We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable stay”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable stay”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at Olive8. Overall very impressed. Check in was superb, no porters to carry luggage but these days there are wheels on all luggage so no problem at all. Café and restaurant are excellent. Servers very friendly. Jonny at Urbane was very helpful in particular.
Our room was very big and modern, very nice bathroom with shower. 2 x comfortable queen beds.
No full length mirror which would be helpful. Lighting in bathroom not great for applying make-up and no printed TV guide or guide using the remote either. But these are small things.
City view not much to speak of. Just a sliver at the end but it helped to see if people were wearing tshirts or trenchcoats.
Most of the windows were directly next to office windows meaning we had to keep all the curtains closed which wasn't ideal. Frosted or one-way mirrors would have been preferable.
Room service was great - good food, friendly service.
Only one receptionist was a little difficult when my room key inexplicably didn't open our door. But everyone else was courteous and we enjoyed our stay here overall.
Good location - Seattle CBD is all walkable and we enjoyed the EMP Museum and the Pike Markets in particular.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,505
    682
    144
    35
    14
See reviews for
467
678
143
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We travel to Seattle a few times a year and this hotel is our number 1 choice. The location is great in downtown Seattle. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are nice and clean. I found the bed to be very comfortable which provided a great sleep. The swimming pool is indoor and is a decent size. The restaurant is ok but there are many choices close by. Free wifi in the lobby is nice but I would prefer to have that available in the room. Otherwise this is a great hotel and I will definitely continue staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onip1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hyatt at Olive 8 for 2 days on a work trip. The hotel is in a great location in downtown Seattle which made my work appointments easy to get to but also made for fun exploring during my non-work time. The hotel pool is incredible and the rest of the amenities at the hotel were nice too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winterfe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It's wonderful that you had such a good stay with us. We love that we get to offer all that a traveler might need, from a place to relax after a day of meetings to a source of knowledge and starting point for fun and adventures in a new city. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have to admit that this was one of the most pleasant stays I've had in a hotel in a very long time. From the moment that I arrived at the hotel, there was something about the property that was very welcoming. The lobby area is inviting and the check-in staff was friendly and knowledgeable. My flight arrived much earlier than expected, so I was glad to hear that a room was available at 10am for check-in. The check-in person took the time to explain the amenities of the hotel, including the fantastic pool and Jacuzzi on the second floor. I had some sore muscles from the flight, so the soak in the hot tub was exactly what I needed. The Stay Fit fitness center was one of the best equipped gyms I've seen in the chain, with a good number of machines (around 8 treadmills, 4 elliptical, about 10-12 weight machines). After a great cup of salt caramel latte to start my day off right from the Urbane Market coffee stand in the hotel, I was pleasantly surprised by my regular room (Room 1730) on a high floor that was very well-appointed. The hotel is a LEED hotel, so I did get two keys knowing that one needed to be placed by the door to keep the electricity running while I am in the room. As a Diamond, I got complimentary breakfast and enjoyed a great sit-down breakfast. My only complaint about the hotel was that the shower is not very strong, but other than that, I have to admit that this is a solid hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton AB
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here again, brought a few friends along as they needed to check this property out. I'll summarize again as it's been a little while since I left a review.

Got upgraded to a Govenors suite this time around, and they accommodated my friends in one of the best luxury suites(with 2 bathrooms!). Both suites were great, the Govenors Suite reminded me of the presidential, but smaller. Diamond breakfast has changed a little bit, with a $ limit, but still very generous. Still the best a la carte breakfast offered in Urbane... Happy hour in the bar is also a great way to spend time eat/drinking. Best location in Seattle, walking distance to everything. Terrific salt water pool/change rooms, reminds me of a 5* Spa.

Staff in Urbane and the Hotel are probably the most friendliest in all Hyatts I've been to in US/Canada. Sets the standard for service.

For a Green hotel, I never notice any of the potential problems it can have(lower water pressure etc). Very good to know that this hotel is minimizing damages to environment while you are staying here and not noticing anything negative impact.

Still the best choice in Seattle and will be back again, again and again.

Room Tip: If you are GP Diamond, make sure you burn a suite upgrade for this hotel. Well worth it. If not, ask...
See more room tips
Green Features: Love it. Amazing that it obtained LEED and supports this program.
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKYEG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love when we get to upgrade our guests and go above and beyond to suprise and delight them. Our main goal is for you to leave happy and it's wonderful that this was your experience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

spent 3 nights on a group/tour package...for a Hyatt I expected more, esp cleanliness...black scuff marks on the walls in 3 areas..torn inside shower curtain...reported per phone...also told the man who delivered extra toiletries...he tried to clean walls/not able to remove all...otherwise, no response from hskpg. Big room/tv. Friendly staff/offered water when in short line to check in/thank you....staff responded in a timely manner when requesting extra towels/toiletries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed there for a convention on July for 5 nights.
Very good hotel, brand new. Very good venues.
The biggest plus for me is the very good swimming pool. It is much better than what most of the hotels have. There is nothing better for a jetlag than getting into the water.

Few things to consider when taking this hotel:
1. The rooms have showers, no bath tabs.
2. The room cleaning isn't the best I saw. They were not as extensive like in most hotels - leaving stuff around.

Overall, good stay. Will come back there.

Room Tip: Most rooms doesn't have a view as there are office buildings around. Ask for a room with no buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeirM_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 101 in Seattle
3,014 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing