We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable Holiday Inn Express, but not for light sleepers...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Ranked #68 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Reliable Holiday Inn Express, but not for light sleepers...”
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We (2 adults and 1 baby) stayed here for a week and found things to be generally fine. I had booked a room at the back of the hotel given that the road at the front is really busy – the downside of this is that you get a view of the Holiday Inn on the other side of the alley out the back, rather than the Space Needle, but this isn’t such a big deal. However, as mentioned by others, there seem to be trucks going down the road at the back of the hotel in the early hours of the morning which woke us up a couple of times.

I would describe the location of the hotel as being just beyond the edge of downtown – it is close to the Seattle Centre/Space Needle and quite easy to walk into the city centre in about 20 minutes and it isn’t far from the edge of the “free ride” bus zone. A tip for others staying here is that the route 99 bus is free all day (not just peak hours) and is also free along the length of its route rather than just in the “free ride” area – it goes past many of the sights and isn’t too long a walk from the hotel.

The taxi ride from the airport cost about $45 and the check-in was quick and easy (even got some water and cookies for being a Priority Club member!). The hotel is quite modern, and we had a one bedroom suite (with a completely separate bedroom) which was fine for our needs as it allowed us to be in one room and the baby to sleep in the other. The bed was comfortable and the bedroom was clean. It was also great that free wifi was available. The only downside was that the kitchenette wasn’t really sufficient to prepare any food for our baby – there were no utensils provided beyond plastic knives/forks/plates, although the fridge came in handy for storing her food.

Talking of food, the breakfast buffet was the standard Holiday Inn Express fare, which I happen to like! It was good that fruit was provided as well as the less healthy options. The breakfast room is quite small given the size of the hotel, but although it was always busy we never had to wait. The staff there did a great job in ensuring that everything was kept stocked.

We chose the Holiday Inn Express rather than the Holiday Inn next door as the Express had a swimming pool – we ended up only using this once (too much to see in Seattle!) but it was a great facility to have and the temperature was lovely.

We got a great rate of $140 per night through the Intercontinental “Friends and Family” scheme as one of my friends works for them in the UK – if you know someone who works for the hotel chain you get a good discount (I shouldn’t say that you could google “intercontinental hotels friends and family” but.....)

Car parking is an extra $10 per night, but we only picked up the rental car towards the end of our stay from the nearby Avis given how easy it is to get around Seattle on foot/by public transport. We had read about the problems using the underground carpark so we parked at street level – there seemed to be a few spare spaces.

The restaurant in the Holiday Inn (Emerald Grill) wasn’t so good – we tried it once as Priority Club members get a discount. We stood there for 5 minutes as 3 staff walked by without even acknowledging that we were standing there. When we sat down we weren’t given menus and were given a broken baby seat. The food was mediocre on top of this, so I wouldn’t recommend the restaurant.

All in all we would definitely consider staying there if we visited Seattle again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    328
    170
    39
    46
See reviews for
230
215
49
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

The hotel was clean and the service was fine. We were happy with our stay, until the garbage trucks started throwing the dumpsters around at 2am. That continued for 15 minutes and woke us up solidly. Then the garbage trucks came back again around 5am to repeat with a different set of cans. My family and I were all dazed in the morning - not even Starbucks could save the next day for us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigAWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

The Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center is just a few blocks away from downtown and the Seattle Center (Space Needle). It's within easy walking distance of the Needle (maybe 6 blocks) and near good public transportation that can get you easily around to tourist sights in central Seattle.

We spent 2 nights here. The hotel is modern and the rooms were clean and everything worked OK. No complaints. Our room fronted busy Aurora Avenue which can get a little noisy, so if you are sensitive to noise ask for a room in the back. On the other hand, we had a very nice view of the Space Needle.

The breakfast buffet was up to Holiday Inn Express standards, a big selection that fills you up well into the afternoon. However it got a little crowded in the breakfast room at peak times, we had to wait for a table one morning.

I didn't realize until we checked out that there are actually TWO hotels here - the HI Express and a "full service" Holiday Inn right next door (I thought it was just one hotel!)

If you don't mind staying a little ways from downrtown (it's just a few blocks!) or want to be near the Space Needle, you can't beat this hotel! We paid about $150/night for very nice rooms in summer season!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We spent the weekend sightseeing. The hotel was 'attached' to the Holiday Inn which has a bar and restaurant. Sarah the barmaid was a delight and makes a mean margarita! The location of the hotel was great for touring. All amenities were up to HI Express standards and we had no problems. Front desk staff was very helpful with directions, suggestions. Our room did not get cleaned but then we slept until noon. I was able to grab extra towels, soap and coffee from the maid's cart. I liked having the fridge in the room!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Space needle was a walk away. Enjoyed it at night especially. Area of hotel was safe and nice to walk around in the evening. Airport was far but the bus transportation was easy to arrange. Overall, it was great. I loved Seattle and I would love to visit again and stay at the same hotel... Staff was good. Place was clean. It wasnt the best or a five-star stay but it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Average pricing with great customer service and convenient location. The rooms and beds were very comfortable. The 10 minute walk to Seattle Center was easy for a family with older children. The free breakfast had extensive choices that even included eggs. $10/night parking was a better deal than most hotels in the same area and definately cheaper than hourly parking. We didn't try the pool as we were too busy with all the other attractions at Seattle Center and downtown. The City Pass is a good deal for those who are planning 3 or more of the activities included. (Science Center, IMAX, EMP/SciFi Museum, Flight Museum, Aquarium, Harbor Cruise, Zoo)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We booked 2 rooms at this hotel, for a total of 6 people at the Seattle city Center HI Express. We enjoyed the typical HI express amenities which include triple-sheeted beds, comfortable linens/towels, and free breakfast. One of our rooms was a "mini suite" which had one queen bed, a sofa with pull-out, coffee table, computer desk, microwave, and mini-fridge. It had a nice view of the space needle from the window (see photo). The other room was just a regular room with 2 Qs. Both rooms got good free in-room wifi which is always a plus when you are sightseeing. The location was excellent, just a few blocks walk to the "Seattle city center" area which has the space needle, pacific science center, emp/sci fi museum, and many restaurants. There is a monorail there that you can take to get within walking distance of the pike market, so overall you are pretty nicely situated to walk or use public transportation to numerous sights and restaurants.
This HI Express backs up to a "regular" Holiday Inn and they share the same parking garage which was a bit tight to get into and around with our rental minivan, but we managed. The parking has a fee of $10 a day, but I don't think the hotel actually charged our account for that.
The rooms at this hotel, like the parking, are tight. We had 2 younger children with us in the mini-suite and had requested a rollaway bed which was promptly provided. However, there was absolutely nowhere to put it in this small room! So we ended up putting one child on the unextended sofa, putting the coffee table on end in the closet area, and then opening the rollaway in the coffee table's normal space. We could barely get by without tripping over the rollaway bed, but I guess it is a small price to pay for not listening to kids kick each other during the night. We were not charged for the rollaway either.
The breakfast was typical HI Express - there was 1 hot option each morning, scrambled eggs and bacon, or eggs with biscuits and gravy. There was a nice assortment of muffins (the chocolate-chocolate-chip scored well with my crowd) and cinnamon rolls. Also, cereal, yogurt, milk, juice, coffee, and apples or bananas.
The hotel does have an on-site restaurant, which as priority club members we were given a 10% off coupon for, but we did not go since its reviews were nothing special.
The people at the front desk were friendly and efficient. Although the rooms (and the parking) were tight, they met our needs and were clean and comfortable. There is a small indoor pool. We were pleased with getting this very reasonable, comfortable accommodation in the prime sight-seeing area of Seattle. If we had stayed longer, we might have gotten tired of stepping over each other, but as it was, we spent our days out and about and so it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Address: 226 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Seattle has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Situated between Seattle Center and the heart of downtown s shopping, dining, and entertainment districts, it's an easy walk to Westlake Center Mall, The Showbox, or Benaroya Hall. The world famous Space Needle and Monorail, Pike Place Market, Seattle Art Museum, Pioneer Square, Pier 66, Cruise Terminal 90/91, Microsoft, Boeing and more are so close our ideal location will suit the needs of any business or leisure traveler. Sports fan? We re minutes to Safeco & CenturyLink Fields! We offer parking for standard sized vehicles at $10 per night (limited space). Whether you re visiting Seattle for work or fun, Holiday Inn Express will be your home away from home. Wake up to our complimentary hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, and more. Maintain your cardio in our free 24-hour fitness center or go for a swim in our heated, indoor pool. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to numerous restaurants and bars. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff will get you where you need to go! The best of Seattle is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Book your hotel reservations now for the SeaHawks NFL or Huskies football season or choose from one of our great King Tut Packages. Great family fun is just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Hotel Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing