We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
University Motel Suites
Ranked #72 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed May 21, 2008

I stayed here with my teenage sons. The suite is very spacious and well equipped. Shops are 2 minutes walk away in quiet suburb of Seattle. The staff were friendly and helpful. Next time I stay there I'll request not to be near the laundry though, as the smell was a bit strong sometimes. This hotel is very well situated - only a few minutes off the main freeway.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 81 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2006

Clean, convenient, quiet, everything in the suite works.

Basically an apartment building run as a hotel. The suites cost less than you would pay for an average hotel room (I paid $81 on the Fourth of July weekend).

The colours and appliances would all have been chic forty years ago, but everything worked just fine.

I rattled around in my unit; this place would be great for a group of people or somebody staying a while. It's very well equipped.

People who live in tony suburbs might find the neighbourhood a little gritty, but my friends and I thought it was great. A real urban vibe. Tons of restaurants, coffee shops, and brew pubs on the University Drive strip nearby.

I'd go back anytime. My only fear is that the area is gentrifying and this building may not be around forever.

7  Thank kalamalkared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

Synopsis:
Rates: Easily 1/3 less than anything else in town
Rooms: Enormous (they are all converted apartments) with complete kitchens
Location: Quiet, less than five minutes from I-5, walking distance to several movie theatres and two grocery stores
Caveats: There are two other hotels with University in their name nearby, both much more expensive. The website here is [--]

Full Details:
From the outside the property looks like the vintage 1960's/70's apartment building it once was. . .the entry hallway is equally unprepossessing, with slightly faded carpet and a color scheme that runs to harvest-gold and avocado green with the kind of paneling you associate with your old rumpus room.

When you walk into your room, however, you realize what a fantastic bargain this place is. Each room is, literally, an apartment, with a full kitchen completely stocked with utensils and equipment, a large dining area, spacious living room and a bedroom with enough closet space for a family of four.

The bathroom in my place had brown and green linoleum and lime green ceramics, but it was spotlessly clean and everything worked perfectly.

The beds are great and the walls have the original artwork--you'll see what I mean. It's comfortable, quiet, and if you order a suite you'll have enough room for four people.

The location is perfect: you are two blocks from a Safeway and across the street from a large drugstore, but are on a quiet side street with little traffic. The entire University District is just four blocks away, and you can be on I-5 in less than five minutes.

This is perfect for a longer stay, of course, but since the rates are easily $20 to $40 less per night than other hotels in town, it is a bargain for anyone. You will pay less than anywhere else, but you will get MUCH more.

Stayed: June 2006
6  Thank kenai_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
218
Reviewed May 23, 2006

I recently went on vacation to Seattle last week and stayed at the University Hotel, which I book on Expedia for $129/night. The University Hotel was surprisingly a lot nicer than I thought it was going to be and the hotel staff were very friendly and professional. We checked in at around 1 a.m. and the front desk staff was surprisingly very pleasant at such a late hour. The decor reminded me a lot of what you would find in a Kimpton Hotel and had a boutique feel. Unfortunately the location is not all that great if you do not have a car with you and want to be in downtown Seattle; although the drive is only about 5 minutes. There is however a bus stop a block away you can take downtown. Also another great thing about the University Hotel is that they have a binder filled with take-out menus, from which you can order from local eateries and have it delivered to your room to satisfy whatever cuisine you crave.

I would definitely recommend the University Hotel for the great rate I got, which I think is a lot nicer than a hotel you would get at $129/night in downtown Seattle. The rooms were very comfortable and clean with a boutique feel; they also come with a refridgerator and microwave.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
Thank ThaiseSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrispdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
The College Inn
The College Inn
#94 of 104 in Seattle
99 reviews
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
University District
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 104 in Seattle
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Motel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Motel Suites

Address: 4731 12th Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4401 (Formerly University Hotel)
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $96 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — University Motel Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your University Motel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing