We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe my new favorite place to stay in Seattle”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 29, 2010

I travel to Seattle frequently on business and have stayed at many of the downtown properties -- the Westin, the Sheraton, the Hilton, the Crowne Plaza, both Kimpton properties, etc. But I may have just found a new favorite hotel in downtown Seattle, the Hyatt at Olive 8.

The decor is elegant and calm. The room was spacious and well-appointed. I particularly like the oversized sliding wood-and-frosted-glass doors on the closet and the shower, which give the room a more upscale feel compared to regular doors. The glass-walled walk-in shower was a nice plus, though I personally would have designed it with dual shower heads. The bed was comfortable and the wireless Internet service, while not free, was fast and reliable.

Service at the hotel was excellent. Wake up calls are made by humans rather than machines and come with an optional 10-minute followup call. One morning I accidentally left the phone off the hook after the first call, and the hotel sent someone to knock on my door and make sure I was awake. Now that's customer service.

The gym is spotless and outfitted with plenty of quality equipment including treadmills, ellipticals, stationary bikes, and a complete set of weight stations. The pieces of aerobic equipment all have individual television screens, of course. The Hyatt hotels with condos attached are often known for the quality of their gyms, and this one is no exception. If it just had the stunning view of the fitness center at the Sheraton, it would be perfect. But it was close enough.

For swimmers there's a 65 foot saline lap pool, which was a real treat and something I haven't found at any other downtown property. And there's a complete day spa on the property, which I did not get to sample this trip.

Breakfast at the Urbane was good (my waiter the first morning spoiled me by bringing steamed milk for the coffee), though I'd still trek over to Toulouse Petite on Queen Anne for their pain perdu if I had time.

The only thing that marred my stay at the Hyatt at Olive 8 was a very loud bunch of kids partying in the room next door until the wee hours of the morning. They were loud enough, and the walls thin enough, that I could hear every word. At 1:30 am I finally called down to the front desk. They offered to send hotel security up to quiet the party down, but it took them a good half hour to get someone on the floor.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bad-Horse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2010

The title of your review really caught my eye and I really enjoyed hearing your kind words about out hotel. I appreciate such detailed feedback! Glad that you liked the shower design; it is a new concept and while we know it’s not for everyone, we didn’t want this hotel to be like so many others. Happy to hear about the wake-up call, and glad that you enjoyed the gym and pool…from my previous comments you will know that we are very proud of both. I am glad that we got the coffee right….it’s very important in this town and we know there are plenty of options. I was sorry to hear that you were disrupted by other guests…as a General Manager there are few things that upset me more than a guest having their sleep disturbed. I appreciate that you still had kind words for us and hope that we get the chance in the future to provide you with a restful night. It is our goal to change the word 'maybe' in your title to 'definitely'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,260 - 2,266 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2010

The hotel was very nice, and the customer service is something for other hotels to aspire to. The king room was spacious, eco-friendly, and clean. My only complaints (minor) are that the walls are quite thin, and you can hear other guests through the bathroom vents. In addition, there's no vent in the bathroom and the elevator is a touch slow once in motion. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends. The hotel is the one thing that I didn't need to worry about while in Seattle.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerfew23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2010

Thank you so much for the kind words. To hear that our customer service was excellent was one of the most rewarding things a General Manager can hear. Glad that you didn’t have to worry about the hotel on your trip, and we look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

From the food to the bed, the place is amazing!
Wonderful massage by Brian, nice spa.
Green, fresh, new!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evatique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2010

Excellent! We are so happy to hear you liked it! I thank you for giving Elaia Spa a shot, and glad Brian didn’t disappoint. I will pass along my thanks to him. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

For for Green touted hotel, the only entity that benefits is the hotel. The restricted flow shower made the bathroom experience etremely unpleasent. The low flow tiolet required mulitiple flushings and if you forgot to notify the maid service that you needed clean towels you did without. If there was a financial savings to someone, it wasn't reflected on my bill.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
Thank buckWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2010

We apologize that your stay wasn’t enjoyable. The elements of our hotel that make it sustainable also make it a departure from a normal hotel room. However the shower head and the toilet should operate without a discernable difference from normal fixtures, so my apologies that you didn’t find that to be the case. Our sustainability efforts don’t necessary save money as often the systems cost more to install/operate, but you can rest assured they are saving a lot of electricity and water. Still though, we feel that Hyatt at Olive 8 represents and excellent value in downtown Seattle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

This is a new GREAT hotel in a downtown Seattle. The location is close to Pike Place market, Space Needle and the downtown mall. The hotel is beautiful and has an outstanding spa! I love the Hotel 1000, the Four Seasons and now I have a third hotel in Seattle the Hyatt at Olive 8.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunSandH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2010

Thanks so much for giving us a try, glad that you liked it! Sounds like you know the Seattle hotels well and we appreciate that you were open to trying something new. We appreciate the comment on Elaia Spa; we are VERY proud of it and want to keep getting the word out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

I've visited Seattle on business at least 25-30 times in the past and stayed in various hotels. This and one other hotel outside of Seattle called Hotel Woodmark in Carrolin Point have so far been my favorite. This time I went with my husband and baby with a group of people for an award trip and they really made our stay comfertable. They delivered my baby's crib with cute little toiletries for her. We stayed in a corner room so I cant say we expreinced the noise that the other people did. I really liked the concept of the key switch controlled by the card because many times I forget to turn off the lights when leaving a room. I also liked the shower without the door however I found the shower head and the pressure of the water rather annoying. Since we had a corner room we were looking right into someone's office and since it was over the weekend it wasnt a big deal. I would def stay here again because it is a beautiful hotel with great service and you cannot beat the location. It is walking distance to great shopping, Pikes Place and so close to so many attractions in Seattle. I wouldnt reccomend eating at the restaurant as we thought the food was less than average there. Seattle has so many great restaurants I would get out and try them instead of eating there. Also the parking is really expensive and the charge for internet access is too high.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calilady32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2010

Thanks for the review, we really value the feedback of someone like you who travels to Seattle often and has a good handle on what Seattle has to offer. I apologize that the food in the restaurant wasn’t up to par for your stay, and while you are correct that there are numerous outstanding eateries in the area, we still want to present an outstanding culinary experience in our hotel. So glad that the stay worked well for your baby. We have kids too and understand how a baby’s satisfaction can have a big impact on your stay. Also glad that you like the Wattstopper power control. We have gotten a lot of great comments, especially from people who have seen this technology in Europe and Asia for years now. Glad to be one of your favorites, and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

I travel to downtown Seattle on business more than a dozen times a year. I recently stayed at this Hyatt and loved it. The corner room was spacious with almost too many windows (is that possible?), the room was quiet, and the staff helpful. I particularly loved the pool. As a business traveler, it was easy to grab a light breakfast in the lobby on my way out. The downtown area at night can be a little scary but safe enough. I feel safer if I avoid Pine and Pike since that's where panhandlers and others tend to hang out. But even though streets are ok. If this Hyatt was less expensive I'd choose it over my usual choices of the nearby Sheraton and Fairmont hotels (both very fine properties in their own right) since it suits my particular needs so well.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
Thank naotmordechai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2010

Thanks for the great review. I really appreciate hearing from ‘road warriors’ like you. I had to smile when you were talking about the windows in the corner room because the same thought occurred to me when we were building the hotel. A ‘wall of windows’ wrapping around the corner is dramatic and hard to describe...but absolutely wonderful. Glad you enjoyed the saline pool as well as our breakfast-to-go in the coffee shop. And we are honored we are your new favorite hotel in downtown Seattle!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,175 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 103 in Seattle
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $180 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing