We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pool and gym are first class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The pool and gym are first class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I recently attended a conference in Seattle and chose to stay at this hotel. I am very happy with the choice. Here is why:
1. The location was very close to the Washington State Convention Centre (two short blocks).
2. There was great shopping nearby incl Nordstrom and Pacific Place indoor mall.
3. It was a few blocks from the westlake downtown light rail terminal station.
4. The property is quite new and the design touches realy suited my taste.
5. The staff were warm and engaged.
6. The gym equipment was like new.
7. The lap pool was 25 yards long and had three lanes.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpupandawayMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    660
    138
    32
    13
See reviews for
443
657
138
786
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is nice and clean with lots of positives. The indoor pool and jacuzzi are great, I think this is one of the only hotels in downtown Seattle with a pool. It's a short walk to the mall where you can get the monorail to the Space Needle/EMP, and later on the train to the airport (which only costs like $3, super convenient!). You can also walk to Pike Place Market, the aquarium, etc in about ten minutes. I appreciate that they even give you a little tube of toothpaste in the hotel room. The room itself was very large and the bed was comfy, although the window basically looked right in on someone's office, so we saw the poor guy working there all the time while we were there during the week. If you want to go to some of the hipper neighborhoods, it's about a $13 uber ride to Fremont or Ballard. A couple of negatives, though: You have to pay for wifi (which I personally think there is no excuse for these days), and on top of that there is NO cell phone reception in the rooms. Very frustrating. There is free wifi in the lobby if you're desperate. And the hotel bar has the slowest bartenders in the whole world, which bugged me for some reason.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is very clean and rooms are good size. The bed, pillows and linens were wonderful.
The location of the hotel was perfect. Close to the mall and many many wonderful places to eat. We walked everywhere. Very nice hotel would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheraKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed overnight in May of 2013, was given spectacular treatment, upgraded with out being asked, and found the hotel gorgeous, modern and the LEED features are intelligent and well thought out. Will definitely give this hotel big thumbs up and won't stay anywhere else if I'm in Seattle! Love the Hyatt rewards program that really puts the shine on these amazing properties!

Room Tip: Corner rooms offer amazing views of downtown Seattle, be sure to request one, also take advantage of...
See more room tips
Green Features: Really liked the LEED certified aspect of this hotel, lights are room key enabled so when you leave they all shut off, great for savings on electricity and water savings in the rooms doesn't affect quality of bathing or washing up.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartmanLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel is very clean and the rooms well sized (at least my room with 1 King).

I was able to check in quite early and the staff was quite helpful...thankfully no one was chasing my luggage (all one bag).

My Wi-Fi was complimentary and the speed of the connection was good.

This is not a classic old hotel look. Rather the hotel had a rather cosmopolitan flair.

The shower water pressure was average and there was no bath tub (if that is important to you).

Unfortunately, I did not have time to use the fitness room or the pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were pleased by the hotels location in relation to pikes pier, sporting arenas, and great food, all were within a 5-15 minute walk. Loved the valet parking and the hotel staff were excellent, knowledgeable and very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinajmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel for four nights over the Easter weekend. We were impressed with the hotel, especially with the staff and service we received. Our room was huge, with two walls of windows and we did not hear noise from any adjoining rooms.

The bathroom was smaller than we'd anticipated, but nicely stocked with toothpaste and other amenities.

The fitness room and swimming pool are both noteworthy, as they have huge windows.

The staff were all welcoming and helpful, and we received some great restaurant tips from the concierge.

I ate twice at Urbane for breakfast and found the food to be good. Their coffee bar does have excellent coffee, as does most so Seattle.

The location was close to excellent shopping and the walk down to the water, while hilly, was very manageable. We walked everywhere while we were there, and enjoyed being so centrally located.

Found that the hotel had a nice 'boutique' feel in its lobby, despite the number of rooms it has and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there,

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number: +1 888-882-1234
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing