flight home. There probably was easy access to public transit, although we didn't use it. My only complaint was that the walking around the lake area in this part of town wasn't quite as peaceful as I would have liked or expected from looking at maps and the hotel's website. But much of that is out of their control. I would certainly stay here again the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt5217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Clean rooms, good service, polite staff. Shuttle is great, if you can get on--very busy when popular teams in town.
Breakfast--hire some more staff, those ladies were running like crazy, never lost their smiles though. Too many people and not enough food. Bad coffee, Especially in lobby, which should not happen in Seattle.
Good Thai place up the road.
Pool was okay, we went every day.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We only stayed one night because we were taking the float plane out of Lake Union at 8am thie next morning. We asked if the shuttle could take us to the float plane( 1 mile away) and they said it was not on their list. They could take us the a restaurant a block and a half from the float plane and then we would have to walk with all of our luggage. Crazy! Luckily we had a great shuttle driver in the morning who said it was a stupid policy and he would be happy to take us. He said he'd have to turn around somewhere anyway and why not in the float plane parking lot.

The beds were also horrible. for the $160 we paid, it was a rip-off. It was worth $89 max. The breakfast wasn't like most buffets such as at the Marriot Residence or Courtyard. I'd chose one of the Marriots if you want to stay by Lake Union.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeUnionManager, Manager at Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the challenges you encountered regarding the shuttle service and the bed comfort. All guest reviews - positive or negative – provide an excellent opportunity for us. Your comments are much appreciated and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We were looking for a motel in Seattle that would be in a convenient location for sightseeing, on a public transit line to avoid need to drive downtown, offer free parking, be near a lot of things to do and be affordable. We found the Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union thanks to all the reviews on Trip Advisor.

We stayed three nights and loved it there. There was a good selection of restaurants in walking distance and we found ourselves pleased with the seafood and chowder at Duke's Chowder House. In fact, we did not even have to use our rental car from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. We could walk a short way to the streetcar which whisked us downtown within a short walk of the Pikes Place Market, Pioneer Square, the ferry docks, the monorail and much more. Seattle is a very big and spread out place with a lot to do. The Inn let us get a feel of life in Seattle as an urban dweller. We shall have to return and spend more time and we will use this inn.

The room was comfortable, hot coffee in lobby upon arrival, nice breakfast in an excellent dining area with a view over Lake Union. We could walk along the piers and sidewalks by the lake just across the street from the inn. The Center for Wooden Boats - a wonderful place to see - was a 10 minute walk by the water. All in all we had a great time. The staff was helpful. The check in process was fast. The inn met our needs.

And, when we departed for Port Edmunds we were already North of Seattle so that was easy. There are a lot of walking trails and parks within a same day's driving distance to the North and East.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two-For-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,077 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 101 in Seattle
1,517 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 101 in Seattle
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Property: Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing