We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to a Bogus Hotel, Rude Service and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welcome to a Bogus Hotel, Rude Service and Breakfast”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you want to be greeted by drivers who are plain rude an know-it-all, enter the room to see the toilet first and lose your way through the labyrinth of corridors -- welcome to Silver Cloud Inn.

Only grace is its proximity to the lake -- but te credit does not really goes to this bogus establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pikuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    395
    75
    18
    9
See reviews for
485
427
34
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lacey, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We live locally and frequently travel to Seattle for the great restaurants there and for special occasions. This is going to be "our" hotel whenever we visit. The hotel has many great things going for it. It's clean, the staff are friendly and professional, and it's not far from downtown. Many rooms have at least a partial view of Lake Union. They have a pool and hot tub. Best of all, it is priced more reasonably than many other hotels in it's class. Seattle's general hotel pricing is really excessive, in our opinion, for families of modest income. Parking in the city is also at least $25-$40 PER night. IMO, the parking costs are insane! With the already high cost of hotels, who often have their own parking garage, it's criminal to charge hotel guests to park a car. The Silver Cloud doesn't charge you for parking or for internet connection, another service which should be free with your room. They also give a few real "extras"....like a free newspaper and a free full hot breakfast with a large selection of food to choose from. AND they offer a free shuttle around town. (Be sure and sign up for your shuttle early or it can be full. It's a very popular service). We park our car when we arrive and don't use it again until we leave town. That relieves a lot of stress of even finding the expensive parking spots in town!! We save at least $80-$90 per night for these services.

On our recent stay, for our anniversary, the hotel surprised us with a bottle of wine and chocolates in our room when we returned from dinner. That was an unexpected nice touch. This is why the Silver Cloud continues to be our choice when staying in Seattle.

Room Tip: If you ask for a view of the lake, they will try to get you one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

On the recommendation of a friend, we spent two weeks at this Inn. It was a great choice. We were in Seattle for the Seattle Opera Ring Cycle Week and got there a week early to explore the City. We are walkers, and this location is about a mile walk to Seattle Center (including McCaw Hall, the Space Needle, great museums, food and activities) in one direction and the University of Washington in the opposite direction.

Nicest amenities were free shuttle running every half-hour to Seattle Center, Pike's Market/Art Museum, Pioneer Square) and free laundry. Free breakfast was fine -- could have used a bit more variety but pretty good considering no restaurant in the hotel. Many neighborhood and lakeside restaurants nearby.

Lake Union itself has paddle-board, boat and kayak rentals, plus two small museums and lots of people-watching. We walked around the entire Lake in a couple of hours. Only blip was major construction around Valley, Mercer St and Aurora (99), scheduled for at least one more year. Still able to walk to Seattle Center on Broad St but used the Shuttle in the evening and during rush hour.

Close and easy access to I-5. Also, free parking for our car, which was handy to visit museums in Tacoma, Everett and at Boeing Field.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remonsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I chose this Silver Cloud based on trip advisor reviews. I'm glad I did. The hotel is right across the street from Lake Union with beautiful views of both the lake and the Space Needle. There is complimentary laundry on every floor (one washer/dryer). The breakfast was a hit with my kids.

The hotel has a complimentary shuttle that gets to the Space Needle, Pioneer Square and Pike Place Market. It leaves from the hotel abut every 30 minutes. They will pick you up at the same spots whenever you call. Great service!

The space needle is easily walkable from the hotel. At the time of our visit, there was a lot of road construction which meant some closed sidewalks.

The hotel is very clean. The beds are comfortable. My only gripe was the early morning sound of the sea planes taking off from Lake Union. That same thing was my son's favorite part of the hotel however!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertdad67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Silver Cloud Lake Union is a great hotel with fantastic amenities for the price range. I booked a room with double beds and it was clean, roomy and comfortable. The only weird part was that the bathroom door opened inward but the light switch was on the other side of the door so you had to go all the way in and close the door before turning on the light. There was a well appointed fitness room and the inclusive breakfast was good. It's not fancy but pretty good for what it is. They also have a free shuttle to downtown and if that doesn't suit your timing, then there is a street car a couple of blocks away that takes you downtown. There is also free parking which is a plus as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyfeet54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talent, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We picked this hotel primarily because of price. I had been looking for something in the downtown area that was reasonably priced, which is a trick in Seattle.

The location is nice - right across the street from Lake Union. The front desk staff was very pleasant and efficient. The breakfast that is provided is standard hotel free breakfast fare, but the dining room is nice and has outdoor seating available.

We opted for a suite. The room was nice, but the layout was a bit strange. The door to the room was in the bathroom area. Next was the bedroom, and then the living room. It was impossible to exit the room without disturbing my sleeping wife if I woke earlier than she did. Our room did have two air conditioners, one in the bedroom and one in the living room due to it being a corner room.

Some air conditioning in the hallways would be a nice addition.

Given Seattle's traffic, it was nice that the hotel had a shuttle van. It would drop or pick up at three locations - the Space Needle, Pick Place and Pioneer Square. It runs every half hour (except during afternoon rush hour), which worked well for us.

It was nice to be able to park the car and use the shuttle. The parking garage was not very well planned by the building's designer. If you park on the lower level, you have to exit the garage and walk across its entrance to get to the main elevators. The entrance to the second level garage would probably be easily maneuverable by a Smart Car, but for anything bigger the turns are tight unless you swing way wide. But, parking is free for hotel guests, which is rare in the downtown area of Seattle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kolohe280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was my 4th stay at a Silver cloud property and \the 2nd time at Lake union. Rooms are well maintained and hotel amenities are good.

I am a outside US traveller and I usually make my payments on traveller card. But at the time of check in I am asked for a credit card for identification, but I mention that I'd be making the bill payment from a different card. This has worked fine the last 10+ years of overseas travel to NA and Europe. I left the same instructions at the time of check in. But I was told that my credit card on record was charged for the bill amount. The staff reversed the amount later after I pointed to the instructions I left at the time of check in. But the debit and credit back of the same USD amount left me poorer by about $125+ poorer for currency exchange charges.
I checked with Visa / bank partner .. and they indicated that the charges are incurred once the Merchant confirms the payment.

Room Tip: Overseas travellers be cautious if you want to use forex card for payments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kartr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 101 in Seattle
3,014 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 101 in Seattle
1,493 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Property: Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing