We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was nice 15 years ago, needs updating BIG TIME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Seattle Downtown
Ranked #40 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I chose this because I had stayed here once many years ago and thought it was a decent hotel in a good location. Also, I needed a suite for multiple travelers. My room was a complete dud. Beds are adequate, but not up to Hilton standards. The suite layout is awful. The "living room" side had a woefully outdated sofa that was so uncomfortable, it provided quite the laughter. Not to mention, that side is a complete cave as there are no windows. At all. Not even the token ones that Embassy has to just let in a little light. I stay at Hiltons often but this one is 100% off my list for Seattle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank MikeHorn92131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn M, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate you with a room that met your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate all of our guests, and I’m sorry you were disappointed with your bed and guest room layout. We are currently planning our renovation for next year to give our hotel an update. I do hope that the next time you travel to the area you will consider staying with us again so we can show you a more comforting stay.

Thank you again,

Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

First time in Seattle - struggled with which Hilton property to stay in (Honors member so always stay at Hiltons.) Opted for this one as close to pier 91 where our Princess cruise was to leave from as well as The Space Needle. Stayed 4 nights in the "best room in the house" (all that was left when I booked) but disappointed overall w the room. At almost $300 a night, I expected a pristine and updated room but this was not the case.

Pros/Positives to our room:
-Very friendly staff - special thanks to Mary at front desk and the ever-pleasant and hardworking Linda in the eating area. All staff seemed to really try but felt a bit "inexperienced".
-Breakfast and Tues-Thurs dinner/wine/beer - ample, clean, tasty, well-stocked and sufficient area to eat for all guests present
-Washer/dryers - 2 of each in basement off gym. Not enough for hotel of this size (so had to wait to use) but still nice to have. No detergent to buy on site (so bring or buy when out). $2 each wash/dry and front desk had quarters for exchange
-Operable treadmills and some free weights in gym
-Lobby and hallways clean and inviting
-2 computers and printer in business center
-exceptionally white/clean/sufficient towels (yes - so white and fluffy for a Homewood - more like an upscale hotel)
-wonderful views from our 6th floor executive room
-our oversized exec king room had a large bathroom, two flat screen tv's and a garden tub plus lots of windows
-$7 shuttle per person to pier and call for taxis (came quickly) to anywhere by front desk

Cons/Specific Issues:
-Missed housekeeping completely one day and asked to have sofa bed made up for late arrival - not done
-Had to request iron and ironing board (not in room)
-Ostensibly no wireless service in room
-Room needs a major updating - oversized "well worn" furniture, cabinetry and kitchen; large frayed seams where carpet joins, etc
-Dining table accommodates 2 only
Minimal water pressure
-Trash compactor in kitchen not working and some rubber parts in frig and dishwasher broken or dirty
-Closet door in bedroom off track
-Air conditioning unreliable/not operating properly (fixed after request) in bedroom
-Nothing special for Hilton Honors members


Of note:
1/2 mile (some uphill) to Seattle Center.

1+ miles to Pikes Place

A little bit of a hike to the Queen Anne area for groceries, restaurants, etc. The hotel is a little remote and in a more residential/office area. We didn't rent a car and really didn't need one but be aware that you'll be walking some (with hills). We passed a zip car location nearby so that's always an option.

Bus ($2.50 adults/$1.25 children) right outside door to downtown and elsewhere. Front desk happy to make exact change (needed).

Bed and sofa bed were fine. Not super comfortable or uncomfortable. Pillows were great. Bed linens were all low grade - typical Homewood.

No pool.

When we return to Seattle, we'll stay in a more centrally located hotel and one that's in "better shape".

Stayed: June 2014
5  Thank emcfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located for sightseeing. The Seattle Needle & Pacific Science Centre were a few blocks uphill whilst the waterfront is across the road. It's a beautiful walk along the waterfront to the harbour area & Pike's Place Market. The view of the Olympic Mountains in the background of Puget Sound was especially scenic. The weather was great for the 6 days when we visited & hence the review title :-)
The room was super spacious with a living room, open kitchen (all appliances & crockery), bathroom & bedroom. All in all, comfortable enough for my 4 year old to feel at home!
The front desk staff were super helpful & the lobby area makes one feel at ease. No snobby airs here. They have super tasty cookies at the front desk which you can help yourself to plus a small grocery store that stocks a few essentials. The breakfast area is spacious & the food spread is good. There is a sweet lady Linda who cleared our dishes every morning & it was a pleasure conversing with her on a couple of mornings.
We had an issue with the TV in the living room & it was promptly sorted out - great service yet again.
The hotel is situated in a quiet area & we really enjoyed the overall ambience.
If we do visit Seattle again, we look forward to staying at the Homewood Suites Downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dxbpinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We didn't spend a lot of time here. We arrived about 1:00 a.m., the front desk clerk had our room keys ready for us, she was very helpful and friendly. We had breakfast which was decent. They needed more help to clear and turn over the tables. Room was clean. This a good location if you are going on a cruise. It's a short cab ride. Would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lastnoel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This Homewood Suites is in an excellent location with a public transportation bus stop on the corner to provide easy access to any place in the city. The hotel provides outstanding quality service--which is what we have come to expect when staying at a Hilton Facility. We will definitely stay at this hotel the next time we visit Seattle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My son and I had a wonderful week-long stay here in April 2014. The rooms were well sized and very comfortable and the kitchen facilities were useful.

We most appreciated the meals and the excellent service. The hot breakfasts were better than average hotel breakfasts, with consistent items (fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, cereals) and a rotating menu of eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, breads. The complimentary dinner (served Monday through Thursday) was an unexpected and greatly appreciated bonus. After a long day of sightseeing it was nice to be able to have a meal without going out.

The entire staff was extremely helpful (loaning us umbrellas and other needed supplies). The location was good, not in the heart of the main sightseeing area, but easy walking distance to the Seattle Center and the Olympic Sculpture Park and a comfortable and scenic 1 mile walk to Pike Place Market.

The price was extremely reasonable. Great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Room was smaller then the other guest rooms ask for a inside room not corner room. The air condition unit was only piped into bedroom, which we did not mind, however it was not into the living room or kitchen area. We had an excellent stay would consider staying again. We also felt the price was on the higher side! We did take advantage of a discount which helped a lot otherwise we would not have stayed at this chain of hotels. Loved the location walking distance to downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Seattle Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Seattle Downtown

Address: 206 Western Ave W, Seattle, WA 98119-4217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#39 Business Hotel in Seattle
#45 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $150 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Seattle Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Seattle Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Seattle-Downtown Hotel Seattle
Homewood Seattle
Seattle Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing