We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Wonderful place- quiet, clean, modern, simple. Excellent customer service! The spa was also very soothing and relaxing. We really enjoyed this hip place! It is not centrally located, but also not very far from central locations...all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piglet1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt At Olive 8
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,588 - 1,594 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

I only stayed here one night, before embarking on a cruise. It is located in a good part of the downtown district, and the flat fare to the downtown district from the seattle tacoma airport is $40.00. The hotel is nice and well kept, the decor is nice neutral colour, both in the lobby and in the room. There is one restaurant/bar which we ate in for dinner. It was quite expensive for what we had only ordered. The room was nice and basic, nothing spectacular. I would consider staying here again the next time I choose to visit seattle.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A pretty gorgeous and well maintained modern hotel right in downtown, but an odd, non-descript location - not beside anything of note from a tourist POV and yet easily walkable for anything all over downtown. It acts like a hip, urban hotel and yet is handiest for the business and corp crowd as the one thing it is near to is the main Convention Center. Interestingly, also shares some services with the Grand Hyatt a block away.

But all told, still has a lot going for it. LEED certified (personally, I didn't find this notable or of significance, but some might). The pool and spa areas are superb and gleaming, and some of the finest of any downtown hotel. Terrific lobby space and public areas - lots of lobby access/doors and windows; a nice, groovy cafe; funky Urbane restaurant and bar. Superb quality items (food, drink) and happy hour at Urbane most nights, though a little pricey compared to some other hang outs. Still, whenever a hotel bar/restaurant is popular locally, that's a very good sign, and it can get busy there!

Wifi is free in the lobby only, but anyone and their dog can benefit as there's no password required. I will never know why people tend to complain about Wifi being only for cost in the rooms (as here) - no biggie, just go downstairs. But then, I wasn't here on business.

Overall, and on impression, style and status to burn here - but well earned too. A terrific stay!

Room Tip: The standard city view rooms are nice on the inside, but nothing much for the view... but this has m...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt at Olive 8 while attending a conference. It was a very nice experience, I was able to secure an early check in, which was very helpful after a redeye flight.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend and our room had the most spectacular view of the fireworks. Easy to get to from the airport by the light-rail and sitting at the end of downtown makes is accessible to all the places.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After spending three nights in Mt Rainier National Park, we spent two nights here on July 19 & 20. The contrast was striking. We stayed in Room #9 at the National Park Inn with no TV, telephone, and air conditioning... Room #1760 at the Hyatt with all of the modern conveniences. Both were nice experiences, just radically different.

I do a reasonable amount of business travel. Frequently, service in the heart of major cities is professional vs friendly - efficient vs personable. Here I found the front desk to be particularly welcoming and the concierge was helpful as well. The room was large, comfortable, and - as others have mentioned - incredibly modern.

The location was excellent... half a mile to the waterfront and pike place... four blocks to light rail (allowing easy access to points south including the airport)... two blocks to the monorail to Space Needle and EMP... shopping all around.

My only negative comment (and it would be minor) would be related to noise. I did occasionally think that someone was knocking on our door when they were really knocking on the door of the adjoining room. Conversation in the halls did travel, but not significantly more than most hotels.

All in all, a good experience. We would definitely be willing to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornerKick1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We enjoyed a two day stay at Olive 8 in Seattle. The location was perfect, close to restaurants, shopping, tourist sites, etc. parking was very expensive, but it is everywhere in metro Seattle. Room was well appointed, spacious, and clean. Staff were very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wxgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 102 in Seattle
3,133 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 102 in Seattle
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $189 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing