We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the BEST”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best of the BEST”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel is beautiful - however the Staff rates highest on my encounters for 2013. We hold 6 to 7 conferences per year and all at outstanding hotels - including the Four Seasons and the Ritz and our team overall stays in hotels about 200 nights a year. Hands down the attention to detail of our every needs and those of our attendees were completely over the top! John Wong and his team made us feel completely comfortable and confident that everything was going to be attended too. Our participants commented time and time again about the outstanding service - they were wowed! Our Food service - our AV needs - and set up and break down needs - everything was taken care of before we ever needed to ask.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so glad that your event and stay went so well. We will make sure that the praise gets passed on to the parties you mentioned. Our goal is always to exceed your expecations and make you feel more that accomodated; it's wonderful that this was the case for you. We look forward to having you with us again on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,529
    690
    147
    36
    14
See reviews for
476
688
144
832
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I liked this hotel a lot and stayed for 3 nights. I had a large corner room. The bed was very comfortable. Service was good. Wifi was free. The room had all the amenities I could hope for. Breakfast, however was disappointing in terms of choice, service, presentation and taste. As a result I didn't have dinner here but instead went to Daily's restaurant just around the corner which was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trev550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hyatt at Olive 8 for business in late October. The hotel is in a good location near the Pike Market Place about 8 blocks or 15 minute walk and close to shopping. The hyatt is a boutique type setup. The rooms are nice and updated but small. I had a corner room that was quiet and had some extra space. The lobby was small with a small coffee bar and restaurant. I would recommend for a business stay but not sure for families

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hyatt at Olive 8, probably does a good job at providing the occasional business traveler and vacation guest hotel amenities that they are looking for in a high 3 to low 4 star hotel. For myself, (who spends up to 25 days a month in a hotel for business) they try but did not meet the same level of service their flagship Grand Hyatt across the street does very easily. By no means is Olive 8 a middle of the road hotel, but when you have "lived" as i do at both properties, there is a significant difference in standard room size, amenities, and from what I have experienced, leadership. If you cannot get a reservation at the Grand, and don't have to stay downtown Seattle, I would try the Hyatt Regency in Bellevue, WA. Great location, no downtown traffic with awesome restaurants and shopping within 1-2 blocks of the hotel in lieu of Olive 8.

Room Tip: If you are a Hyatt Platinum or Diamond member there should be no reason why you wouldn't be put...
See more room tips
Green Features: Probably the most "GREEN" of all Seattle hotels.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyz787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Well appointed hotel, with comfy beds and fresh linen. Room size was OK but you could hear the comings and goings of people in the corridor outside the bedrooms. The restaurant and bar facilities were a bit limited. They weren't very roomy and had a bit of a cold feel about them. If I was in Seattle again I would probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrygre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a great hotel that had great ameneties. Rooms are modern and clean. Size is reasonable for a downtown hotel and the saltwater pool, spa, hottub, steam room, sauna, and gym make this an awesome get away. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Convenient from Westlake light rail station from airport, walking distance to all of downtown. Quick cab ride to anywhere you wouldn't want to walk.

Room was clean, bed was comfortable, really no complaints other than the lack of noise insulation which is mentioned by many other reviewers. I have a white noise app on my phone that i use liberally when traveling...

Did use the pool and hot tub but not fitness center. Good temperature, a bit small for a swimmer to do laps but adequate for most others. My rate included wifi which had good speed and was reliable. Concierge was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allicat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,077 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 101 in Seattle
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing