We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers Seattle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Seattle Downtown
Ranked #40 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Faulty Towers Seattle”
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Look, you really could do better than this hotel. After the fire alarms (one at 07:30 on Christmas day), the hot water failure (almost all day), the internet failure (again, most of the day), the broken clothes driers, the kitchen that fell apart when we touched it, the front desk saying "yes" but meaning "no" we gave up and moved to another hotel. And saved $30/night for a bigger better room! In a better part of town!

Long story short, they're undergoing a renovation that is being done poorly (we stayed in a renovated room). The design of the hotel is poor: windows that can't open and windowless, dark "living" rooms for the one bedroom suites. Our kitchen was never "equipped" with pots and pans although we made repeated requests. Our hide a bed comforter never came although we asked for one several times. Unless you have a lot of time to deal with an endless list of challenges and you don't mind paying absolute top dollar for this kind of hotel, do yourself a favor and go somewhere else.

On the plus side, the breakfast could not have been nicer and the evening reception (with meals, basically) looked nice as well. The front desk did their best to help us most of the time and they did take money off of our bill when we asked them to do so after all of the equipment failures, etc. It's not as if the staff aren't trying, it's just too little too late.

  • Liked — We got one night free and free passes to the gym across the street when the hot water quit for the day.
  • Disliked — Structural failures, early morning fire alarms, no internet, construction noise, the tiny hotel gym.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank naaman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff_king, manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Seattle Downtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2009
The renovation of the hotel has been completed, with updated rooms, revamped Fitness Room, fast and reliable WiFi. Both new and returning guests are raving about the changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    387
    148
    50
    20
See reviews for
384
251
47
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We, a party of 3, had an emicable stay. The hotel is well situated and indeed within walking distance (about 10 short blocks) to Pike's Place. The one-bedroom suites are relatively roomy. I can attest to the comfortability of the sofa sleeper. If your party includes more than a couple (that take up the one bedroom), I recommend that you ask for a suite with a bathroom whose door opens to the living area. Unfortunately, the staff apparently is not provided with a floor plan (how hard is it for the proprietor to do so, really?) and it is up to you to make sure that your room is laid out thus - try room *08. Unfortunately, these rooms face the freeway and you will hear traffic noise from the I5 nearby, although to us the noise was not excessive. Some cons: The Internet connection was flaky on the last day of our stay; the parking structure is not for the faint-hearted, requiring precise navigation of your vehicle and expensive ($25 daily) to boot; the taxes add another $25 to your quoted price; the water for shower is not hot enough after a while.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2008

We booked this hotel for a sisters weekend getaway. The location worked out well...1 was a runner and it was close to running trails, 1 used the gym and thought it was good for a hotel gym. It was about a mile walk to downtown (Pike Place Market) and there was a city bus stop right across the street that went downtown. The free breakfast had a lot to offer...cold & hot cereals, muffins, fruit, yogurt and eggs, french toast, juices, etc. The dining area was spacious and looked out over Elliott Bay (view obstructed some by buildings). The hotel staff was very helpful and nice...no complaints. The only negative thing was our room was across from the elevator and there was quite a bit of noise from that...the walls seemed thin for this caliber hotel.

  • Liked — the size of the suite
  • Disliked — thin walls...it was noisy
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RunnerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2008

Very nice property, quick and friendly check-in. Nice spacious lobby and very nice comfortable breakfast room. The rooms themselves were spacious, with a living room, bathroom, kitchen and bedroom. A TV in the living room and bedroom. Rooms are modern and extremely clean. Free wifi is also offerred in the rooms. There is also a fitness center for guests. Breakfast was excellent and was included in the room rate. Eggs, french toast, cereal, juices, saussages, fruit, coffee, plus many others goodies. Plenty of food to start the day right. In the evening there is also food offerring, but not on the weekend when I was there. The hotel is a few minutes away from downtown, public transportation is across the street.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We recently spent 5 nights at this hotel and loved every minute of it. The staff is excellent and very helpful. The room was large and comfy, hot breakfast was very good and the dining area large with a big window for views outside.

The evening reception (mid week only) was good with nice wines and a local microbrew on tap. An ok entre was also served each night so if you wanted to save on dinner, that was also an option.

It's a short walk...but mainly uphill...to the Space Needle. A long walk to the heart of downtown but buses stop right across the street that will take you there easily. If you add the bus stop around the corner, at least four lines travel by the hotel - it's very easy to do without a car (we also use a wheelchair so that's saying something right there). We also noticed that the Seattle bus drivers are among the most friendly we've come across.

Buckley's pub is just around the corner with an excellent happy hour and the best onion rings around. For a good, reasonably priced dinner try their bacon mac 'n cheese. A small mini-mart with a surly counter person is across the street.

The hotel is right on the southwestern edge of the Queen Anne neighborhood so it's also in a good area.

While all of Seattle is expensive, and this place is no exception, we were able to get a nice suite with a meal (sometimes two) and drinks included for about $40 -50 less than other hotels nearby.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Only one computer in the business center.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank heckonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Most of the downtown hotels in this city are extortionate and rate quite poorly, so we opted for the Homewood Suites further afield. In fact, it's about 10 minutes walk from the Space Needle and the monorail which will actually take you to downtown for only $2 (single). So, distance is negated right off.
On top of that the hotel offers a 'home away from home' with a three room suite (kitchen/lounge, bedroom, and bathroom) which is so spacious and comfortable I was taken aback. Dishwasher, microwave, and coffee facilities, complete with set of plates, pans and cutlery, made this extremely appealing for the busy traveller. Free WiFi on request as well, which was fantastic.
The suite was not only spacious but also VERY clean. Desk staff and maids were friendly and approachable, and accommodating of our late check-in. Free breakfast in the morning was a treat: plenty of choice from hot food to cereals and fruit.
I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel if you are visiting the area.

  • Liked — The spacious suite and the free breakfast were fantastic
  • Disliked — Nothing: it was perfect!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank coldmachineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

A very comfortable 7 day stay here. The meals are a real plus... (we really enjoyed the breakfast selection and clean, classy setting). This hotel is a nice location from downtown and the Seattle Waterfront. Just remember that Seattle has some pretty steep hills if you're on foot. The front desk was very helpful with details, although we were disappointed that the 2 cribs that we needed were nowhere to be found upon arrival. My Son-In-Law even called the day before to confirm that they had been ordered. We traveled from the east coast with 3 little ones who were OH SO TIRED when we arrived. BUT a very special thank you to Angel who tracked down a crib and play pen for us when noone else seemed to be able to. Other than that? A really nice stay!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseyflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
MarQueen Hotel
#53 of 101 in Seattle
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Seattle Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Seattle Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Seattle Downtown
Address: 206 Western Ave W, Seattle, WA 98119-4217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#39 Business Hotel in Seattle
#45 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Seattle Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Seattle Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Seattle-Downtown Hotel Seattle
Homewood Seattle
Seattle Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing