We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Top Choice.”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Silver Cloud at Lake Union is an excellent hotel for leisure travelers and very good for business folks. It is on the northern edge of downtown Seattle, a little too far from the CBD to walk to a meeting, but close enough to be convenient to the entertainment areas. Seattle Centre is an easy walk. Walking in Seattle has never felt unsafe. The location makes the Silver Cloud feel a little less harried than other hotels right in the core. We've seen a couple reviews mention that dining is hard to find in the hotel's neighbourhood. Not true. There at least 7-8 restaurants within a 10 minute walk. Most of them across the street from the Cloud, on the lake shore.

The front desk staff are almost always welcoming and enthusiastic. Occasionally though, the check-in crew will turn a little less welcoming when the room has been booked through Priceline or one of the other discount sites. Upgrading to a lake view room when a booking is done outside the Silver Cloud system can be a challenge.

A lot of good stuff is included in your room rate; 24 hour indoor pool/hot tub, shuttle to or from different spots downtown (take it to the baseball/football/soccer game and walk back along the water), a decent breakfast in a nice room, and free parking. This may be the only hotel in downtown Seattle that charges less than $25 a night for parking.

The rooms are large, with a fridge, desk and a great television. Everything is always spotlessly clean throughout the property. Aveda products in the bathroom. The lake view rooms with 2 queens come with Juliet balconies but the king rooms do not.

You are not likely to be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: Double queen view rooms have Juliet balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank protravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    399
    76
    19
    9
See reviews for
489
433
34
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a small chain of hotels in the Seattle area. We reserved a room for the weekend at the recommendation of an associate we were visiting. Great value for the money. The room was spacious and comfortable, the staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast was one of the best we have had in a hotel. There is no restaurant, but the hotel is within easy walking distance to a number of fine restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We love you guys. The service was perfect. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and made us feel special. We took her advice to ck out down town and have some fun. It was wonderful and our room was a perfect with a beautiful view of the lake. The sail boats playing on the water that day was an added bonus to our room view. The breakfast was wonderful too. Something for everyone. We will be back as soon as we can fit into our plans!
Thank You Very Much!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancovuer BC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

A good middle of the road Inn just off the shore of Lake Union in North Seattle. Complimentary Shuttle made trips to downtown very easy. The rooms were clean, the complimentary breakfast was basic but you could fill up as it is a buffet. The space available for breakfast was a little crowded, but with reasonably fast turnover it was not a major issue. Staff were very helpful, always cheerful and efficient at their work. Short walk to Joeys' that was a great place to eat. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2012

A little off the beaten track but so worth it. Large, clean rooms, an exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, complimentary internet and breakfast and free parking. Oh and then there's the free shuttle to key downtown areas. I have stayed here each time I go to Seattle and will do so again.

The desk staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants and providing good directions when we chose to use the car. The shuttle drivers will go beyond the set route when they are not busy. One night they even took us to an area restaurant...and picked us up afterwords.

Amenities: No restaurant or bar on premises, but several across the street. A buffet breakfast with decent choices is offered every morning. There is a small indoor pool and coin operated laundry facilities on alternate floors.

The bathroom is decent size and there is a second sink just outside of the bathroom... Travelling with my sister...this came in really handy. We each had our own area and plenty of room for all of our "stuff". Decent lighting at the mirrors too.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodquack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Super easy access off I5 if heading south from Vancouver, BC. GREAT view of Lake Union (WHY stay on the south side I say) clean rooms, comfortable beds - nice restaurants close by AND free parking, free shuttle van with the friendliest drivers... a pool a small but complimentary breakfast - seriously - a great place to stay. I have travelled here for business AND with family and was never disappointed. In fact, during our last stay - my son left his camera on the shuttle van. We did not discover this until we hit our next destination. We called the hotel in a panic - and sure enough! The van driver had turned it in.
The rooms overlooking the lake were of concern on my first stay as the hotel does look across a busy street to the lake - however we were pleasantly surprised to find that the windows are extremely well insulated - and our sleep was not affected. It is an interesting, working dock view of the lake - which we quite enjoyed... watch the yachts, the float planes - just great.

Room Tip: As everyone has said - higher floors - facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwiththeboys23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Not right in the centre of everything and because of this I think it is rather expensive for what it is. Nice comfy rooms though, very large and clean, but breakfast nothing to write home about. They do however offer a shuttle every half hour into downtown and to the space needle so that is really great.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miniperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,070 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 101 in Seattle
1,514 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Property: Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing