We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Ranked #67 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
USA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room was clean and quiet, bed was comfortable, good variety of TV channels, and wireless internet was flawless.

There are some minor flaws that the hotel can't do anything about like the slow elevator and small bathrooms. Also, the continental breakfast room is too small and has bad traffic flow. The breakfast is the standard HI Express, which I always like.

Room Tip: I liked 519, quiet and stayed fairly dark in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UndercoverAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again soon! We'll try to hold 519 for you!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    334
    175
    43
    46
See reviews for
240
219
50
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

First time to Washington - stayed 2 nights with bf.
The hotel is in a good location, close to The Space Needle and monorail which will take you right into the centre of town, otherwise the walk in to town will take about half an hour.
The rooms were clean, staff friendly and helpful, and breakfast was the best continental breakfast I've had in The States.
The Internet was fine, so I disagree with some of the reviews in regards to that. I brought my own laptop, and needed their Ethernet cable for the 2 nights which they didn't charge us for, as long as you return it at the end of your stay.
Would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lithogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to share your comments! I hope you get the chance to come back to Washington to experience more of what we have to offer like our summer festivals Seafair and Bumbershoot! I look forward to hosting you again!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neilton, Wa
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stay at the City Center HIE for every Seahawks home game. We are always greeted by the Friendly Staff, who are also very helpful in answering all our questions. Parking is safe and secure. Shuttle service to games is reasonable and convenient. Hotel is neat and clean. Rooms and service are Excellent. Prices are little bit on the high side unless you book through Hotels.com....watch site for sales. We will continue to book this hotel everytime we travel to Seattle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawksfan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We love our regulars! Thank you for continuing to choose our hotel! We all greatly appreciate your loyalty and the time you took to spread the word about why you keep coming back. We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Besides the high prices, they initially put us in a room different from that which we reserved. Even the 'correct' room didn't match the online photos and description. The in-room jacuzzi was so tall that my wife couldn't make it over the edge to use it. The drain on the jacuzzi leaked so fast that I couldn't use it anyway. The fold out sofa bed was unbearable and dangerous; it kept folding up and bending. The room was noisy and we could smell people smoking. And this was their 'best room'!

The complementary breakfast was nice. The staff were polite and tried to help.

Room Tip: Be careful that the room they show online may not match what you get. The front room as noise becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. I sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations. Please be assured that your feedback is important to me and I will use it to provide further training to my staff. If there is anything I can do to make it right with you and get you to come back to give us another chance, please let me know. We have several upgraded room types that you might find more suitable to your needs. Feel free to contact me directly to address this or any other concerns you may have.

Sincerely,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seattle hotels

Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our first time in Washington so did not know what to expect. The hotel was awkwardly placed in town and we had to circle a couple of blocks just to work out the entrance and exit to the place. The rooms were clean and tidy. The bed was nice and the breakfast was the typical Holiday inn express fare, which is ok if your not expecting more. The staff were very helpful and friendly and were able to organise for a shuttle to the baseball stadium at a great price.

Room Tip: Check for road closures first as this hotel is off a main thoroughfare and awkward to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TINA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a nice clean centrally located hotel. They have a great free breakfast and the cinnamon rolls are wonderful. The front desk clerks were fine but housekeeping was a disaster. We are seniors and came back at 3:30 to rest up before going back out to dinner. Room was not made up. She woke us up at 4:00 to do the room. This happened twice. Also the claim of free internet is true if you can do anything at dial up speed. They have a maximum of 2 bars and frequently only 1 and it was a case of just forget it. I finally got an ethernet cable which is charged at $8 per day. It was ridiculous. Will not stay there again..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanJajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Normally I don't write reviews for hotels but figured that this one was worth my time. The hotel was easy to find with our smart phone navigation. We arrived at 11:30 am but was told that we could not check in until 3pm. We were able to leave our car parked in the their lot and we walked to the monorail that was located 10 minutes away from the hotel. To my surprise, I was given an upgraded room with the view of the Space Needle. Our room was facing the highway, but I couldn't hear the cars at all. This hotel also provided a free breakfast which I thought was great. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLP46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Address: 226 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Seattle has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Situated between Seattle Center and the heart of downtown s shopping, dining, and entertainment districts, it's an easy walk to Westlake Center Mall, The Showbox, or Benaroya Hall. The world famous Space Needle and Monorail, Pike Place Market, Seattle Art Museum, Pioneer Square, Pier 66, Cruise Terminal 90/91, Microsoft, Boeing and more are so close our ideal location will suit the needs of any business or leisure traveler. Sports fan? We re minutes to Safeco & CenturyLink Fields! We offer parking for standard sized vehicles at $10 per night (limited space). Whether you re visiting Seattle for work or fun, Holiday Inn Express will be your home away from home. Wake up to our complimentary hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, and more. Maintain your cardio in our free 24-hour fitness center or go for a swim in our heated, indoor pool. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to numerous restaurants and bars. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff will get you where you need to go! The best of Seattle is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Book your hotel reservations now for the SeaHawks NFL or Huskies football season or choose from one of our great King Tut Packages. Great family fun is just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Hotel Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing