We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels!!”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This was my first stay at the Hyatt at Olive 8 and it definitely will not be my last--one of my favorite hotels!

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean (yeah I know it's fairly new, but I've stayed at newer hotels that look like they've aged a bit) and the location is perfect! Pacific Place is around the corner, Nordstrom is 2 blocks away and Westlake Center was 3 blocks away.

Our room was the Deluxe King and located on the 12th floor. What surprised me was how quiet it was, we didn't hear any traffic/car noise or airplanes.

One thing I was kind of worried about (after reading the Trip Advisor reviews) was the water pressure from the shower. I don't know if we just got lucky with our room but the water pressure was great--no issues whatsoever!! The beds and pillows were also comfortable.

If I had to nit pick, the only thing I wish Hyatt at Olive 8 had is better cable--HD Channels. Most of the channels were not HD and the selection was rather poor, but I was able to survive.

Overall, this is my 2nd favorite hotel! (Pan Pacific is my favorite) I will definitely come back!

I think it's annoying that people keep complaining about the cost of valet and the fact that they have to pay for the internet--the hotel is located downtown and is a 4 star hotel, it's "normal" for these hotels to charge for these services in the city. If you want free parking and internet, look for a spot in Tukwila or any suburb.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 5foot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a great stay with us. We love that our central location allows our guests to have easy access to shopping, restaurants, Pikes Place Market, and anything else they might need or want to do in downtown Seattle. It's great that you felt accomodated by the room, service, and amenities as we always want to make sure that we are providing everything our guests might need. We would love to welcome you back on your next visit!

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    682
    144
    35
    14
See reviews for
468
680
143
822
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

From the valet parking, to pool facilities, room finishes and attached restaurant Olive 8 had everything we wanted. Comfortable, clean and close to everything. Very reasonably priced for all the bells and whistles.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stopped overnight in Seattle between train connections, and are so glad to have chosen this hotel for a break in our trip. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and welcoming for two people feeling the grime of a several day train journey. We had a lovely dinner in the hotel restaurant before falling into clean white sheets on our king sized bed. The bathroom was very well appointed. We had to rise early to catch our train int the morning, and were concerned about finding breakfast so early. However we found there is a coffee / breakfast bar just off the lobby that provided us with fresh toasted bagels (other continental options also available) and tea and coffee we could take to go.
We had planned to use the spa, but alas were too tired, and just showered before tumbling into bed instead.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

From now on this is my pied a terre while visiting Seattle.

Perfect size: Bigger than a boutique but smaller than a mammoth convention hotel (like some of the other big chain properties).

Cutting edge design: Sleek and contemporary with all the important technological touches (lots of power outlets on the desk) and LEED-certified. Interestingly, the iPod docking station has the old 30-pin connector for pre-iPhone 5 devices; so, I was out of luck! Some might describe the decor as sterile and impersonal; for me it's clean and unfussy. Pillow-topped mattresses are rather unique and take a little getting used to: You tend to sink into them giving you the impression that you're on a lousy mattress. After just a few minutes you realize how warm and snuggly these really are.

Fabulous fitness facility: I have never seen a hotel fitness facility that was as well equipped. I suspect the reason for this is that half of the building consists of private residences that probably have access to the facility; so, there are lots of LifeFitness machines in a very pleasant and spacious environment. Additionally, a 20 yard three-lane salt water lap pool is available which is incredible! This is the place to hang-out on a chilly, dark, and damp Seattle morning.

Great food: Urbane offers interesting and unique variations on standard breakfast fare at comparable prices to other breakfast venues around town. I loved the slightly spicy and crispy oven-roasted potatoes that accompanied an egg scramble loaded with wild mushrooms and fresh spinach leaves. In the evening a Pacific Northwest-heavy wines by the glass selection was competitively priced.

This is a wonderful property! For the several times I venture North from Portland, the Hyatt will be my home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwitravelerpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always aim to provide every amenity that our guests might need to make their stay comfortable and relaxing. At Urbane, we focus on bringing the freshest local ingredients to the table to make delicious seasonal dishes the express the best of the Northwest. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Staff is very conscientious and willing to go the extra to please guests. Complimentary items if needed are a bonus for out of town visitors. Complimentary umbrellas were appreciated as we forgot ours!!! The location to main shopping core is comfortable to walk and I have limited mobility. (If I can be mobile & get exercise without hyperventilating, I consider it successful!!!) The only criticism I have is that the refrigerator in the room is not for maintaining temps for food. It barely chilled liquids. The label on the front indicates this info. My opinion is why bother with a fridge if it isn't going to actually refrigerate?
The room was very clean & spacious. We were on the 4th floor.

Room Tip: Higher rooms may give more of a view, but the hotel is surrounded by skyscrapers and may not help un...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is an eco-friendly hotel packed with amenities designed to decrease their eco footprint. Very innovative, comfortable and visually appealing décor.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatgoeswrongwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

A great stay while in Seattle for meetings at the convention center. I liked it overall - nice room, friendly but not cloying staff, quality restaurant. But the small things were nice too: outlets in the right places, a size small robe (yippee!), flip cap shampoo=thoughtfully executed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Westm0reland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Our goal is to make sure that all our guests feel catered to in every way possible (including small robe sizes!). We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Hyatt at Olive is convienient to the convention center, north of Public market. A modern hotel with very nice rooms and great corner rooms, go for them. Large with modern bathrooms and really a lot of space. The service is perfect, especially the front desk is perfect. Concierge is ok, not very much local. Because so many restaurants in the area I did not try the restaurant, the bar is good for a late night drink. Over all I can recommend the hotel for sure

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,034 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing