We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Internet Connection - nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Ranked #69 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slow Internet Connection - nice view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2008

I recently stayed here for three nights on business for a conference. I am used to staying in Holiday Inn Express hotels and they are usually hit or miss. This one is OK. It is within walking distance (10 mins) of the Seattle Center and restaurants, although a bit of a convoluted path since you have to cross over HWY 99 and you can only do that at one spot. It is not in the best of locations but good enough for the price.

My biggest gripe is the internet connection!! Since I was there on business this was important to me and it as at dial-up speed. However, I did have a top floor room with a great view of the space needle.

I probably would not stay here again.

  • Liked — free breakfast
  • Disliked — internet connction speed
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank runningman_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    318
    164
    39
    46
See reviews for
225
208
49
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

Unfortunately, I don't have any photos of the hotel this time as I was traveling with a group and didn't spend enough time at the hotel.
We were only staying at this hotel for one night. The location is very close to the Space Needle / Experience Music Project. Right out front is Aurora Avenue, a confusing intersection, and a long tunnel entrance. Driving around the immediate area was very confusing because you cannot cross parts of Aurora due to the tunnel entrance. The Denny Street intersection one block south is another very confusing intersection too.
Other than the noisy confusing location, the hotel is a great location just out of the main downtown area and still close enough to walk practically anywhere downtown if you're up to it. We walked from the hotel all the way down to the Aquarium in a short period of time.
The hotel has 6 floor and two elevators, both of which were VERY slow. We gave up many times and just took the stairs, even though we were staying on the top floor. They seriously need to put in some more dependable, faster ones. The hotel also has underground parking for $10 a night, but we did not use it.
When you first enter the lobby, it looks a little blah...not much decoration for such a large space. The front desk clerks were very nice and helpful including Kaleena! She helped us arrange buses to and from the Mariner's game way on the other side of downtown. They even stored our luggage when we were not in the room and away from the hotel.
On the ground floor, the hotel offers a nice warm swimming pool, but surprisingly, no hot tub. Just adjacent to the pool is the breakfast room which was very busy and was hard to find a table at times. The food was very good, just like most Holiday Inn Express's since they have the same menus.
The rooms were a little on the small side with the bathrooms being the smallest. Wow, I think they were the smallest bathrooms that I had ever used! The rooms were very clean though, nice housekeeping staff. Top floor rooms have a partial view of the city on the backside and the Space Needle on the front side. For one night, the rooms were fine.
If you're not too worried about glitz and glamour such as the Fairmont Olympic and other 4 & 5 star hotels downtown, this place isn't too bad for the price. Everything in Seattle is expensive so we weren't too shocked at the over $100 price tag on the rooms. Compared to other hotels in the immediate area, this was certainly the nicer. It's a safe area and close to most attractions. Would I return, mmmm, probably not, just because there is such a wide selection of other hotels that I would love to try. It's just an average hotel in the middle of a very busy city.

  • Liked — Close enough to most attractions, nice breakfast, and clean rooms.
  • Disliked — The streets around the hotel are very confusing and noisy.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

We loved our stay here. It is in a great location. Very near the space needle and many restaurants. The staff was very nice and knowledgeable about the area. We will stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerturd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, ID
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2008

Although the price was good (for Seattle), the room needed a good cleaning and updating. We have stayed at Holiday Inn Express that have the comfortable beds with new bedding, this one was disappointing. The toilet was plugged when we got into the room, there was a bag of food left in the microwave, the carpet was dirty, the curtains had a big stain on them and the blankets also had stains. The room had a busy freeway right out front, so I would suggest earplugs. We typically stay at holiday inn express because you know what you can expect but think I would pass on staying at this one again. On the upside, the staff was very friendly and we did have a good view of the space needle.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ljc1347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2008

I stayed for at this hotel during two nights (but not consequtive). As a Priority Club Platinum I was give a room with the view fo the Space Needle the first night. The second night I was given suite with separate bedromm and large hot tub.

As the view of the Space Needle was great I recommend asking for this at checkin.

Also note that even though the Space Needle is close you can not walk the closest way as there is a freeway right i front of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank frecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

After a disappointing stay near the airport, we quickly changed our second night to this hotel. We couldn't have been more happy! This hotel was clean and well kept. The location was a quick walk to the monorail and Space Needle. Since it was just before Christmas (12/23), we were able to walk to the City Center at night for ice skating, carousel riding, and just enjoying the lights of the city.

The room itself was clean, and the little bottles of stuff were excellent. Also, it had the great Holiday Inn pillows! The bathroom, on the other hand, was clean but TINY!

My only complaint about the hotel is that there are not many restaurants within walking distance (something I like in a downtown hotel). Also, on our second stay (2 days after Christmas), the hotel had many more people and parking was a bit tight.

  • Liked — location & cleanliness
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rubytue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2008

Great hotel. Clean convenient GREAT Breakfast. Really had a nice time. Only things that could have been better are not enough parking stalls and small pool and gym areas...Would recommend to others and would stay there again

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank PersVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Address: 226 Aurora Ave., Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Seattle has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Situated between Seattle Center and the heart of downtown s shopping, dining, and entertainment districts, it's an easy walk to Westlake Center Mall, The Showbox, or Benaroya Hall. The world famous Space Needle and Monorail, Pike Place Market, Seattle Art Museum, Pioneer Square, Pier 66, Cruise Terminal 90/91, Microsoft, Boeing and more are so close our ideal location will suit the needs of any business or leisure traveler. Sports fan? We re minutes to Safeco & CenturyLink Fields! We offer parking for standard sized vehicles at $10 per night (limited space). Whether you re visiting Seattle for work or fun, Holiday Inn Express will be your home away from home. Wake up to our complimentary hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, and more. Maintain your cardio in our free 24-hour fitness center or go for a swim in our heated, indoor pool. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to numerous restaurants and bars. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff will get you where you need to go! The best of Seattle is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Book your hotel reservations now for the SeaHawks NFL or Huskies football season or choose from one of our great King Tut Packages. Great family fun is just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Hotel Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing