We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Extra clean, simple and unassuming. Hats and shoes off!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extra clean, simple and unassuming. Hats and shoes off!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

An extra clean and simple hotel. Casual with a free-flowing feel with great style. Very West Coast I would say.

Pros: Clean, free shuttle to/from Downtown Seattle, free wiFi and gated parking, concealed mini fridge and microwave in room.Indoor pool open 24 hrs.
Cons: No room safe, hard to find

My family (wife and 2 young daughters) stayed for 2 nights. Coming from Vancouver we wanted to spend a couple of says in Seattle for a weekend visit. We already had stayed at the Mukilteo Silver Cloud Inn so we didn't think twice when it was time to book.
I have to say that this is probably one of the very few hotels I've stayed in where we've felt compelled to take our shoes off instinctively just like home without even thinking it. Carpet looked brand new and really thick. Extra point!
Room was simple and unassuming but it looked like it was carefully decorated. It had a great thing that it had a mini fridge and a microwave inside the TV cabinet. Plenty of stationary and pens (if you have young kids you know how useful this is!).
Had a sink outside bathroom as well as inside. Average bathtub and Aveda brand toiletries. Have to say that the bathroom too looked like it was deeply cleaned.
Balcony window was a double door that opened in full swing.
The hotel has a gated parking just like the type that new high rises have. You have to wave your room key in front of a sensor to open the overhead gate. Parking garage is big. We never found ourselves out of a parking spot.
Has an indoor pool that is open 24 hours. Even though the water was definitely not warm for me , neither my 7 or my 4 year old's seemed to care. Pool area also has a hot tub which was a nice thing after an almost polar swim of 45 minutes with my little ducklings.
Hotel staff were very courteous and nice. They were always accommodating to our needs.
The hotel has a shuttle service to/from Downtown Seattle. They have several drop off points (space needle, Pike's Market etc..) which is extremely useful if you're visiting Seattle.
The hotel sits in a strip just across a marina parallel to the I5 and is not very easy to find if you're not from the area or you find yourself without a GPS.
All in all The Silvercloud chain is ALWAYS a guarantee if you're looking for something a simple and inexpensive but with lots of style and first class customer service.

Short and sweet: This is like a 4 star hotel who graduated from finishing school.

4+ smile hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    353
    65
    16
    9
See reviews for
434
371
29
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was working in Seattle, I opted for the Suite, it was roomy and fit my needs perfectly. the view was nice too. I slept well. My one complaint is that it was hard to find an outlet to charge my electronic devices. I also would have thought that USB chargers would be an industry standard by now. My previous hotels have had them. I would certainly stay with them in the future. The front desk was very kind, courteous and pro active.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Silver Cloud Lake Union was my home away from home for several weeks. The rooms are not fancy, but extremely clean and quiet. The layout works well for the recreational as well as business traveler. The staff are very helpful, and the shuttle is a wonderful benefit.

The daily morning breakfast and Tueday evening social are nice benefits.

The workout room is nicely laid out, roomy and all the equipment was in great working order.

Room Tip: They have suites and even rooms with fireplaces. Rooms on the front side of the building are quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxforfunxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent two nights at the Silver Cloud on Lake Union and both nights were quiet and peaceful. Our room was just steps from the elevator, so we weren't sure what to expect as far as noise goes, but the walls must be very well insulated since we could hardly hear any hallway noise at all. The room was very clean and that's saying a lot since I'm a clean freak and very phobic about cleaniless. Sometimes I feel the need to do a little cleaning myself before feeling comfortable in a hotel room, but our room at the Silver Cloud was already clean and comfortable. It was roomier than a lot of hotel rooms too. We had two queen beds, but had plenty of room to spread out the luggage and groceries that the three of us brought. We were also pleasantly surprised by the little bar sink near the fridge and microwave - this made it so convenient to prepare food and make coffee and tea, etc. It was so nice not to have to use the bathroom sink for these purposes. The fridge did not have a freezer in it, so that was a drawback as we had re-freezable ice packs with us for our ice chest. But, luckily we had gallon zipper bags packed with us and we just filled those with ice from the vending area for our travels upon checking out. The vanity area of our room was plenty big for getting ready, but it was located so close to the beds that it was disturbing to those who were still sleeping while I was getting ready in the morning. I prefer the vanity area to either be located inside the bathroom with the shower or at least farther away from the beds or separated by a partition wall. The one major downer of our stay at the Silver Cloud Lake Union was the pool area. The chlorine fumes were so strong in the area that most guests tried to prop open the door when they could or tried to open the windows (that were actually screwed shut - rightfully so since they were at ground level and should be secure). More ventillation would have been welcome though. Both the pool and hot tub were way over-chlorinated. When the jets were on in the hot tub the bubbles they made would pop and spray chlorine into the eyes of anyone sitting nearby. It was so bad that on our second night we begged every guest who joined us in the hot tub to leave the jets off just so our eyes wouldn't burn. After a few minutes with the jets on, everyone agreed that turning them off was the key to being able to comfortably stay in the hot tub. Other than the chlorine, our stay was great. The breakfast was nice, but it was hard to find gluten-free (and healthy) items for myself. There were eggs and sausage each morning, but those are so high in fat and chlorestrol. Good thing I had packed my own fat-free yogurt and gluten-free cereal since coffee and tea were the only breakfast buffet items I was able to enjoy. My daughter and husband appreciated the other breakfast items (especially the waffles and muffins). Oh, and the hotel parking garage included in the room rate was a huge perk for us - secure overnight parking off the street in Seattle is a must. There aren't many budget-and-family-friendly places to eat near the hotel, so be prepared to drive a ways to find something.

Room Tip: If all of the rooms are as well insulated as ours was, they should all be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SleeplessMom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

spent a few days here on a rainy spring break vacation. we have elementary school age kids. the hotel was perfect for us. shuttle to downtown seattle for attractions. free parking. nice pool. good breakfast in a beautiful room overlooking the lake. my daughter and I spent a rainy afternoon in the atrium of breakfast room playing cards- might have been my favorite part of the vacation. beds were comfy, we had a king suite on the 7th floor, not a lake view room, but still an acceptable view. the suite had a sliding door in between the bedroom part and the living area, very nice to put the kids to bed earlier. the sofa in the living room made into a bed. had a microwave and small fridge, provided silverware and dishes in the room. service was good, we needed an extra pillow and was brought up promptly. easy walking distance to the new museum of history and industry- dont miss it.
we would and will stay here again.
only warning is that there were lots of kids in the hotel over spring break, some of the people who were there without kids did not look impressed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mommysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum City, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our room was spotless, and I mean very clean! The beds were comfortable and we had an enjoyable stay. Thecomplimentary breakfast is in a nice cozy room away from the lobby and it's a delicious, hot breakfast. I loved the quiche! While all of this is good, I can't forget to mention how friendly and ultra helpful the staff members are to their visitors. They truly go the extra mile. I recommend using their free shuttle service. We used this several times to get to places downtown and we did not need to pay for parking. They are reasonably prompt with their pick up times too. Their shuttle drivers are also very courteous and entertaining. I highly recommend this place to stay while you are in Seattle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We got this hotel through hotwire.com - When you book Hotwire, you take your chances. And I have to say we were VERY LUCKY!

It's not the Ritz Carlton, but for the price you pay, it is a TREMENDOUS value...and I would certainly recommend this place to friends and family!

The rooms were comfortable, spacious, clean. Aveda bath products provided.
Secure parking garage with roomkey only access was plentiful and FREE!
Breakfast with eggs, sausage, waffles, cereals, muffins, fruit, juices, coffee etc. was in a comfortable room with sofas and coffee tables, and plenty of seating with views of the water..and it was FREE!
Shuttle service to space needle, pike's market, pioneer square, etc. was FREE!
Walking distance to nice restaurants, view of water with yachts.

The front desk staff was speedy, knowledgable, and informative, with maps, schedules, restaurant recommendations.

We did not utilize the fitness room or pool but I believe they were open 24 hours a day. Nice feature! The shuttle was full a few times (so reserve in advance even though it runs every 30 minutes I think), so we took a taxi a couple times which was less than $7.00 to go downtown.

I would definitely stay there again even at a non-discounted price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
1.3 mi away
Silver Cloud Hotel - Seattle Broadway
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
1.5 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 stars 2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,469 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
1.7 mi away
Hotel 1000
Hotel 1000
#11 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Property: Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing