We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice shuttle service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
south carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice shuttle service.”
Reviewed October 18, 2006

DISTANCE
We were in seattle for a conference. The hotel is close to the convention center, it took me 15 minutes to walk there. convention center is 10 minutes far from the market place (walking distance)..so distance is not a big issue. Shuttle service of the hotel was nice, the drivers were very helpful, all we needed to do was to "call and let them know where we were" they came and picked up us. We prefered using the shuttle while going back to the hotel. The shuttle was available between 7am-10pm.

The hotel is 20 minutes far from the space needle (by taxi) at night traffic, so you pay around 12$.

Also, the hotel is very close (4-5minutes walking) to QFC supermarket (fresh food, bakery, drinks...) and close to the other nice little restaurants, like mediterranian food..

BREAKFAST
ok, nothing very special in terms of food - there is tea and coffee service at the lobby almost all day.... nice atmosphere. but again nothing special in terms of food.

ROOMS
very very clean! I really liked it! the bathroom, the beds.. everything was very clean. the pillows and the bed were very comfortable..it was a tiring trip but I had a very good rest! The room has fridge, microwave, cafemachine, and a sink-

COMPUTER
nice internet connection - printer available - but you cannot make change in a word document/powerpoint document on those computers.. they are for very simple uses..

  • Liked — cleanness and comfort and closeness to the seattle university, great place to take a morning walk
  • Disliked — variety at the breakfast - for this price
  • Tips/Secrets — use the shuttle!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank saribeyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    382
    73
    17
    9
See reviews for
473
413
33
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

After reading all the reviews about this hotel I booked it straight away for a weekend stay in Seattle. I was really expecting something wonderful but really the hotel is just ok. It’s nothing special. Breakfast is waffles, bagels, bread and cereal - nothing to get particularly excited about there. The free coffee is handy enough but really who gets that bothered about spending a couple of dollars on coffee during their holidays.

As we discovered Seattle is not one of those cities that is nice to walk around. The hotel actually looks quite near to the Space Needle but when we tried to walk there the route really looks like some sort of demilitarised zone, with no other pedestrians, four lane highways, pavements with weeds growing out of the cracks and rundown businesses. My visions of a nice stroll to downtown Seattle sadly came to nothing. If you don’t have a car don’t stay here, stay downtown.

I spent extra on an upgrade for a view of the lake but the lake is really not that stunning so it’s really not worth spending any extra on that. The shuttle is handy but it’s recommended that you book in advance and if you are downtown you have to wait for them to pick you up. As we preferred to do things on the spur of the moment we ended up getting taxis most of the time (there is a regular city bus service which runs past the hotel but I would definitely not recommend this after dark).

Basically this is just a regular 3 star hotel in a not very nice location. The free internet was handy (especially when we tried to rearrange our flights to see if we could leave Seattle early). The rooms are standard 3 star rooms, absolutely nothing fancy in the way of decoration, however in our upgraded lake view room the bathroom was so small that the sink was in the bedroom and there was no wardrobe - just a space with a rail and some hangers. Reception constantly stank of disinfectant.

I always spend a long time on Trip Advisor booking hotels before I go away and it’s never been wrong – until now. For the money I spent (including the taxis) I’m sure I could have found a deal in a much higher standard 4 star hotel downtown.

  • Liked — free internet
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank MK-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

Well here it goes....my first review ever! My wife, son and I stayed over the weekend and we were all very pleased.

As mentioned in other reviews, the free breakfast, parking and shuttle service add great value to what is already a reasonably priced hotel. We booked online the day of our stay and got an unbelievable deal. When we arrived the assistant manager upgraded us to a king suite on the top floor with a view of the water. The staff were all friendly. The shuttle driver was very proffesional and courteous. The breakfast was quite bountiful for a continental. In short, no complaints.

I would also like to mention the warm atmosphere at Dukes on the waterfront. The food was delicious and the service was terrific.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bengalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

We loved this hotel - it has a very home-like atmosphere which makes it nice when you are traveling or on business. The rooms are a good size, the bed was extremely comfortable, nice framed artwork on the walls. The elevator is on the slow side, as others have mentioned...

The area where breakfast is served is a great place to start your day with the typical buffet breakfast fare (cereal, waffles, yogurt, fruit, boiled eggs, cheese, etc.). If you want to get out of your room to read the paper later in the day or just have a great view of Lake Union and the seaplanes it's a quiet place to unwind.

Instead of using the shuttle I got a map from the front desk and the staff told me the easiest way to get to Pike's Place market. It took about a half hour to get there and was a nice way to see more of the city.

We ate at Chandler's near the hotel one night, sorry we missed happy hour, but had a great dinner.

Also an easy walk to the Space Needle and Experience Music Project. The bar/restaurant at EMP was good food, friendly staff.

Definitely would stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — elevator
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisgene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2006

My elderly parents stayed at the Silver Cloud on a visit to Seattle to visit us. They loved the hotel. Great breakfast, great coffee available all day. Nice view from their room. Attentive staff. They loved the free shuttle and used it to go to Pike Place Market and the Seattle Center. My son used the pool and we watched a Sea Hawks game on the big TV in the lounge. Parking was easy and free for guests. We will recommend the hotel to friends and relatives visiting Seattle.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raincityfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2006

Our stay was absolutely fine - rooms were pleasant enough and very clean, breakfast buffet was typical (waffles, eggs, cereal, fruit), employees were very nice. The shuttle is a definite plus - very convenient both for trips to major areas and surprisingly quick for return trips. We had a room with a water view, but the water view is not really that great - I wouldn't make it a "must have" by any means. My only disappointment was that I love walking around neighborhoods and this hotel's location does not really lend itself to that.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somanyplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

I booked our stay through Seattlesupersaver.com . They are directly affiliated with the Seattle Visitors Bureau so they were pleasant to deal with too (when I didn't get an email confirmation as it was filtered out by my spam blocker I'm guessing). I have stayed there several times and always enjoyed it. The rooms are spacious and clean.
This was the first time we have stayed there on a weekend and a wedding party (not affiliated with the hotel), across the street, had music blaring as we were trying to sleep. After a call to the front desk about the noise we were advised that the music usually doesn't run that late- 11PM and they hoped it would be over soon. We were on the back side of the hotel so the noise would have a lot worse on the lake side, but I will NEVER stay there again on a weekend, so beware.
Their free shuttle service to the Space Needle and the Market and all around downtown is extremely convenient and well run.
And I forgot to mention the free and secure parking was great.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — no opinion
  • Tips/Secrets — none
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 234rhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Property: Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing