We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of theft”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Ranked #68 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beware of theft”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We enjoyed a pleasant stay here for several days until we realized of few of my husbands baseball cards were missing. We were advised not to leave these in the car and they did not fit in the hotel safe. Therefore, we had no choice but the room. He is extremely meticulous and we had several eye witnesses to the fact that he had them in his possession. We reported the matter to the hotel manager, and while she was helpful and filed a claim, nothing was ever done to compensate us for the loss. Instead, the hotel insurence company called us and argued that we could not prove anything and the two suspects (only ones with access to our rooms) had pleaded innocent. We had no further follow-up from the hotel. Overall it was a very unpleasant experience and I will never stay in another one of these hotels. We actually stayed her in the summer of 2012, but I did not write a review until now.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear A J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It is regrettable that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that I have documented your feedback and this will be forwarded to the appropriate departments to ensure similar incidents be avoided in the future.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    323
    166
    39
    46
See reviews for
227
210
49
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week with our 7 month old son. It was a perfect location to walk from to most all places we wanted to visit. There is a Walgreen a block away and many restaurants. The space needle is a short 5 minute walk along with several museums and the monorail. You really couldn't ask for a better location. At the hotel we requested a crib for our son; it was waiting for us in the room. Perfect! The breakfast was great and parking was good as well. We really couldn't have asked for a better place for our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyll C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We are traveling with a group of students, high school band and orchestra good kids. They were in the pool and asked to quiet down so they did...the kids even were quieting themselves because they didn't want to get 'kicked out' however management did it anyway. When we took it up with the hotel manager today they said the pool capacity is 10 people (there are no posted signs, they just picked a number I think.) The hotel knew who was coming....don't take the reservation if you don't want them in your hotel. Very rude hotel management in my opinion and I would NOT RECOMMEND for families!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Munchykin428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
I am very sorry about your experience and I thank you for bringing it to my attention. I assure you that we love having school groups, teams and families stay at our hotel, but we do want everyone to be safe while having fun. Due to safety issues we do need to limit the number of people in the pool at one time. We will fix the issue of signage for that. Even though the pool is not located near guest rooms we did have complaints from folks in the lobby about the noise. We normally let people have as much fun as they want but when another guest complained we needed to address it. I am sorry you felt that we did not address it properly and I will be training the staff on how to handle it better. We would love to see you come back in the future.

Sincerely,
Yoshi Takaba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here several times on visits to Seattle, but our most recent stay was in January 2014. We were attending the Justin Timberlake concert at Key Arena and didn't want to deal with the expensive parking at the venue so chose this hotel as it was within walking distance. The rooms are simple but clean and one of the great appeals for us is the free breakfast. They offer cereal, toast, muffins, yogurt, waffles, and even eggs and bacon and it's all complimentary! The hotel is within walking distance to the Seattle Space Needle, Key Arena, Experience Music Project and is a short drive to downtown Seattle and Pike's Place. This is one of our favorite hotels when we come to Seattle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glendyne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalna, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

A very decent hotel, neat and clean. Ideal for short visits to Seattle, situated close to downtown and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast and internet services are managed extremely well. A must consider hotel for business and leisure visits.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamacancerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I had to come here to Seattle for a treatment that I needed to receive at the virgina masion hospital and I loved how close it was to the hospital due to the fact that the morning of my second treatment I was in bad shape the beds were so comfy I would've enjoyed myself more if I weren't sick at the time but am defiantly going to come back again just to visit Seattle and have a better experience and am going to stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamaria91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Lets just get down to the point....is the stay decent? YES...room is clean...has all your basic needs met...and if you forgot a toothbrush as I did...one will be sent up quickly!

Service.....Outstanding! Even though there is not enough staff to handle heavy volumes...the guest have no idea. I only discovered it because the phones were very annoying. They were ringing every second as I was trying to check in and the poor manager was doing an awesome job of multi-tasking and taking care of everything.

Parking...It has increased to $15 a day...but good luck on this one... finding parking its VERY limited. I had to create a space as most cars did....

Location....It was easy to get to from the airport, close to downtown, the space needle and museums.

Breakfast....for what it was it was good. Hot and plenty..those people made sure the space was clean and attended to. Nothing ever ran out.....I was impressed honestly.

This was my first trip to Seattle and my first Holiday Inn stay...and I was overall happy and would stay again just based on customer service! Brianna...girl you work super hard!

Room Tip: Ask for room 611...it had a direct view of the space needle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meechie2cute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Address: 226 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Seattle has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Situated between Seattle Center and the heart of downtown s shopping, dining, and entertainment districts, it's an easy walk to Westlake Center Mall, The Showbox, or Benaroya Hall. The world famous Space Needle and Monorail, Pike Place Market, Seattle Art Museum, Pioneer Square, Pier 66, Cruise Terminal 90/91, Microsoft, Boeing and more are so close our ideal location will suit the needs of any business or leisure traveler. Sports fan? We re minutes to Safeco & CenturyLink Fields! We offer parking for standard sized vehicles at $10 per night (limited space). Whether you re visiting Seattle for work or fun, Holiday Inn Express will be your home away from home. Wake up to our complimentary hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, and more. Maintain your cardio in our free 24-hour fitness center or go for a swim in our heated, indoor pool. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to numerous restaurants and bars. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff will get you where you need to go! The best of Seattle is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Book your hotel reservations now for the SeaHawks NFL or Huskies football season or choose from one of our great King Tut Packages. Great family fun is just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Hotel Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing