We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, Tx
215
Reviewed April 23, 2006

This hotel is a great little find right next to Lake Union. The rooms are extremely spacious with a fireplace, frig and microwave.

The staff is more than accommodating. The fitness and pool area are also very nice.

Will look for another opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,309 - 1,315 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2006

I had a great three-night stay here. I requested a lake view room on the top floor and received it. The room was clean, quiet and well-furnished with a mini fridge and microwave.

The staff were professional and helpful, but not intrusive. Free parking in the gated garage was a nice perk, as was the business center with internet, printers, and fax. The 24-hour mini-store was really convenient for drinks and snacks, and when I looked at my final bill I was pleased to see that they don't gouge you on the prices for water and cookies.

The location is great; close to downtown, Fremont district, UW, and next to the Hutch.

I am a frequent traveler to Seattle and I liked the Silver Cloud so much that I signed up for their rewards program and will be spending all my nights there in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank LooseFooted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2006

The Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union is as good as the reviews appearing here. I planned a romantic getaway with my wife for the last weekend in March 2006. Well, when the baby sitting fell though at the last minute, we ended up going with our two kids aged 5 and 7. It wasn't the trip we had hoped for but it turned out to be a lot of fun.

We had a lake view suite which included a pull-out couch, king sized bed, fridge, microwave and TV in each room. Unlike the last reviewer, I really enjoyed the view of Lake Union. The sunsets and sun rises were well worth it for me.

The pool is great for families. It is bathtub warm and only 3 feet deep at the shallow end (which is pretty important if you are only four feet tall). There is also a whirl pool that was nice for a good hot soak.

The breakfast buffet was very good. We all enjoyed the make-your-own waffels as well as the selection of pastries and yogurts.

One of the best features for us was the free parking at the hotel and the on-demand free shuttle. Lake Union is very close to downtown. So, we were able to leave our car parked all weekend and just hop on the shuttle. They would drop you off where you wanted to go and come and pick you up when you were ready to come back.

The hotel is in a nice neighbourhood. We felt very safe walking at night. Across the street there are a number of very good restaurants right on the lake. We really enjoyed Duke's Chowder house (which was recommended to us by the shuttle driver). It had a kids menu, fast & friendly service, reasonable prices and good food. The noise level was pretty robust which is a real plus with kids.

I have to say that I think I have found my hotel of choice in the Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank DoctorDan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chester, UK
540
Reviewed March 26, 2006

We stayed here for two nights on the recommendation of others on trip advisor. We were very cautious because we were taking our two year old daughter and wanted to ensure that it was suitable. Well, it didnt let us down.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom lake view suit. It was clean, modern and spacious enough. We were suprised by the 42" flat screen tv on the wall when we opened the door!.

There was some road noise at night, not from the main road directly below, but from the free-way behind, but this didnt spoil our much needed sleep.

The pool was fine, clean and towels were available in the pool area.

Like others before, i agree that the lift took ages to arrive at times, which was mildly frustrating!. The courtesy bus was excellent and always available.

A great hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2006

Let me echo all the wonderful reviews of the Silver Cloud Lake Union. First of all, it is all of maybe a mile or two from downtown. Given that they have a FREE shuttle to take you anywhere downtown or vicinity you might want to go - that's really no issue at all. Plus being outside of the downtown grid makes it more peaceful, more quiet, and much less expensive.

The room was comfortable and large for this type of small hotel. The indoor pool, while I did not indulge, seemed very nice and is open 24 hours a day.

There is also a free continental breakfast with, along with the usual stuff, make-your-own waffles, hard boiled eggs, and cheese. It's held in the third floor "view" lobby with a lovely view of the marina and lake.

The "lake view" room is nice, but you are on the opposite side of the street from the lake. So it's not like looking out right over the water. It's over the street, and the marina, then the water. So, in my opinion, it's not really worth the extra price.

The staff was uniformly excellent and helpful. The lobby is lovely with very interesting coffee table books on various places.

I'd say the only "complaint" I had was the one main elevator was very slow. I often had to wait for a few minutes. Although, it's only 7 stories high so I did take the steps a couple of times. There is another set of elevators somewhere, but I didn't take the time to find them.

If you are flying into Seattle, don't take the shuttle service offered at the airport. It was like $28 and stopped at a number of hotels. The hotel offers a town car for $35. For an extra 7 bucks I prefer the private service.

Anyway - stay here when in Seattle and save $$ compared to a downtown hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Traveling_Dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2006

My husband and I stayed here one night and thought this place was lovely. It has a clean modern aesthetic -almost Japanese in style - that produces a soothing effect not unlike a spa. The room was spacious, light and airy, with full amenities. We really enjoyed our stay as brief as it was. We also stayed at The Sorrento which was wonderful as well - although on the completely opposite end of the style spectrum. I probably prefer the old world style of Sorrento, but Silver Cloud is a beautiful hotel with a lot to recommend it. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: July 2005
12  Thank Robin Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2005

My husband was a participant in the Head of the Lake Rowing regatta over the weekend of Nov12-13th. We have visited Seattle many times in the past, as it is my home town, and truly this hotel was the best in this price range. Our room overlooked the lake, view of the Space Needle, and Gasworks Park. We had a hide a bed sofa, and a very comfortable bed that was not hard(!) and the sheets actually stayed tucked in. It was very clean everywhere, from the carpets to the grout in the bathroom. Little things mean alot. The breakfast room was large enough to accomodate the entire Duke womens crew for their pre race meetings, and the staff made sure there was always hot coffe, cocoa, a nice mix of tes and fresh fruit, even after the girls came through. Breakfast was waffles, yogurt, bran muffins, fruit and more-very nice! The van took us all the way downtown exactly when we wanted. I wish there were more of these hotels where we travel to, and we travel often for pleasure. This hotel will be our base for Seattle stays from now on.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Klingonlursa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,175 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 103 in Seattle
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $161 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing