We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Seattle Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel has a very comfortable feel and the rooms were lovely and very clean. We had a suite overlooking Lake Union. Restaurants were within easy walking distance. The staff was professional and very helpful. The free parking and shuttle service are a big plus. We will return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is near many of the biotech and university sites in the area. It is an easy walk and convenient to public transport. Best of all, they have free parking which is hard to find in the area. It is also near great coffee and food. The parking lot can be a bit difficult to maneuver in if you have a large car, but it is manageable. The stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was going to an early morning class at MOHAI. It is a ten minute walk from this hotel.

Transit choices abound. The South Lake Union trolley runs right by the hotel. You can also catch busses to the University District or Downtown practically in front of or across the street from the hotel.

A shuttle runs every half hour to take guests downtown. Certain locations require advance notice with the front desk staff.

The room was spacious, quiet and immaculate. I was given exactly the type of room I asked for. Unlike many rooms, the refrigerator in it is quiet. I am a light sleeper and I appreciated it.

The negatives are that the hotel is maze like. It is easy to get lost.

Also, for reasons I can't fathom, the front desk staff doesn't breathe a word to guests about breakfast on the third floor. The elevator sign said it is a "continental breakfast." In the 21st Century World of Hype, it is amazing that this hotel underplays a full hot meal. It is a far cry from the sugar encrusted danish and fruit loops that pass for a continental breakfast these days. Maybe they just want to keep the crowds down in the breakfast room. However, from what I can see, this strategy isn't working.

One last tip for walkers that the front desk staff is not aware of: You can find a good 24 hour convenience store if you just keep walking toward downtown on Fairview Ave., the street on which the hotel is located. It is called Michael's and it is on the intersection of Fairview and Denny Aves.

This hotel is well-located for those who like to walk or take mass transit to places and events. Staff probably drive to work because they seem blissfully oblivious to these benefits of the hotel's location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is located on the south side of Lake Union. This location is just north of downtown Seattle and convenient to the I5 freeway. Just across the street are a number of upscale restaurants, many with outdoor seating overlooking the lake. Although not within easy walking distance of downtown the hotel offers free shuttle service, both drop off and pick up. The hotel also has secure garage parking at no charge. The rooms are large and feature upscale furnishings, WiFi at no charge and there are other amenities, such as an indoor pool, exercise room, business center and a large lounge area on the third floor with an outdoor patio overlooking Lake Union. A breakfast consisting of a nice selection of hot and cold items is served in the lounge each morning. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side overlook Lake Union and have great views. Rooms on the south side cost a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMS48301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Overall, if there is a better value in hotel lodging in Seattle, I would be exceptionally surprised. The rooms are spacious and clean. The morning breakfast is a quality offering and is light years above what I'm accustomed to receiving at my typical Hampton Inn. The registration desk staff is friendly, helpful, and competent. They seem to make every effort to help regardless of the guest request. Garage parking is secured. The shuttle service to Pike Street Public Market and Pioneer Square was a great feature. As I said, I do not think there is a better combination of quality and value in Seattle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgray2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, it was a great value for what we received, nice big comgy king bed, large 2 person Jacuzzi in room tub, made for great relaxing time.The free shuttle was a real bonus, as we had no vehicle and they took us to some major attrations and from there we were able to walk. The free breakfast is also a reason we chose this hotel, and was very good. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. will choose this hotel again for our next seattle stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COLLEEN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We selected this hotel due to proximity to Kenmore Air (from the map). FYI, Courtyard Marriott is right accross the street.

Anyway, the hotel is simple. Nothing fancy... comfy beds, great shower, free wifi, coffee in the rooms, and a shuttle that does give you a lift to nearby areas. The breakfast? we skipped day two and went to Lola's - which was fabulous.

The front desk was accommodating, the shuttle driver witty, and pretty much everything/everywhere was within walking distance or public transportation.

Beware of the lake front rooms - the road along side the hotel is SUPER busy..... TONS of traffic noise, regardless of what floor you are on (as we inquired about moving) you hear it. So, have a view and listen to the cars.

Anyway, the price was cheaper than many, you don't spend that much time in your room.... and for a nice addition, head over to the Crabhouse for the celebration of 25 years, where the tasty bites are a mear $ .25 each during happy hour.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,174 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 103 in Seattle
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $161 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing