We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice clean hotel, great front end staff, breakfast provided and a shuttle. The hotel is within 10 minutes of Pike Place Market, Pioneer Square and has a lovely view of Lake Union. I would stay there again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the view, choose the Lakeside rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolyat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    396
    76
    18
    9
See reviews for
485
429
34
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed there twice and have made it our go to place to stay in Seattle. The free shuttle van will take you to he market, pioneer square or the space needle. Solid Internet access via wifi or hard wire. Staff are friendly & helpful. Free breakfast is tasty if a bit monotonous. Rooms are clean & comfortable. Plenty of places to eat across the street. All in all a good value.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed twice at this hotel enroute to Vancouver and then while returning. Our rooms were spacious with a very good view of the Lake. The hotel is not walking distance from downtown but the hotel shuttle is an easy ride to most attractions. Couple of nice pubs are in walking vicinity. The staff is very friendly and provides good advice. Because our car would not accommodate all our bags, the manager was very kind to keep the extra bags in storage while we were traveling for 10 days. The buffet breakfast is decent. The hotel also provides complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby 24x7. Only negative is the poor Internet connectivity in the rooms but ok in the lobby.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BhupiJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrhead, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in August, hotel was fully booked. Early check-in was not available, but they allowed us to park our car and take the shuttle downtown, worked wonderfully. We used the shuttle a few times, he even came and picked us up after a baseball game in the height of rush hour traffic. The rooms were spacious, very clean. Front desk staff helpful, the view of Lake Union is worth the extra few dollars per night. The only complaint was the breakfast, the hotel was very busy, but they did not have enough staff working the breakfast room, the staff was run off their feet, there were no clean dishes and the choices and quality of the food served was very dissapointing. We will definately stay here again when we visit Seattle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CF1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you want to be greeted by drivers who are plain rude an know-it-all, enter the room to see the toilet first and lose your way through the labyrinth of corridors -- welcome to Silver Cloud Inn.

Only grace is its proximity to the lake -- but te credit does not really goes to this bogus establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pikuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We live locally and frequently travel to Seattle for the great restaurants there and for special occasions. This is going to be "our" hotel whenever we visit. The hotel has many great things going for it. It's clean, the staff are friendly and professional, and it's not far from downtown. Many rooms have at least a partial view of Lake Union. They have a pool and hot tub. Best of all, it is priced more reasonably than many other hotels in it's class. Seattle's general hotel pricing is really excessive, in our opinion, for families of modest income. Parking in the city is also at least $25-$40 PER night. IMO, the parking costs are insane! With the already high cost of hotels, who often have their own parking garage, it's criminal to charge hotel guests to park a car. The Silver Cloud doesn't charge you for parking or for internet connection, another service which should be free with your room. They also give a few real "extras"....like a free newspaper and a free full hot breakfast with a large selection of food to choose from. AND they offer a free shuttle around town. (Be sure and sign up for your shuttle early or it can be full. It's a very popular service). We park our car when we arrive and don't use it again until we leave town. That relieves a lot of stress of even finding the expensive parking spots in town!! We save at least $80-$90 per night for these services.

On our recent stay, for our anniversary, the hotel surprised us with a bottle of wine and chocolates in our room when we returned from dinner. That was an unexpected nice touch. This is why the Silver Cloud continues to be our choice when staying in Seattle.

Room Tip: If you ask for a view of the lake, they will try to get you one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

On the recommendation of a friend, we spent two weeks at this Inn. It was a great choice. We were in Seattle for the Seattle Opera Ring Cycle Week and got there a week early to explore the City. We are walkers, and this location is about a mile walk to Seattle Center (including McCaw Hall, the Space Needle, great museums, food and activities) in one direction and the University of Washington in the opposite direction.

Nicest amenities were free shuttle running every half-hour to Seattle Center, Pike's Market/Art Museum, Pioneer Square) and free laundry. Free breakfast was fine -- could have used a bit more variety but pretty good considering no restaurant in the hotel. Many neighborhood and lakeside restaurants nearby.

Lake Union itself has paddle-board, boat and kayak rentals, plus two small museums and lots of people-watching. We walked around the entire Lake in a couple of hours. Only blip was major construction around Valley, Mercer St and Aurora (99), scheduled for at least one more year. Still able to walk to Seattle Center on Broad St but used the Shuttle in the evening and during rush hour.

Close and easy access to I-5. Also, free parking for our car, which was handy to visit museums in Tacoma, Everett and at Boeing Field.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remonsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,017 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 101 in Seattle
1,493 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Property: Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing