We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel in a nice location”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hyatt at Olive 8 for 5 nights. This was definitely one of the nicest hotels we've stayed at. The hotel is new, and modern. We loved the simple, clean decor. The location was great...just a short walk to lots of shopping and Pike Place. Westlake station was also close by which was convenient for taking the monorail to Seattle Center to see a bunch of the attractions there.

Check-in was simple. We arrived late at night (felt even later for us as we were on east coast time). The young lady at the front desk empathized and quickly moved us along. We stayed in a standard king room. The room itself was a good size, was very clean and well-maintained. The bed was comfortable and had a nice duvet. I loved the bathroom decor. The "open" shower was different but really nice. There were a lot of little extras that were nice (like the anti-fog mirror). On our last night, we discovered the pool. We wish we went sooner! The pool area was really enjoyable, especially the hot tub. It wasn't crowded at all. There were lots of towels laid out on the recliners. The area felt almost spa-like, especially the change room that was well-stocked with toiletries. It was nice to detoxify in the steam room after spending days walking around the city.

The only negative thing I found about this hotel was the lack of soundproofing between rooms. We could hear word for word conversations from the people staying next to us. Fortunately for us, it was just on our last night. Overall though, we had a fabulous stay and would gladly return if we ever visit Seattle again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mrtsadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,508 - 1,514 of 2,537 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

We spent 5 nights in mid April and enjoyed our stay. Very nice hotel and very clean. The room had everything we needed and the view of downtown was nice as well. Service at the front desk was great. The location is great for travelers as it less than a 15 minute walk to most attractions downtown.

We have no complaints about this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Like all Hyatt properties I've stayed in, the Hyatt At Olive 8 provides a comfortable, upscale room without the fussiness you might find at other places. We got a corner room which provided an excellent view of the city; although on a lower floor - 4 - one wall of our corner room abutted the roof of the adjacent building, so one wall of our corner faced out onto a roof and giant air conditioning units. Still, the city view aside from the roof was excellent. The bed was wonderful and the other amenities were fine.

The hotel's location is central to the eastern end of downtown. It's a bit of a hike back up from Pike's Place and the waterfront attractions, but a nice walk if you're a hiker and unbothered by hills. Still, you will find an upscale shopping center nearby, along with assorted retailers of nearly every variety within a short few blocks. The Convention Center is almost next door. Nearby restaurants abound, from upscale fine dining, to chain favorites, to gastropubs and bakeries. One of our favorite breakfast spots is a short four blocks away.

Where this hotel really set itself apart is with the service provided by its employees. I was flying in from a business trip and meeting my wife and 4-month-old daughter for an evening in downtown Seattle. My wife and daughter arrived first. She attempted to check in at the Grand Hyatt in Seattle (pretty much across the street from the Hyatt at Olive 8).

Despite her mistake, the Grand Hyatt employees were friendly and helped my wife with our bags across the street and left her with an Olive 8 employee who, in turn, helped my wife check in and take her bags upstairs to our room. This employee offered my wife a complimentary bottle of wine and a free movie credit simply because of the fact that I would not get in until later. It is nice to know that my wife and daughter were not treated as if they were a nuisance or a chore (like I've experienced at some of Hyatt's competitors). In my absence, the employees of Hyatt made sure my wife and daughter made it safely to their room, and showed that the comfort of their guests is a top priority.

I would not hesitate to stay at this property again or to recommend it to friends and colleagues needing a room in downtown Seattle.

Room Tip: If you're going to get a corner room, splurge for a higher floor if available (at least higher t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TacomaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Usually stay at Hilton properties for work, but this hotel came recommended. Comfortable bed, quiet rooms, and amazing gym facilities. And lots of workspace in lobby. Oh, and the apples. Have to love those when one is in WA state.

Only minor complaints was that a ozone machine was left in my room. Smokers? The room didn't smell or anything but made me wonder a little.

I'll return, even though I am loyal to hilton this hotel is very new, hip and "green".

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Typical Hyatt. We stayed in a suite, it was well decorated. Was large, comfortable and modern looking. The room was oddly shaped, but that didn't really bother me. So oddly shaped, I felt it was worth a mention. The room was quiet, and the bed was comfy.

The best part for us though, was the staff. We had early reservations for Canlis and my husband called around to find a hotel I could get ready at first (as it would have been needed before normal check in). The Hyatt said, "No Problem". My husband called an hour before we arrived and they confirmed a room would be ready for us. We got there, and the room was given to someone else by mistake and they were super apologetic. They gave us a meal, alcohol and free wifi. I wasn't overly concerned and told them so - but they still wanted to make it right.

We live nearby and don't often need to spend the night in Seattle but I'd recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed two nights at the Hyatt at Olive 8 for a work event in March 2014. The location is great if you're going to hit the major tourist attractions in Seattle ... unfortunately, I just had time for work. Still, I enjoyed the hotel and it's sleek, modern decor. The room was very comfortable, and it uses some "green" technologies like energy-saving lights that require the room key to operate. I ordered room service from the restaurant located in the hotel. The macaroni and cheese was AMAZING. I also had coffee both mornings at the coffee shop in the hotel lobby -- probably not surprisingly for Seattle, the coffee was excellent. Perhaps my favorite local twist of the hotel was the bowl of complementary Washington apples on the front desk. I had two, and they were delicious. If I return to Seattle for a non-business trip, I'd definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1060WestAddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Spent 4 nights at Olive 8 - took advantage of their great swimming pool and sauna. Staff was very helpful and professional. You're within about 6 blocks of Pikes Market, REI, and a little farther walk to Seattle Center. I will definitely go back to this property. We got a good deal on the stay by paying in advance - well worth the money!

Room Tip: They're all good. If you want a bath tub, make sure you specify. Our room had shower only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,246 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,743 reviews
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#33 of 104 in Seattle
4,702 reviews
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#44 of 104 in Seattle
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $164 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing