We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money for large family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Ranked #66 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our family of 6 stayed at this hotel for 2 nights prior to leaving on a cruise. We had a two room suite. It was a good size and easily accommodated us all. It was a modern room and was well appointed - comfortable beds, 2 flat screens, 2 bathrooms and still room for sitting areas in both rooms - no complaints at all here.

Noise - others have commented on this and all I can say is that we did not here any despite being right next to a major road. Not sure whether the windows were double glazed but the noise was not a problem. Also had a great view of the space needle.

Breakfast - also many comments on the quality of the breakfast and again.did not have any major complaints. Yes the selection is limited and the dining room is a bit small but we always found something to eat and got a table - the breakfast comes with the tariff give them a break. We have been on the road in the US for a couple of weeks and this is the first place that has even offered breakfast so we were happy.

Location - not too bad but yes a bit of a a walk downtown there is bus (the 358 from memory) that gets you downtown and to Pike Market etc but these places are easily walkable.

This hotel is great and our family enjoyed our time there and is Seattle.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms get a great view of the space needle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silverfox2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and chose to let everyone know. We have a good hotel with a great, friendly staff, and we work hard to ensure all of our guests are happy with their experience with us. Feedback like your lets us know that we are certainly on the right track. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again on future travels to Seattle!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 805 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Compared with our stay at a similar Holiday Inn in Helena this was a disappointment. The rooms were small, the hotel noisy. In fact I can't think of anything good to say about it apart from it is handy for the centre of Seattle and that at $132 per night it was a reasonable price for a city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank segara87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. I am sorry that our hotel was not quite the right fit for your needs. I hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express hotels during your future travels!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Its an old Holiday Inn so it needs a lot of updating to compete with the newer bigger Holiday Inns. Very noisy room on the highway side so make sure you get a room away from the highway 99. Service could use some better training or hire someone with people skills. Carpet had some stains so needs carpet cleaning as well. Overall, not comparable to other HI! I'd rather goto a Marriot for the same price down the street.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and I hope that you will come see us again when our property upgrades are completed which should be at the end of this year. I appreciate your feedback and hope you will continue to stay with Holiday Inn Express hotels during your future travels!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the downtown, but the road is very busy and next to a highway. The rooms are very small and breakfast choices poor. Would never stay there again, but rather stay outside the city and drive in and park for the day closer to downtown, which would be more economical.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for giving us a try! We are centrally located between Seattle Center and downtown Seattle, so we are in a very busy area. Our breakfast options rotate on a daily basis in order to add variety, especially for those guests staying more than one night. We offer hot options like scrambled eggs, omelets, sausage, biscuits, and pancakes in addition to the typcial continental-style breakfast options. We also have several different room types with different configurations - some larger than others like our studio suites and full suites. Perhaps you will try us again during your future travels to Seattle.

I appreciate the opportunity to host you.

Happy Travels!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

room rates in Seattle are expensive and the hotel is ok for the price. It is about a 10 minute walk from the space needle but is outside a major road so is quite noisy. The hotel is going through a major upgrade (which it needs) but is ok if you are looking for a base to go out exploring. The breakfast is good but there is a shortage of space in the room. The internet connection is the slowest I've experienced for a long time and the signal is stronger in the reception areas

Room Tip: avoid the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggmck186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel! I'm glad you had a good time, and I hope you will come visit us again in the future.

Our renovations will continue through the summer on the top three floors, and we will begin the 2nd and 3rd floors in the fall. We are excited about the improvements our ownership is making to our property, and I invite everyone to come see what we've done so far.

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good and the rooms were nice. Only downside would be that it's not in the heart of the city, but the Space Needle was very close and the rest of the city was accessable by foot, if you are not affraid to walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments! We are continuing the work on our room upgrades this summer on the top floors, and the bottom two floors will begin this fall. Also, thank you for your compliments on my staff. We have a great team in place, and I'm very proud of the work they do. It's wonderful to know that their efforts have been appreciated. Please come see us again on your next trip to Seattle!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very close to the Space Needle. I could drop off my wife and child, drive the car back to the hotel, and walk back to the City Center in a few short minutes to avoid paying for parking. We took our child to the Childrens Museum, he had a lot of fun there. And because we were so close, we could take him back for a nap at lunch, then return for free admission in the PM.

If you can, try to get a room away from Aurora St., it is very noisy. We were on the 4th floor, and there was a loud sound that was either a huge fan or street traffic. To compensate, we had a nice view of the Space Needle.
Enjoyed having a microwave and refridgerator so we didn't have to find a restaurant for every single meal.
Price was kind of high for the typical Holiday Inn Express, but location has to be a factor. Also, breakfast was nice, but got to avoid the weekend crowds, go either early or late. Nice pancake machine.
If you want to see other tourist spots in the area, you should have a car.

Room Tip: Rooms on Aurora St. side get a lot of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiantsFanLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel! We do have a convenient location for walking to Seattle's main attractions. We offer a great CityPass Package, as well, if you are interested in checking out some of the areas most entertaining and family-friendly venues like the Woodland Park Zoo and the Seattle Aquarium. Check out our website for details!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center

Address: 226 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $114 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Seattle has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Situated between Seattle Center and the heart of downtown s shopping, dining, and entertainment districts, it's an easy walk to Westlake Center Mall, The Showbox, or Benaroya Hall. The world famous Space Needle and Monorail, Pike Place Market, Seattle Art Museum, Pioneer Square, Pier 66, Cruise Terminal 90/91, Microsoft, Boeing and more are so close our ideal location will suit the needs of any business or leisure traveler. Sports fan? We re minutes to Safeco & CenturyLink Fields! We offer parking for standard sized vehicles at $10 per night (limited space). Whether you re visiting Seattle for work or fun, Holiday Inn Express will be your home away from home. Wake up to our complimentary hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, and more. Maintain your cardio in our free 24-hour fitness center or go for a swim in our heated, indoor pool. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to numerous restaurants and bars. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff will get you where you need to go! The best of Seattle is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Book your hotel reservations now for the SeaHawks NFL or Huskies football season or choose from one of our great King Tut Packages. Great family fun is just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Hotel Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing