We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Hyatt property. We were given room 1564. The room was spacious, nice and clean. We were offered nightly turn down service which we later declined since we didn't really need it. As a platinum passport member, internet access was free. The hotel is two blocks from the convention center and The Pacific Place shopping center. The hotel is an easy walk to the Monorail station and 3rd Avenue bus route. Every other day they have lemon water in the hotel lobby. This is one of our most comfortable hotel stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtravelingkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! It's wonderful that our central downtown location allows our guests to have easy access to shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,457
    663
    140
    33
    13
See reviews for
447
659
138
799
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Decent location (near the heart of downtown), huge rooms, really new / modern furnishings, fantastic 24-hour gym, great bathrooms... This hotel pretty much has it all.
Plus if you can get a $160 rate, it has to be one of the best value locations in Seattle
Staff are fantastic, bar / reataurant is quite decent, rooms are quiet.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camisace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

There is a very significant problem with mold that the hotel is well aware of. We moved to 3 different rooms, all infested with mold in the shower - they could not give us a room without mold. It is unconscionable that the hotel is filling rooms with guests when they know there is mold in the showers. Also unconscionable that they are not repairing the situation.
We were told that the mold is a big problem in the hotel, it is underneath the tiles in the floor of the shower and has seeped into the tiles and the grout.
This isno way to run a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review; your comfort and happiness is our number one priority here at the Hyatt at Olive 8. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your stay was anything less than perfect. Our goal is always to exceed your expectations and we are genuinely concered about the issues you experienced during your stay. We appreciate your willingness to connect with us directly and are pleased that we were able to resolve the matter with you personally. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention as we always appreciate any feedback that will help us grow and improve. We hope this will not deter you from choosing Hyatt Hotels and Resorts in the future, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were drawn to this Hyatt property in that the intrigue of a LEED certified green property--this only hotel in Seattle to get this rating (AND this is were Top Chef was taped when in Seattle!--albeit on the top floor of the residences, not the hotel (floors 1-17).

That being said, a beautiful property and beautiful rooms! Very large rooms for a new hotel, and a downtown hotel, so good job, Hyatt!

Some points of contention for a green hotel: why do you still have those maddening single coffee makers with those horrible, ineffectual, landfill-contributing coffee?! AND all the coffee cups are disposable. Really?! was this just an oversight? Another note is the lack of hooks in the bathroom to hang up your towel--how easy is this? In order to be green would be to reuse your towel, and hang it up to dry--but no go--so we threw them on the floor for housekeeping.

Overall, great hotel--a GREAT location near downtown shopping and business, and an easy walk to the tourist spots and Pike Place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very cool hotel in Seattle - close to everything. Would recommend to anyone. Is a short walk down to Pike's Place Market and also close to the Paramount Theatre. We also enjoy our trips to Seattle and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel in an ideal location in downtown Seattle. The centralized location made our lives easier when it came to walking to different attractions throughout the city which is ideal for Seattle. Seattle is a city that you want to walk (driving is a nightmare here and I am from southern CA). It is about a ten minute walk from the world famous Pike Pl Market; just a couple blocks from the mall and the monorail to the Seattle Center. The staff was very helpful with bus routes to attractions that weren't in walking distance.

The hotel itself is very clean and inviting. When we checked in, there were complementary apples at the front desk. The bar had great ambiance; unfortunately, I didn't get the chance to order a drink. The room was very clean and spacious. The view wasn't all the great but who cares, you are on vacation, how much time are you really going to spend in the room?

For me, the hotel was great, nice staff, comfortable bed, the toilet got the job done, and a nice shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston VA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My family (Husband, 1 teen, 1 10 yr old and I) really enjoyed our stay at Hyatt at Olive 8 in Seattle. We had a 2 queen room (upgraded to a larger room) on a high floor. The room was clean, spacious, quite, and comfortable - everything we like in a hotel room. I do not like soft-worn hotel beds. This bed was perfect! There was plenty of room for us to spread out and the bathroom had a huge walk-in shower which was fabulous after a day of touring. We stayed here for six nights.

The staff was helpful and efficient. We were pleased by the service provided.

The location was central to the things we wanted to do, without being right on top of the crowds and noise. We had to walk anywhere from 1/2 mile to 1 mile to get to most of the touristy things, but we liked that as we do not like staying in the noisy center of action. If you did not want to walk, buses were everywhere as were taxis and the fares were reasonable. Three of us taxied from Pioneer Square to the hotel for $12.

There was a small cafe on site. This was nice for a quick breakfast (muffins, pastry, fruit, coffee) in the morning. The food was fresh and tasty and the people working at the cafe we very friendly.
We also tried the on-site restaurant. We ate dinner there 2 nights. The first night was fantastic, both service and food. We had the halibut which was amazing! The second night the food was still fantastic, but the service was not as great. They forgot one of our entrees. We were surprised by this as it was not very crowded, but it was a bit late for dinner.

We had only planned to stay for five nights, but an accident (broke leg) made us extend our stay. They were very helpful and accommodating - including helping my wife get around the hotel. She was not very skilled/safe with crutches, but they were very nice about providing a wheelchair for her to use around the property. During the stressful time that this was - it was really nice to find the hotel so pleasant, and willing to help, and accommodating.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and return to stay here myself.

Room Tip: As for a larger room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RestonRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,896 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing