We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Extremely Convenient, Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cloud Inn - University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn - University
Ranked #42 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles California, Chatsworth
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Extremely Convenient, Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

While attending an ASC University Student Steel Bridge competition we decided to get a hotel close to the University of Washington where the competition was being held. This trip was to be a combination of business and pleasure and this hotel fit the bill perfectly. the staff was very courteous and always welcoming when you came through the door. The rooms were well appointed and we had a mini suite to boot. The second TV with one in the bedroom and one in the living room space was well received. The close proximity of the hotel to the university allowed us to walk to events though we had a rental car for longer excursions.

The breakfast was typical fare with cereal, eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit and an assortment of breads. Two types of juice were offered apple and orange. The coffee was not too good and considering they are in Seattle and this is a coffee city it needs to pick up in quality to go with the hotel.

Overall it was a good stay and we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 407 top floor near the elevator. This room had easy access and there was a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank powdercoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    138
    33
    12
    3
See reviews for
148
58
24
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while my daughter and I were here for her surgery at Seattle Children's. everybody here was super helpful and the rooms are super comfortable. It made our before and after surgery easy. They turned what could have been super stressful a lot less so.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderinDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Recently we were privileged to stay at the University Silver Cloud Inn. The occasion was an early morning appointment at the University of Washington Medical Center. We chose to stay in Seattle near the hospital and forego the agony of Seattle "rush hour" traffic. It was a good call as the 6:30 AM hot breakfast (scrambled eggs , sausages, waffles, pastries and fruit) was available before the 7 AM shuttle departed. We had reserved the shuttle when checking in the night before. It was totally efficient, saved us parking garage charges and was easily summoned when the medical procedure was finished..
Our room, actually a suite, was divided into two sections and could have slept four as there was a comfortable hide-a-bed and club chair in the middle section with a sliding door for privacy. The adjoining room contained a king bed and am armoire. Each section had a big screen television. Other desirable features were a separate vanity, a desk, and wet bar unit which also contained a coffee maker, (ceramic mugs) refrigerator and microwave. The interior was relaxing and tastefully decorated in a muted green and brown color scheme.
There is no extra charge for parking and there are several good restaurant choices directly across the street. The morning newspaper was a plus which we caried with us to the hospital. Add a friendly, welcoming staff and shuttle driver and we will definitely return..

Room Tip: I would be surprised if there would be an undesirable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a family event, and bought the room through hotwire. When we arrived very late, we were greeted by a cheerful and helpful member of staff who was very welcoming.

The amenities were very good value for us: shuttle, free parking, free breakfast, location, and these didn't let us down at all. Although parking was a little tight, they were helpful and accommodating. The breakfast included sausages, waffles, and eggs, and was generally as good or better than the usual. The breakfast room was well stocked and maintained, and very comfortable. We didn't use the pool/gym but they looked quite good. The room was clean and quiet, although I would have appreciated more variety/firmer pillows. The Aveda products were a very pleasant surprise.

The only challenge we had was that the first staff member we dealt with at check out were not able to give us helpful driving directions on how to drive to downtown while avoiding the multiple detours/temporary road blocks that were in place due to some sort of race as well as construction. After some back and forth, another staff member was able to help clarify, which was excellent, but it was strange that the question seemed so surprising given it was a big weekend for out of towners.

Overall, we were very pleased and will happily return.

Room Tip: To be close to your car, rooms at the back might be more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
423 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a nice hotel. The room has pretty much everything you'd expect in a 4-star venue: an in-room safe, a small refrigerator, a microwave, a coffee maker with a carafe and two mugs (not foam cups) and packages of great coffee, an iron and ironing board, a work desk and chair, an upholstered chair and ottoman, and a chest of drawers on top of which sat a large (46 inch) HD TV, high-class bathroom toiletries and towels, a heat lamp and vent in the bathroom. Everywhere I looked with a critical eye the venue acquitted itself: clean, well maintained and new. The word NEAT came to my mind several times.
The breakfast area is large and well supplied with many tables and chairs. The offerings are well done with many selections including several kinds of apples (no red delicious only) and yogurts etc.
We did not try the enclosed swimming pool next to the breakfast area but it looked great. In the morning we found the local Seattle newspaper hung on the door knob. So, the hotel did not have bathrobes and slippers but had everything else.
If we visit Seattle again our choice without debate will be this hotel. NEAT!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatliturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed at the Silver Cloud Inn University for one night over the weekend for a quick trip to Seattle to visit family living nearby. The Inn is a very comfortable and a homey place, nicely located near the University. I'll be returning to Seattle and plan to stay at the Silver Cloud Inn again. Here's why:

Pros: Good value for the money. I paid $169 plus tax and had a spacious room with a king bed, sofa, small dining/desk area and a "kitchenette"--sink, microwave, and small fridge with a freezer as well as a coffee maker. Room 340, quiet and private, bed was comfortable. Nice Aveda bath products in the room.

Breakfast is included. It was more than adequate and better than most value priced hotels. Hot sausages, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, make-your-own-waffles, a selections of breads, muffins, bagels, juice and coffee. Roomy and comfortable eating area with newspapers available.

Free Shuttle. The shuttle runs most of the day and will drop you off and pick you up within a 3 mile radius. Just reserve ahead to make sure it's available.

Staff was very helpful. Everyone who worked there was personable and professional. I knew I'd be arriving early and requested early check-in; staff worked to ensure that my room was availabe with only a short wait. Jason, the assistant manager, kindly helped me with information on how to get to the hotel from the airport. He reserved a car for me that picked me up and dropped me off for the same price as a taxi, $50 one way: United Town Car Services, 206-228-6526, ask for Ismail, the owner--great guy. (The Seattle train travels from the airport and ends in the center of Seattle--it does not go to the University district. Airport Shuttle will bring you to the hotel but runs every hour; costs about $19 one way plus tax and tip.) Because of my limited time in the city, I opted to splurge on the car service.

There is an indoor pool and fitness room which looked fine but I did not have time to use.

Location: Within walking distance are many banks/ATMs, restaurants and an upscale shopping center, University Village.

Cons? Not any really. Guests stay there because of its location near the University and hospital. I was visiting family nearby. Probably not the place to stay if you need to be in downtown Seattle unless you have a car or want to negotiate the bus.

Looking forward to my next visit to Seattle and staying in the Silver Cloud Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidsweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

There are a few primary reasons I keep coming back to this Seattle hotel. The staff is helpful and professional. It is within walking distance from UW and a 15-minute drive (I-5 traffic permitting...) from downtown and Children's Hospital. It is also within walking distance or a short drive from three grocery stores (QFC, Safeway, Whole Foods), and the University Village shopping/dining area. For runners/walkers/cyclists, the hotel backs the fantastic Burke-Gilman Trail and is just 10 minutes from Greenlake. I also appreciate the complimentary parking, internet, and decent breakfast. The rooms are simple, clean, and relatively quiet.

Room Tip: There isn't a significant amount of traffic noise at this hotel, but the further away from 25th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Residence Inn Seattle University District
University District
Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fremont
Staybridge Suites Seattle - Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn - University

Property: Silver Cloud Inn - University
Address: 5036 25th Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Seattle
#28 Business Hotel in Seattle
#45 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn - University 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just one mile from the heart of the bustling University of Washington main campus and the renown Seattle Children's Hospital, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - University District is only two blocks away from the award winning, upscale University Village shopping center, which features many fine restaurants and unique shops. Each of the guestrooms and suites have complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, and refrigerators. Our complimentary Silver Cloud Breakfast is offered daily in addition to our newly expanded fitness and business centers in addition to local area shuttles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - University Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel University
Silver Cloud University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing