We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL with a GREAT SPA!!!”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL with a GREAT SPA!!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2010

This is a new GREAT hotel in a downtown Seattle. The location is close to Pike Place market, Space Needle and the downtown mall. The hotel is beautiful and has an outstanding spa! I love the Hotel 1000, the Four Seasons and now I have a third hotel in Seattle the Hyatt at Olive 8.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSandH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, March 17, 2010
Thanks so much for giving us a try, glad that you liked it! Sounds like you know the Seattle hotels well and we appreciate that you were open to trying something new. We appreciate the comment on Elaia Spa; we are VERY proud of it and want to keep getting the word out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,508
    682
    144
    35
    14
See reviews for
468
680
143
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

I've visited Seattle on business at least 25-30 times in the past and stayed in various hotels. This and one other hotel outside of Seattle called Hotel Woodmark in Carrolin Point have so far been my favorite. This time I went with my husband and baby with a group of people for an award trip and they really made our stay comfertable. They delivered my baby's crib with cute little toiletries for her. We stayed in a corner room so I cant say we expreinced the noise that the other people did. I really liked the concept of the key switch controlled by the card because many times I forget to turn off the lights when leaving a room. I also liked the shower without the door however I found the shower head and the pressure of the water rather annoying. Since we had a corner room we were looking right into someone's office and since it was over the weekend it wasnt a big deal. I would def stay here again because it is a beautiful hotel with great service and you cannot beat the location. It is walking distance to great shopping, Pikes Place and so close to so many attractions in Seattle. I wouldnt reccomend eating at the restaurant as we thought the food was less than average there. Seattle has so many great restaurants I would get out and try them instead of eating there. Also the parking is really expensive and the charge for internet access is too high.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calilady32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, March 17, 2010
Thanks for the review, we really value the feedback of someone like you who travels to Seattle often and has a good handle on what Seattle has to offer. I apologize that the food in the restaurant wasn’t up to par for your stay, and while you are correct that there are numerous outstanding eateries in the area, we still want to present an outstanding culinary experience in our hotel. So glad that the stay worked well for your baby. We have kids too and understand how a baby’s satisfaction can have a big impact on your stay. Also glad that you like the Wattstopper power control. We have gotten a lot of great comments, especially from people who have seen this technology in Europe and Asia for years now. Glad to be one of your favorites, and look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

I travel to downtown Seattle on business more than a dozen times a year. I recently stayed at this Hyatt and loved it. The corner room was spacious with almost too many windows (is that possible?), the room was quiet, and the staff helpful. I particularly loved the pool. As a business traveler, it was easy to grab a light breakfast in the lobby on my way out. The downtown area at night can be a little scary but safe enough. I feel safer if I avoid Pine and Pike since that's where panhandlers and others tend to hang out. But even though streets are ok. If this Hyatt was less expensive I'd choose it over my usual choices of the nearby Sheraton and Fairmont hotels (both very fine properties in their own right) since it suits my particular needs so well.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank naotmordechai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Thanks for the great review. I really appreciate hearing from ‘road warriors’ like you. I had to smile when you were talking about the windows in the corner room because the same thought occurred to me when we were building the hotel. A ‘wall of windows’ wrapping around the corner is dramatic and hard to describe...but absolutely wonderful. Glad you enjoyed the saline pool as well as our breakfast-to-go in the coffee shop. And we are honored we are your new favorite hotel in downtown Seattle!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, CT
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Very nice hotel and service. Reasonably priced. Only reservation would be downtown Seattle is not particularly nice at night - very seedy. Would consider staying across the lake in Kirkland and commuting into Seattle.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
Thanks for the nice review of the hotel! I won’t lie; Seattle is a big city and that comes with the good and the bad, however there is lots to do in the evenings and generally lots of folks out and about. I hope this doesn’t discourage you from visiting again. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

This hotel has now become my favorite Hyatt hotel! This bold statement is based upon a combination of the amazing staff, the well appointed room (I had a corner king deluxe room <#634>), the mixologists at the bar, the state-of-the-art work-out facility & the tasty restaurant. What else can I say....stay at this hotel when you are in Seattle. One last thing to note, if you don't want to spend $35+ on parking, check the hotel website for parking/breakfast specials. I found a pretty amazing rate that including valet parking & breakfast. Thank you to the staff @ Olive 8...you truly "get it"!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FFWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
Thank you so much! I consider that high praise for our team that you feel that we ‘get it’! And I am thrilled that you get what we are trying to do at this hotel. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of all of the areas of the hotel, and that is what I hope all of our guests get a chance to do. I also really appreciate you mentioning your room number; this allows our team to acknowledge the folks who took care of you. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2010

The service and cleanliness of the hotel was excellent. Close to bus routes, which are free in downtown Seattle. Being a 'green' hotel it took some time getting used to placing my key card in a 'powerbox' to work the lighting in the room. The shower water trickles out, again 'green'. The toilet also has a 'poo' button and 'pee' button, again very 'green' The pool and hot tub area is very clean and well taken care of. The restroom leading to the pool area has a steam room a dry heat room and the showers are to die for. Complimentary mouth wash, combs, razors, shaving cream, tooth paste, blow dryer etc.. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiterump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
Love to hear good comments about cleanliness and service, thanks! We are very close to one of the main bus hubs, and also only a block from the Light Rail’s Westlake station! Our Wattstopper light controls and dual-flush toilets are the new way to go, and we think they will catch on! Glad that you would be willing to come back; we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Upon arrival to the hotel, it was exciting to see the outside and lobby..located on the corner of 8th and Olive, it's in a good spot. Great vibe and lively upon entrance. The room was a good size and seeing a shower in a Hyatt was a nice treat (although the water pressure was lame). Once you fall asleep you are awaken by the sound of doors slamming and can hear everything in the room next door. We stayed 2 nights and it happened both nights. Many of the reviews indicated this noise and they are true. You will wake up tired and annoyed! The restaurant Urbane is cool and the food was ok...had better. The little cafe in the hotel has amazing ham & cheese biscuits and homemade yogurt ...don't miss out on this if you do stay here!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlanta-Travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Glad that you enjoyed the look and ambiance of the hotel. Disappointed, however, that you were disturbed by the sounds of the doors and the shower pressure. While the showerheads are low-water consumption models (part of our LEED Certification), the difference in pressure from a normal showerhead should not be discernable. If there is any way you could contact my office with your room number, I would greatly appreciate it so we could take a look. I appreciate you staying with us and hope we get a chance to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,022 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing