We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2-day trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Ranked #68 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I chose this hotel for it's proximity to everything and the parking price per night was expensive than other hotels I looked at ($10.00 a night at this Holiday Inn). The breakfast was good, had a pancake maker, muffins, bagels, eggs, sausage or bacon depending on day and yogurts, cereals, juice and some fruit plus some I'm sure. The room was comfortable and clean. Pretty modern. The pool was fun - I didn't get a chance to see the Gym. The lobby was very nice and the front desk staff was great. On the last night the underground garage was full and I had to park in the 'overflow' outside parking which I believe is owned by another company and the Front Desk stated the cost for that was only $5.00. The location is so convenient as it's within walking distance to the Space Needle, Downtown shopping, Children's Museum etc. so I didn't have to worry about parking and additional costs for that. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoozeQ83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for your kind words! I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are in the process of making some updates to our rooms, too, so come back and see the changes!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 797 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

We found a really cheap price for an hotel of a famous chain in a city like Seattle. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and standard furnished. The location is comfortable to walk around even if it isn't so easy, the hotel is on a busy road with barriers between lanes. The Space Needled is still close, a minute by car. Breakfast is included, perhaps the breakfast room is undersized for the number of guests, and often very slow elevator made ​​me crazy. All in all it is a good choice to visit Seattle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaITrAvEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, and thank you for the kind words regarding the staff. Traveling during the off-peak season is definitely a great time to find affordable deals in Seattle. I'm glad we were able to help make your visit to our city a great one. Come see us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Got via priceline (2 1/2 * $60) for weekend stay in October. What you'd expect from Hol Inn Express -- nice big room, clean, not luxurious but comfortable, nice staff. Nothing amazing but no complaints at all.

Hint: parking is OK at $10, but you can park for free evenings and weekends on Thomas St. immediately south of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlannerGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for posting your feedback! We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My family and I stayed here for Seattle Marathon Weekend. I don't have any major complaints about this hotel. Our room was clean, the staff were friendly, breakfast was great, it was quiet, and it's within walking distance to shopping, Pike Place Mkt., and the Space Needle. My daughter and husband enjoyed the pool. Parking was not a problem. If I wanted to get nit-picky, the only negatives were the slow elevator and the carpet in our room was a bit worn. Neither were deal-breakers though. We'll definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLew168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments! Although I cannot do much about the elevators, we are replacing carpets in many of our rooms right now. In addition, we are also upgrading some of the furniture on a few floors. We have nice improvements coming, so come back and see us and let us know how we are doing!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

stayed monday 11/4-sat. 11/10/12
overall, clean room, quiet stay, and friendly staff. However, the elevators are TOO slow. i was on the top floor and it was very inconvenient to wait each morning and night for the elevator. i only used the stairs a few times when i was to frustrated waiting for the elevators. In addition, if you used the business office the speed of the internet is as slow as dial-up. the workout room and pool have windows like on the first floor level so folks walking in narrow parking lot can window shop....as far as walking to the space needle aurora blvd. is a divided highway with a four foot divider. you have to walk south 2 blocks and then over to the space needle. no direct walkway, i found this to be an inconvience. one morning a cab was called for me and i waited over 15 minutes, a second and finally a 3rd call for cab was placed before one arrived (it was around 8:20am - so busy morning rush i guess).

ok, for you runners - i ran north about six blocks to the south lake park and enjoyed the running trails around that lake. you could always find runners and bikers out early 5am or late 7pm riding or running around the lake. one morning i did interval training (600 meters on the east side of the lake in-between the trolley runs. and on wed. ran around the lake over the bridge and north of the lake for 30 minutes and turned around and headed back. thurs. morning i ran down to the docks basically just followed Denney road east until i could get down to the docks, hooked up with small group of runners and ran out 30 mintues and then came back, good half mile climb out from down at the dock back up to the hotel, so save a little.

eating places within walking distance, if you cut thru denny park down to denney way and 9th ave. the is a food grocery store and turtle pizza place or something like that - good pizza. if you head down to the docks you can park in the parking lot of the spaghetti wareshouse around 1st ave. and on westlake drive and republican street near rosen building there is a smoothie store that opens at 7am that has your running hydration needs if you didnt bring them along. i was able to get individual accelerade packages and the store had other individual packets as well.. this was a GREAT find.

finally, breakfast was super every morning, except sat. morning when i needed pancakes at 6:30am when they opened, took a few extra minutes to prepare bag. cinnamin rolls the HIT of H.I. express. coffee was hot and ready for the walk to conference center.

Room Tip: low 600 were at the north end, but on on auraro drive side, probably less traffic noies on east side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapaKMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for offering your feedback and for leaving great information about running paths around our area! I apologize for any inconvenience regard the elevators and the internet. I have entered a request for our IT support to check our internet speed. It should never be as slow as dial up! Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

During the busy morning and afternoon rush hours, cabs can be a bit tricky to get here, certainly. We do also offer a town car service for flat rates through Ace Transportation. Sometimes that is much faster and more convenient than waiting for city cabs.

Please never hesitate to let us know if we can do anything to make your stay more comfortable. Thank you, again, and hopefully, we will see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Took advantage of the King Tut Package which is great value.
Hotel location is also walking distance to Space Needled Pacific Science centre and Northern city attractions. Monorail is walking distance to reach Central Downtown spots.
Wonderful staff and good service overall, Jeremy was a star checking us in and giving helful suggestions. My Platinum status was nicely acknowledged and appreciated.
Loved the variation in main dish for breakfast everyday; nice big breakfast room and Granola as another cereal choice was a pleasant surprise. Staff kept the food items fully stocked all the time.
Room excellent and good airconditioner; hotel is right by busy Aurora Ave Hwy 99 so traffic noise is unavoidable but closing the windows with aircon was fine.
Big underground parking in basement.
* if you don't feel like going out for dinner, just walk across to adjacent Holiday Inn and relax in the Emerald Grill restaurant and bar: good value home style fare, clam chowder was warming and plentiful. Bar has good selection of local drafts such as Portland microbrews as well as imports such as Belgian Wheat beers.
Also very close to cruise ship terminals so would definitely stay here before embarking on a cruise.
Enjoyed the gym room as well as the pool, no hot tub but the water temp was perfect and clean. I appreciated key access only for the breakfast room and other amenities.
Unless I missed them, no warm cookies in the afternoon though?!
Highly recommended overall for business stays as well as pleasure.
When we left, we actually took Aurora Ave N which is Hwy 99 North all the way to about 200 St to then join I5 going North, this avoided the majority of traffic going though town.

Room Tip: Higher floor if you can but keeping window closed will keep traffic noise out reasonably. Have patie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FSR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments! And thank you for making an extra effort to recognize Jeremy for his service! I will be sure to share this with him. We have a great location for cruise business. Our partner Ace Transportation provides shuttle service at affordable prices of $6-$8 per person and can be arranged at the front desk upon check in. Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room was clean and quiet, bed was comfortable, good variety of TV channels, and wireless internet was flawless.

There are some minor flaws that the hotel can't do anything about like the slow elevator and small bathrooms. Also, the continental breakfast room is too small and has bad traffic flow. The breakfast is the standard HI Express, which I always like.

Room Tip: I liked 519, quiet and stayed fairly dark in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UndercoverAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again soon! We'll try to hold 519 for you!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center

Address: 226 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $137 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Seattle has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Situated between Seattle Center and the heart of downtown s shopping, dining, and entertainment districts, it's an easy walk to Westlake Center Mall, The Showbox, or Benaroya Hall. The world famous Space Needle and Monorail, Pike Place Market, Seattle Art Museum, Pioneer Square, Pier 66, Cruise Terminal 90/91, Microsoft, Boeing and more are so close our ideal location will suit the needs of any business or leisure traveler. Sports fan? We re minutes to Safeco & CenturyLink Fields! We offer parking for standard sized vehicles at $10 per night (limited space). Whether you re visiting Seattle for work or fun, Holiday Inn Express will be your home away from home. Wake up to our complimentary hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, and more. Maintain your cardio in our free 24-hour fitness center or go for a swim in our heated, indoor pool. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to numerous restaurants and bars. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff will get you where you need to go! The best of Seattle is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Book your hotel reservations now for the SeaHawks NFL or Huskies football season or choose from one of our great King Tut Packages. Great family fun is just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Hotel Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing