We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fair price, good for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Ranked #66 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My wife and I spent one night in Seattle last week as a mini getaway. Depending on what you need to do/see this hotel will probably suit you well. I primarily stay in IHG properties due to the Priority Club program and that was my main reason for staying here. Having said that it is close to the Space Needle, shops, restaurants and I-5 interchanges. The front desk staff was quite friendly and they upgraded us to a suite on the west side of the hotel. Try to get this side as it will give you a great view of the needle especially in the evening. The bathroom was revently upgraded with a large jacuzzi tub and new tiling. The rrom also offered a fridge and microwave. Parking was pretty full while we there but we found a spot and for $10 it's a good deal. Breakfast was typical HIE fare.

Aside from the bathroom the room seemed a bit tired. The furnishings and decor are older. I'm not sure if it was just our room but the layout was not to my liking either. The bed is too close to the wall, the vanity is in the main sleeping area and there was no desk, just a round table. As we were there for a short pleasure stay it wasn't a big deal but it would not be great for business. One other minor irritant is the internet access. We could connect just fine but every time out iPads pwered down we would lose the connection and have to re-enter the password.

Despite all of this we will probably stay here again on our next rip. The location, price and Priority Club points opportunities more than make up for the shortcomings.

Room Tip: Ask for the west side for a view and a suite if you need a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! And thank you for sharing your experience publicly. We have several different room types from which to choose that will suit most needs. For our corporate traveler, we do offer studio suite and full suite types that have desks instead of activity tables. Also, as an added bonus, all of our studio suites have great views of the Space Needle! We will always do our utmost to ensure your room is to your liking and that you leave satisfied.

We hope you have you back on your next trip!

Best Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 809 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

Great location on the north edge of downtown, near Belltown, easy acces to I-5 in either direction. Breakfasts comes with the room. Parking is $10 for underground. Unfortunately they frequently oversell the parking garage and have an overflow surface lot. They do reduce the charge to $5, still cheap for Seattle, but it's a bit of a hassle to discover the garage is full.

Typical HIE, hot breakfast. Small pool, decent exercise room. Great access to 99 North.

Walking distance to all kinds of downtown shops/restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the West side of the building, it's a fantastic view of the Space Needle....th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlr7311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel! Parking is certainly a challenge in our area. Because we have a limited number of spaces on site, we have to maintain a first come, first serve policy in the garage. As we approach our peak season, especially, we try to alleviate some of the hassle by monitoring the spaces that are left available. That way the front desk staff can inform our guests as soon as possible about the parking options. We are very fortunate with our location in that the area attractions are within walking distance of the hotel. Between that and the public transportation, cabs, and Ace Transportation, a vehicle is often not needed. But when it is, we will do all we can to make sure our guests are not inconvenienced.

Please come see us again!

Sincerely,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

this is an above average hotel - a typical holiday inn express but better than most. The location is great and very close to the space needle and downtown. Getting here is easy and I'd stay again next time I visit. The staff were friendly and made my stay more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the space needle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornegrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind words! We have a lot of rooms with views of the Space Needle. Only a couple of room types do not. So, if you are looking to make a reservation with us, and you want a view specifically, make sure to book a studio suite, studio Jacuzzi suite, or our largest two bed, two room suite. Our king feature suite and standard two bedded rooms are on the alley side of the hotel. Also, a few of our standard king rooms have views, so you may request that. We just cannot guarantee it. Our guest service staff is always happy to help answer these or any other questions, too!

We look forward to having you back!

Sincerely,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I came on a package from Clipper Vacation special, Hotel was walking distance to everything. All though I got a bit disoriented and due to the construction at the front meant that I had to run across the highway (Although my smart wife tells me there was a crosswalk). There is a back way through another hotel. Breakfast was good, really enjoyed the eggs. I think I had one of the only rooms in Seattle where you couldn't view the Space Needle, but I could see it from the small but nice pool. Staff was helpfull, assisting my smart wife with directions and advice on where to get President Obama's, and the First Lady's favourite chocolate.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again in the future. Look for our King Tut package with Victoria Clipper, too!

Best Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I actually stayed in November, but in looking for another hotel on this site, realized that I should have written a review, as it was such a great stay. The rooms were well appointed, the staff were outstanding, and the hot breakfast added even more to the great value of staying at this hotel. The location is outstanding, making downtown Seattle a great walking destination. The parking was easy to use and reasonably priced. Really - I'll return again and again to this location when travelling to Seattle.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel! It's greatly appreciated. We look forward to having you back!

Best Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Wasn't expecting a spectacular experience or anything, but this was a decent, clean and affordable hotel. Good service, good location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDW2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Thank you for staying with us! Please come see us again.

Best Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I left a review about being told I would get one room then didn't get what I was told. The manger called me and totally made it up to my family. Thank you sooo much.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nefffamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center

Address: 226 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $127 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Seattle has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Situated between Seattle Center and the heart of downtown s shopping, dining, and entertainment districts, it's an easy walk to Westlake Center Mall, The Showbox, or Benaroya Hall. The world famous Space Needle and Monorail, Pike Place Market, Seattle Art Museum, Pioneer Square, Pier 66, Cruise Terminal 90/91, Microsoft, Boeing and more are so close our ideal location will suit the needs of any business or leisure traveler. Sports fan? We re minutes to Safeco & CenturyLink Fields! We offer parking for standard sized vehicles at $10 per night (limited space). Whether you re visiting Seattle for work or fun, Holiday Inn Express will be your home away from home. Wake up to our complimentary hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, and more. Maintain your cardio in our free 24-hour fitness center or go for a swim in our heated, indoor pool. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to numerous restaurants and bars. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff will get you where you need to go! The best of Seattle is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Book your hotel reservations now for the SeaHawks NFL or Huskies football season or choose from one of our great King Tut Packages. Great family fun is just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Hotel Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing